Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Xhun Audio
  4. »
  5. LittleOne
  6. »
  7. Reviews

LittleOne

Synth (Analogue / Subtractive) Plugin by Xhun Audio
MyKVRFAVORITE33WANT3

LittleOne has an average user rating of 4.00 from 1 review

Rate & Review LittleOne

User Reviews by KVR Members for LittleOne

Reviewed By Rah [read all by] on September 21st, 2013
Version reviewed: 2.6 on Windows.
Last edited by Rah on 21st September 2013.

Little One seems rather overlooked, which seems a bit of a shame to me, considering how good it is.

I don't possess a modern Moog for direct comparison, but to my ears this VSTI synth sounds gorgeous; thick, rich and 'analog' sounding.

Here's a great video that demonstrates the sound very well;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kOOxLlqPUUE#t=56

It's not expensive, and there's a plethora of presets bundled with it. And unlike the physical synth it's modelled on, LO does polyphonic as well as monophonic. I like it particularly for rich pads.

There's also a 'rack' section on a second page, which features a gate (for making choppy, trance sounds), a step sequencer, and two effect slots, into which you can rack some useful standard effect units; reverbs, chorus, delays, distortions, etc.

Synth Edit made plugins have garnered a bad rep in years gone by. Don't let the SE label put you off. This is a very high quality synth.

For a (modern) Moog-y synth on a small budget, I don't think you can do better.

Latest 1 review from a total of 1

Comments & Discussion for Xhun Audio LittleOne

Discussion
Discussion: Active
Sendy
Sendy
21 September 2013 at 7:45pm

I have a few misgivings with this one. For a start, the waveform selection knob simply fades between waveforms. The Phatty morphs it's waveforms which is a much more interesting sound. Crossfading can be forgiven somewhat if there's still a way to do PWM, but the square simply crossfades into a very thin pulse? Are you kidding me?

The other gripe is the interface, which seems to be a copy of the Phatty again. So we have a pokey LCD menu to perform actions which should be on the GUI proper and multi-purpose knobs with buttons to change the knob's function. WHY NOT JUST PUT THE PARAMETER'S KNOB/VALUE WHERE THE MODE SWITCH FOR IT IS?! It's like the one thing that the Phatty is disliked for, multi-purpose knob sharing, has been faithfully reproduced. How a feature like that makes it into a softsynth is beyond me.

Rah
Rah
22 September 2013 at 1:23am

Valid criticisms Sendy, and I agree with you on the GUI, it's not the best.

I guess that the creator fell in love with their Phatty, warts and all, and wanted to create a (perhaps too) faithful tribute?

I'll have to check out the morphing on a real Phatty and compare. I don't tend to modulate the osc waveforms or use PWM sounds much myself, so I haven't found it terrifically upsetting.

Sendy
Sendy
22 September 2013 at 4:48pm

Yeap, those two things are a dealbreaker for me, but other than that, it seemed pretty solid. Their guitar plugin sounds good so obviously they know what they're doing.

xhunaudio
xhunaudio
27 April 2017 at 12:16pm

Hi Sendy, .

The oscillator morphing engine (among everything else) has been re-written from the ground up. It is now capable of true PWM. Available soon in LittleOne version 3.0 .

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

commodore
commodore
5 November 2018 at 3:26pm

Got this synth through the annual KVR charity thread. (2018).

I cannot say enough good things about it. The BASS!!! Omg that bass is perfect. I've been producing with VSTs a looong time and never heard such perfect bass from a VST. I could personally care less about the interface. I think its kinda cool to be honest how it's set up like the phatty. The sound is literally perfect. I'd rather have this VST than a real phatty. But I've always preferred a software interface than (imo clunky) hardware. Tons of presets too.

Amazing.

pascalb94
pascalb94
1 March 2019 at 9:58pm

Very good sound and fine GUI. Love the true analog feeling. For me one of the best. No CPU problem.

a test of this little beast at synthmania on Youtube.

inkwarp
inkwarp
13 May 2019 at 9:14am

Ok.

So, presets. They do not work in a reasonable fashion.

I am unable to add custom packs of presets. if i choose i can load .lttleonepresets ONE at a time.

Any other addons, like BigStep presets do not display. perhaps as they are FXP? why would someone make presets in a form that is not recognized by the synth? I have tried every which way to get these to work, no joy. it's incredibly frustrating for a synth that sounds great but is turning into a nightmare to use... anyone got any knowledge on this?

xhunaudio
xhunaudio
13 May 2019 at 11:38am

Hi, .

I just replied in the main Topic/Forum. Big Steps Expansion works fine as expected, you just have to install it in the correct location on your system (read the included instructions). For any support question/purposes please email me.

godsrockstar
godsrockstar
26 July 2022 at 9:33am

Sucks that I paid for this & they haven't made it M1 compatible. I miss using this in my productions.

Please log in to join the discussion