Login / Register 00 items | $0.00 CHECKOUT New

User Reviews by KVR Members for LittleOne

Rate & Review LittleOne Now!

Reviewed By Rah [read all by] on 21st September 2013
Version reviewed: 2.6 on Windows.
Last edited by Rah on 21st September 2013.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Little One seems rather overlooked, which seems a bit of a shame to me, considering how good it is.

I don't possess a modern Moog for direct comparison, but to my ears this VSTI synth sounds gorgeous; thick, rich and 'analog' sounding.

Here's a great video that demonstrates the sound very well;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kOOxLlqPUUE#t=56

It's not expensive, and there's a plethora of presets bundled with it. And unlike the physical synth it's modelled on, LO does polyphonic as well as monophonic. I like it particularly for rich pads.

There's also a 'rack' section on a second page, which features a gate (for making choppy, trance sounds), a step sequencer, and two effect slots, into which you can rack some useful standard effect units; reverbs, chorus, delays, distortions, etc.

Synth Edit made plugins have garnered a bad rep in years gone by. Don't let the SE label put you off. This is a very high quality synth.

For a (modern) Moog-y synth on a small budget, I don't think you can do better.

Latest 1 review from a total of 1

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
Sendy
Sendy
21 September 2013 at 7:45pm

I have a few misgivings with this one. For a start, the waveform selection knob simply fades between waveforms. The Phatty morphs it's waveforms which is a much more interesting sound. Crossfading can be forgiven somewhat if there's still a way to do PWM, but the square simply crossfades into a very thin pulse? Are you kidding me?

The other gripe is the interface, which seems to be a copy of the Phatty again. So we have a pokey LCD menu to perform actions which should be on the GUI proper and multi-purpose knobs with buttons to change the knob's function. WHY NOT JUST PUT THE PARAMETER'S KNOB/VALUE WHERE THE MODE SWITCH FOR IT IS?! It's like the one thing that the Phatty is disliked for, multi-purpose knob sharing, has been faithfully reproduced. How a feature like that makes it into a softsynth is beyond me.

Rah
Rah
22 September 2013 at 1:23am

Valid criticisms Sendy, and I agree with you on the GUI, it's not the best.

I guess that the creator fell in love with their Phatty, warts and all, and wanted to create a (perhaps too) faithful tribute?

I'll have to check out the morphing on a real Phatty and compare. I don't tend to modulate the osc waveforms or use PWM sounds much myself, so I haven't found it terrifically upsetting.

Sendy
Sendy
22 September 2013 at 4:48pm

Yeap, those two things are a dealbreaker for me, but other than that, it seemed pretty solid. Their guitar plugin sounds good so obviously they know what they're doing.

xhunaudio
xhunaudio
27 April 2017 at 12:16pm

Hi Sendy, .

The oscillator morphing engine (among everything else) has been re-written from the ground up. It is now capable of true PWM. Available soon in LittleOne version 3.0 .

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

mindbeet
mindbeet
12 July 2017 at 5:49am

Bought this yesterday. The sound is absolutely amazing.

But the GUI, come on, 4 years after Sendy's comment, couldn't it at least be an option to have all parameters visable at the same time? And why would anyone want an empty space above the synth in mode A? Take page A, B and C and put it all on one page, make the GUI larger and scaleable and give everything it's proper control and this could take off as a favourite amongst more than just purist Phatty fans.

At least everything is exposed to remote control, even the sequencer and gater steps, so I'll start mapping to make it real usable but it's worth it because of the sounds, the sound...

commodore
commodore
5 November 2018 at 3:26pm

Got this synth through the annual KVR charity thread. (2018).

I cannot say enough good things about it. The BASS!!! Omg that bass is perfect. I've been producing with VSTs a looong time and never heard such perfect bass from a VST. I could personally care less about the interface. I think its kinda cool to be honest how it's set up like the phatty. The sound is literally perfect. I'd rather have this VST than a real phatty. But I've always preferred a software interface than (imo clunky) hardware. Tons of presets too.

Amazing.

pascalb94
pascalb94
1 March 2019 at 9:58pm

Very good sound and fine GUI. Love the true analog feeling. For me one of the best. No CPU problem.

a test of this little beast at synthmania on Youtube.

inkwarp
inkwarp
13 May 2019 at 9:14am

Ok.

So, presets. They do not work in a reasonable fashion.

I am unable to add custom packs of presets. if i choose i can load .lttleonepresets ONE at a time.

Any other addons, like BigStep presets do not display. perhaps as they are FXP? why would someone make presets in a form that is not recognized by the synth? I have tried every which way to get these to work, no joy. it's incredibly frustrating for a synth that sounds great but is turning into a nightmare to use... anyone got any knowledge on this?

xhunaudio
xhunaudio
13 May 2019 at 11:38am

Hi, .

I just replied in the main Topic/Forum. Big Steps Expansion works fine as expected, you just have to install it in the correct location on your system (read the included instructions). For any support question/purposes please email me.

Please log in to join the discussion

LittleOne

Average user rating of 4.00 from 1 review

Xhun Audio
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
43 people have added LittleOne to 13 My KVR groups 55 times
+8 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 1303  945  1273

30-Day: 1362; 7-Day: 1383; Yesterday: 4821