1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Cockos
  4. »
  5. REAPER
  6. »
  7. Reviews

REAPER

 My KVR
Sequencer / Multitrack by Cockos
$60 / $225

REAPER has an average user rating of 4.59 from 22 reviews

Rate & Review REAPER

User Reviews by KVR Members for REAPER

Reviewed By Kitusai [read all by] on 4th January 2020
Version reviewed: 6 on Mac
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I use(d) Sonar, Cubasis, Reason, Ableton Live and recently bought Reaper after having tried it.

It is a huge surprise. I still use Ableton Live notably for Max for Live extensions but I was fed up by the weight and CPU ressources and the weak evolution of it comparing to its price. Notably MassiveX and Live or Maschine and Live on my MacBook Pro Core i5 RAM 8Go is very bad: CPU ressources are too high and the computer becomes too much warm.

With Reaper I can use all of this soft synths without any problem, the CPU stays normal. I only had troubles with Waves AR chamber.

The workflow of Reaper -after a little adaptation- is very nice and flexible. The sound is perfect, the design very nice to use and it never crashes either on my PC desktop and on my MacBook. The relation price-quality is just incredible with constant improvements.

I'm still discovering functionalities reading the good and complete manual and seeing the excellent videos.

The power of this software comparing to its weight and ressources consomption is just amazing! And the ability to melt Live with Reaper (Rearoute on PC, Soundflower on Mac, IAC on Mac for midi) allows to use the best of each environnement.

I'm a happy musician.

Click here to read all 22 reviews

Comments & Discussion for Cockos REAPER

Discussion
Discussion: Active
Jusus
Jusus
31 October 2012 at 4:21pm

Help is there a hard copy of reaper, I don't seem to find a place where I can order it.

mazimede
mazimede
11 November 2012 at 11:22am

You need to purchase Reaper online with Credit card or Paypal account. It is not available in stores. Maybe you may request for hard copy delivery during purchase, but i think it is impossible.

tal4jesus
tal4jesus
31 October 2012 at 6:44pm

As far as I know it is download only.

Jusus
Jusus
11 November 2012 at 1:18pm

Thanks man.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

inkwarp
inkwarp
25 January 2016 at 1:34am

i love Marmite. what on earth do you mean? are you a hater?

i had to comment as this is the first negative review of reaper i have seen for quite some time : /.

i understand your criticism though, reaper's interface seems (is) overly complex, esp. for those with little knowledge. however, if you stick through the steep learning curve and you can get your head around the infinitely customizationable nature of it, it is a great piece of software. if you are looking for an opposite on terms of a much more streamlined interface, them studio one is a good choice.

i also want to point out that you can get a lot of stuff on the reaper site to do a lot of skinning and customization, i have just d/l a set that simlifies the plethora of menus you find in it's default install. it's a fantastic piece of kit and .. it's very VERY cheap for what you get.

i am going to buy it very soon as it also has a great forum and very regular (every few weeks it seems), updates. as i say i am still 'seeing other DAWs' but i come back to reaper more and more as i explore and play.

and Marmite is food of the Gods :)

just my tuppence worth x.

joseph1960
joseph1960
25 May 2016 at 11:35am

I have always used Propellerhead Reason 7.1 Which has a fantastic mixer and is pretty. Lol. I bought Reaper two years ago because I wanted to use vst's. And after I got my head around it, I fell in love. I have quite a lot of Refiils for Reason. So I can bounce down my tracks to reaper and use VST and back again to Reason to use the Mixer. And because it's all digital, there is no loss of audio quality. Amazing! Reaper 5.18 is a Superb DAW that shines with each update. It has scoring as well now. :-)

Happy days, .

Joseph.

WBRS
WBRS
24 November 2019 at 8:54am

Thank you.

Please log in to join the discussion