Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Open Source Audio Research
  4. »
  5. Protoplug
  6. »
  7. Reviews

Protoplug

Real-Time User-Editable Effect Processor Plugin by Open Source Audio Research
MyKVRFAVORITE26WANT12
Free

Protoplug has an average user rating of 5.00 from 4 reviews

Rate & Review Protoplug

User Reviews by KVR Members for Protoplug

Reviewed By ] Peter:H [ [read all by] on November 1st, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.4.0 on Windows.
Last edited by ] Peter:H [ on 1st November 2021.

Quite a nice tool to do some rapid prototyping using Lua and Juce Framework essentials.

Works like a charm in Bitwig. In Cubase 11 (Win 10) the plugin gui does not come up correctly.

Anyways - Both thumbs up and minimum five stars! It's a great plugin for developer-musicians or musician-developers.

Little sad is that it seems the plugin is abandond by the author. I figure it could use some updates for instance VST3 or newer Juce Versions as well as luajit. If anybody knows how to contact Pierre Cusa please let me know.

BTW: "Somebody" deleted my last review for another product for whatever reason. If you guys on kvraudio don't like reviews... please delete this one here as well.

Reviewed By Ivannn [read all by] on February 7th, 2019
Version reviewed: 1.4.0 on Windows

Five stars for Lua.

Thank you much for tool!.

Lua unfortunately is underrated language.

I'm beginner in coding yet but I glad to have that plugin.

Keep it up!.

Reviewed By Hanz Meyzer [read all by] on July 25th, 2015
Version reviewed: 1.30 on Mac

What can I write? An easy scripting language tool with a lot of comfort ideas for easy prototyping of dsp algos or just doing some non-so-mainstream fx/gen and that crossplatform, fast, quite stable and free? How could I vote below 10 then?

Try it! Quite some interesting algos available in the package and also the forum. Ok the preset loading is quite rudimentary and could provide more comfort. A donate button is missing on the webpage.

Reviewed By sonoro1234 [read all by] on May 26th, 2015
Version reviewed: 1.3 on Windows

Reminds me VSTLUA but is stable and lets you play with audio also.

Only left for the community to increase the library of Protoplug fx and instruments.

Latest 4 reviews from a total of 4

Comments & Discussion for Open Source Audio Research Protoplug

Discussion
Discussion: Active
Vospi
Vospi
7 July 2014 at 2:50am

Scripts like what, for example?

snrsnd
snrsnd
30 May 2015 at 10:35am

Wow, awesome, what I was looking for EXACTLY.

Hanz Meyzer
Hanz Meyzer
25 July 2015 at 11:37am

Very cool and inspiring tool. Also nice for quickly prototyping some dsp algo. And it's quite fast, too. And cross platform. Hope the author will improve it with some comfort functionality...

Ivannn
Ivannn
7 February 2019 at 12:46pm

Correct link: https://www.osar.fr/protoplug/

and latest release is 1.4.0.

Please log in to join the discussion