Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Cockos
  4. »
  5. REAPER
  6. »
  7. Reviews

REAPER

Sequencer / Multitrack by Cockos
MyKVRFAVORITE400WANT30
$60 / $225

REAPER has an average user rating of 4.48 from 29 reviews

Rate & Review REAPER

User Reviews by KVR Members for REAPER

Reviewed By seipster [read all by] on January 17th, 2022
Version reviewed: 6.43 on Mac

Reaper is a really great DAW, especially for a couple of thing where it is better than its competition. For recording/tracking of audio and editing of audio it is the best and extremly fast and efficient when you learn the workflow. The program also has a really small footprint, can be customised and is very flexible. The fact that all channels can be routed to everywhere and receive anything is great. Very very powerful, but might not be super easy for beginners.

Some of the stock plugs are pretty good and a lot of functionality can be added if you dig a bit deeper, but they will be pretty basic right out of the box. So beginners might find them a bit underwhelming.

I would advice all new (and old) users to learn from the videos at https://www.reaper.fm/videos.php to get a better understanding of the possibilities within Reaper.

PS: I now use Reaper mainly for tracking when I have recording-sessions with bands and artists, and when I do audio-editing. Production I now do mostly in Bitwig, but I have done a lot of production earlier in Reaper.

Click here to read all 29 reviews

Comments & Discussion for Cockos REAPER

Discussion
Discussion: Active
Jusus
Jusus
31 October 2012 at 4:21pm

Help is there a hard copy of reaper, I don't seem to find a place where I can order it.

mazimede
mazimede
11 November 2012 at 11:22am

You need to purchase Reaper online with Credit card or Paypal account. It is not available in stores. Maybe you may request for hard copy delivery during purchase, but i think it is impossible.

tal4jesus
tal4jesus
31 October 2012 at 6:44pm

As far as I know it is download only.

Jusus
Jusus
11 November 2012 at 1:18pm

Thanks man.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

inkwarp
inkwarp
25 January 2016 at 1:34am

i love Marmite. what on earth do you mean? are you a hater?

i had to comment as this is the first negative review of reaper i have seen for quite some time : /.

i understand your criticism though, reaper's interface seems (is) overly complex, esp. for those with little knowledge. however, if you stick through the steep learning curve and you can get your head around the infinitely customizationable nature of it, it is a great piece of software. if you are looking for an opposite on terms of a much more streamlined interface, them studio one is a good choice.

i also want to point out that you can get a lot of stuff on the reaper site to do a lot of skinning and customization, i have just d/l a set that simlifies the plethora of menus you find in it's default install. it's a fantastic piece of kit and .. it's very VERY cheap for what you get.

i am going to buy it very soon as it also has a great forum and very regular (every few weeks it seems), updates. as i say i am still 'seeing other DAWs' but i come back to reaper more and more as i explore and play.

and Marmite is food of the Gods :)

just my tuppence worth x.

joseph1960
joseph1960
25 May 2016 at 11:35am

I have always used Propellerhead Reason 7.1 Which has a fantastic mixer and is pretty. Lol. I bought Reaper two years ago because I wanted to use vst's. And after I got my head around it, I fell in love. I have quite a lot of Refiils for Reason. So I can bounce down my tracks to reaper and use VST and back again to Reason to use the Mixer. And because it's all digital, there is no loss of audio quality. Amazing! Reaper 5.18 is a Superb DAW that shines with each update. It has scoring as well now. :-)

Happy days, .

Joseph.

WBRS
WBRS
24 November 2019 at 8:54am

Thank you.

Please log in to join the discussion