1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. IK Multimedia
  4. »
  5. SampleTank free
  6. »
  7. Reviews

SampleTank free

 My KVR
Sound Module Plugin by IK Multimedia
No Longer Available

SampleTank free has an average user rating of 3.44 from 9 reviews

Rate & Review SampleTank free

User Reviews by KVR Members for SampleTank free

Reviewed By Andywanders [read all by] on 20th August 2003
Version reviewed: free on Windows
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I just downloaded this, and all the available sounds from the site, and on my dialup it took AGES..! There's a lot of big files here and it takes up more than 70MB on my hard drive, so if you don't need another piano, don't get one.

Sampletank has been around for ** years now, and I've always been curious about it. So far, I'm very impressed with this beast, it's very easy to set up and browse through sounds. After downloading and installing it you need to register it, but that's fairly painless and straightforward, though I'm not sure why it's necessary.

As for the sounds, well they're generally very good. The bass guitar is particularly outstanding, and very natural sounding. Also the acoustic guitar is very nice, and has a good range - lots of multisamples me-thinks. Get the vocals, they're excellent, oohs and ahhs. And "LA Pad", a very nice rich, milky sounding pad. The congas and bongos are worth downloading too, I find a lot of keyboards/samplers are quite weak in this area, but Sampletank's perc. is very nice. But don't bother with the drums, they're below average and most PC soundcards will have better drums than this.

I didn't think much of the piano, it's a bit too thin for me, but that means it will probably sit well in a busy mix. However, I'm sticking with my Kurzweil for piano sounds. Also the electric guitar is weak, sounds like a cheap, Strat copy, plugged straight in to a mixer channel. Anyone who plays guitar (I do) would hate this sound.

I don't know why synth sounds are included. While they're okay, there are much better sounding free softsynths out there. And I'm very surprised that there's no brass or woodwind sounds, these generally work well with samplers (there is an oboe, but it doesn't sound like one).

The FX are very good too - well chosen and very musical. You can modify the sounds a little using pre-set parameters and different FX settings, but it's not a full blown rompler in this respect - no real filters, envelopes or LFO's.

Choice of sounds is limited to what's available on the Sampletank site, and that's a bummer. These days, there's loads of really good soundfonts out there and I for one, prefer working with them. They're easy to edit, and cover just about every area. If Soundfonts could be imported into Sampletank.... Well..!

I can't see myself using this very much, probably the bass will get an airing from time to time, and maybe the vocals, but don't let that put you off. If you have a fast connection, get it. It just might be what you're looking for, and it's FREE... (Apart from the download time)

Click here to read all 9 reviews

Comments & Discussion for IK Multimedia SampleTank free

Discussion
Discussion: Active
Daddytine
Daddytine
1 July 2012 at 7:14pm

I am struggling to use sample tank! I run ableton on my mac and the samples come out sounding like they wanna kill my ears! Not good! I've read other stuff about sample tank not running well in ableton, does anyone know about this?

take it easy peeps!

Benny

assaf416
assaf416
10 September 2012 at 8:37am

does anybody know how to connect multiple keyboards to a single sampletank

I'm trying to build a setup based on a single sampletank to play prog rock music ( so I need many keyboards )

I like the sounds of sample tank, but I can't seems to connect more than one keyboard at a time.

is there a walk around? can I make a virtual MIDI bridge? it looks like you can send 16 channels to sampletank. so I guess I need a trick how to re-route all the MIDI keyboards to a single device? I can do that in Linux but not in windows... I'm lost here..

thanks, for the help.

frankz00
frankz00
20 August 2013 at 6:10pm

You probably need an intermediary program if you are unable to daisy chain keyboards. In Reaper, you can open multiple MIDI devices on a track and have it pass-through the source channel numbers.

gxulien
gxulien
23 August 2013 at 3:09am

Hi frankz00, If you have sampletank working as a plug-in for reaper, can I ask you what file you put in the 32-bit program files VST folder? I tried all the files from the .vpa to the .xrs to the standalone and the .dxi, but Reaper can't see it.

frankz00
frankz00
27 August 2013 at 8:21pm

All I have in my VST folder is SampleTank2.x.dll. The .dxi files are system installed and Reaper should list them under the DXi section under effects.

gxulien
gxulien
29 August 2013 at 4:35am

Hi frankz00 - I run windows, but I suggest you do a search for sampletank.x. I discovered two or three files I needed besides the .dll to make the thing go. Besides the .dxi, there was a vs something. Anyway, get all the sampletank.x files in your VST folder.

minehead
minehead
22 July 2014 at 9:52pm

will the free Reg'd version be eligible for the Sampletank 3 Sweetwater upgrade ? I just found out from my sales rep that the ship date is being upped to the 24th and the 23rd is the LAST DAY TO PREORDER !! I was given the free version after I bought SampleMOOG, SampleTRON, Sonik Synth 2 and many expansions for ST & SS. I've called for days and get a recording, I have opened tickets, and so far I've heard NOTHING FROM IK !! thanks very much.

fizzicist
fizzicist
22 July 2014 at 11:49pm

Here's an excerpt from the email sent by IKM yesterday in answer to your question:

  • "This is the final week to pre-order SampleTank 3 for as low as $99.99/€79.99 if you own SampleTank 2 XL or Miroslav Philharmonik full. You can also crossgrade for just $149.99/€119.99 if you own any other paid IK software, hardware or app. Hurry, there are only a few days left!".

SampleTank Free doesn't qualify you for the pre-order upgrade price. You have to own SampleTank 2XL or Miroslav Philharmonik full to get the $99.99 price. But since you own SampleMoog, SampleTron, and SoniSynth you qualify for the crossgrade price.

mrwiz2rd9
mrwiz2rd9
23 July 2014 at 1:58am

thanks I already own sampletank 2.5.

gxulien
gxulien
23 July 2014 at 2:08am

Thanks for the heads up! The color scheme of the original interface was kind of cool, BUT TOO SMALL! I'm sure they got tons of hate mail about this. It looks like they fixed this and it's great they have a MIDI engine now. Maybe my Sonic Synth won't keep crashing now.

minehead
minehead
23 July 2014 at 3:40pm

thanks very much for this info, I really appreciate it.

Big Busker
Big Busker
22 January 2016 at 2:52pm

I got this a while ago, but IK was brutal about my authorization codes (they told me the one they sent me was "out of date", and did so for the other 3 I requested; excuse you?). Had to really arm-wrestle with them through email to get it to work. OK sounds, somewhat tweakable, some good verb and effects, but I use it mostly as a plug-&-play. Not a go-to for tracks, but for me it's a good sketch pad or when layering with other things (horns, strings, drums, etc). The Rhodes keyboards just miss by about half an inch.

Please log in to join the discussion