Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR
Miroslav Philharmonik 2byIK Multimedia

User Reviews by KVR Members for Miroslav Philharmonik 2

Rate & Review Miroslav Philharmonik 2 Now!

Reviewed By cucio [read all by] on 16th November 2017
Version reviewed: 2 on Windows.
Last edited by cucio on 16th November 2017.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

What Mr. Sauli said, plus a good amount of noisy, poorly played or out of tune samples. Listening to some of those is just embarrassing.

Even at the upgrade price and 50% off ($150) it feels like having been duped; someone who did pay the full price must be hurting something awful. I cannot fathom why someone would ever pay $500 for MP2 when you can get something at least one order of magnitude better, like Hollywood Orchestra or Albion, in that price range.

Reviewed By sauli [read all by] on 11th January 2016
Version reviewed: 2.0.1 on Windows
14 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Disappointing.

Bought this with upgrade price, but I still feel like ripped off.

Sound

Sounds ok, but original Miroslav Philharmonik really sounds better than this, which is just sad considering it's age. Some good stuff, some mediocre. Lack of round robin is really unforgivable - there are for example lots of staccato patches with round robin of two samples! Or no round robin at all, but up and down bowing as different patches. 1999 called and they want their samples back.

Lots of unusable sounds like prerecorded long legato runs on very limited amount of notes and legato patches that are more like short mouse squeeks (apparently recorded from legato performances) which I have no idea of how they are supposed to be used. Not what you expect from a legato patch considering the competition.

Doesn't have the expressive emotional feeling of original Philharmonik. Combination of generic and general midish with a hint of Miroslav Philharmonik feeling. Not unusable though and amount of different articulations makes it possible to make some really nice sounding stuff with it, but unfortunately...

Usability

Like I said before 1999 called. No modwheel crossfade. pp, mp and ff as different patches and really no way to make them as MIDI modulated crossfaded multi. No usable legato of any kind - no sampled one and no crossfade and sample startpoint one. Only really really crappy samplerate change legato, which doesn't sound good ever. Considering the amount of articulations and subtle differences between them one could probably make really great instrument with the samples if there was some intelligent scripting. In it's current shape MP2 is close to unusable. Not much better than getting the sounds as .wav files.

Summarum

Worth the price when IK eventually sells in group buy for 50 eur, but don't bother before that. Original MP is really better than this. Feels like entry level orchestral instrument sold for a price of AAA one. If they at some point update it with modern playability (modwheel crossfade instead of velocity and different patches), add proper legato patches and quadruple the round robins on short samples it could be worth the asking price.

Latest 2 reviews from a total of 2

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
xcentric
xcentric
15 January 2016 at 10:04pm

I was not impressed by the demos at all.

josse
josse
17 January 2016 at 7:12pm

I do agree. Sounds lazy in a way. I bought it, tried it and ordered Kirk Hunter.

lasvideo
lasvideo
27 February 2016 at 12:00am

These demos sound darn good to me ;)

http://www.ikmultimedia.com/news/?item_id=8132.

bridude2001
bridude2001
16 April 2016 at 5:32pm

I got the upgrade because I have a certain affection for the original library and mine no longer worked with my new 64-bit Mac. There were a couple of options to play those samples, but none were very appealing and all cost $$. So I upgraded for $200. I still haven't really explored the thing fully, but at least I have my trusty old MP back, or I should say most of it. When you want that funky expressive sound, it's still of value. I think of those sounds almost like a mellotron- not great sounding by today's standards but a legit "sound" .

As far as the new library goes, well, the new demos make it sound a whole lot better than the first crappy demos. I agree: some serious scripting is needed if these are to come close to the kinds of things that are out there today at a similar price point. The samples themselves might be good enough, but without round robin and decent scripted legato, the library fails to impress. Hopefully the folks at IK are going to address these issues, but knowing how slow they were at getting the old MP ready for 64-bit, I wouldn't hold my breath.

Peter - IK Multimedia
Peter - IK Multimedia
24 May 2016 at 9:34pm

Please note that Miroslav Philharmonik 2 does have round robin, so the above statement/reply contains that erroneous information.

aumordia
aumordia
15 July 2016 at 7:56pm

Some patches have some round robbin. You will not find a breakdown from IK explaining which patches have RR, and how much they have, because it would be embarrassing.

Please log in to join the discussion

Miroslav Philharmonik 2

Average user rating of 1.00 from 2 reviews

IK Multimedia
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
33 people have added Miroslav Philharmonik 2 to 7 My KVR groups 39 times
+3 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 1615  1150  1563

30-Day: 1589; 7-Day: 3950; Yesterday: 14787

KVR Audio Plug-in Marketplace
What's New @ KVR Audio
Advertisements