1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Cockos
  4. »
  5. REAPER
  6. »
  7. Reviews

REAPER

 My KVR
Sequencer / Multitrack by Cockos
$60 / $225

REAPER has an average user rating of 4.59 from 22 reviews

Rate & Review REAPER

User Reviews by KVR Members for REAPER

Reviewed By Big Busker [read all by] on 10th January 2016
Version reviewed: 7 on Windows.
Last edited by Big Busker on 10th January 2016.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I've been in the game a while. I started in the mid-to-late 80's, with programs like Texture and Sequencer Plus Gold. Recorded to a Tascam 8-track with dbx, later with an Alesis ADAT, and did mixes to an Atari 1040ST running Hybrid Arts ADAP II.

Long, slow fade to a few years ago. Cakewalk Sonar (pre-Roland). Hangs and crashes. Lost sessions. Pushed through to the Roland acquisition era, still can't get what I need out of it.

Then, cue the angel chorus -- Reaper. $60 for a basic license? Built-in effects, native plugins that actually help my work flow, skins that make sense... and no hassle for upgrades? There's gotta be a catch, right?

The only catch is, you have to learn it. It's got a lot of features, and a lot of available customization, and it's easy for a rookie to get frustrated. Fortunately, the Cockos Reaper forum is full of helpful people who don't mind saying something besides "read the @#$%in' manual". There's lots of YouTube vids from actual pros who are using the program.

There will always be those who say,"it doesn't work like (a competitive program)." Well, if you can afford that program, grab it. But it will cost a lot more to do just about everything this one does.

Version 5 has improved the MIDI implementation considerably, and it's got one of the smallest data footprints I've ever seen, 8 MB (32-bit). It's backwards compatible to Windows XP... and it's cross-platform with OS X back to 10.5.

The demo is uncrippled, and there's no watermarks of any kind. What have you got to lose?

Click here to read all 22 reviews

Comments & Discussion for Cockos REAPER

Discussion
Discussion: Active
Jusus
Jusus
31 October 2012 at 4:21pm

Help is there a hard copy of reaper, I don't seem to find a place where I can order it.

mazimede
mazimede
11 November 2012 at 11:22am

You need to purchase Reaper online with Credit card or Paypal account. It is not available in stores. Maybe you may request for hard copy delivery during purchase, but i think it is impossible.

tal4jesus
tal4jesus
31 October 2012 at 6:44pm

As far as I know it is download only.

Jusus
Jusus
11 November 2012 at 1:18pm

Thanks man.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

inkwarp
inkwarp
25 January 2016 at 1:34am

i love Marmite. what on earth do you mean? are you a hater?

i had to comment as this is the first negative review of reaper i have seen for quite some time : /.

i understand your criticism though, reaper's interface seems (is) overly complex, esp. for those with little knowledge. however, if you stick through the steep learning curve and you can get your head around the infinitely customizationable nature of it, it is a great piece of software. if you are looking for an opposite on terms of a much more streamlined interface, them studio one is a good choice.

i also want to point out that you can get a lot of stuff on the reaper site to do a lot of skinning and customization, i have just d/l a set that simlifies the plethora of menus you find in it's default install. it's a fantastic piece of kit and .. it's very VERY cheap for what you get.

i am going to buy it very soon as it also has a great forum and very regular (every few weeks it seems), updates. as i say i am still 'seeing other DAWs' but i come back to reaper more and more as i explore and play.

and Marmite is food of the Gods :)

just my tuppence worth x.

joseph1960
joseph1960
25 May 2016 at 11:35am

I have always used Propellerhead Reason 7.1 Which has a fantastic mixer and is pretty. Lol. I bought Reaper two years ago because I wanted to use vst's. And after I got my head around it, I fell in love. I have quite a lot of Refiils for Reason. So I can bounce down my tracks to reaper and use VST and back again to Reason to use the Mixer. And because it's all digital, there is no loss of audio quality. Amazing! Reaper 5.18 is a Superb DAW that shines with each update. It has scoring as well now. :-)

Happy days, .

Joseph.

WBRS
WBRS
24 November 2019 at 8:54am

Thank you.

Please log in to join the discussion