1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. IK Multimedia
  4. »
  5. SampleTank free
  6. »
  7. Reviews

SampleTank free

 My KVR
Sound Module Plugin by IK Multimedia
No Longer Available

SampleTank free has an average user rating of 3.44 from 9 reviews

Rate & Review SampleTank free

User Reviews by KVR Members for SampleTank free

Reviewed By Zig [read all by] on 20th December 2014
Version reviewed: Win7 on Windows.
Last edited by Zig on 20th December 2014.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I downloaded SampleTank 3 free a while ago and could not get it to work. The Authorization Manager did not work. I then downloaded an updated Authorization Manager as instructed by IKMultimedia. I still could not authorize this program. Let's fast forward some months and I finally got SampleTank 3 free registered. However, the sounds did not show up in SampleTank. I read in forums that many people have had this issue since at least July 2014. IKMultimedia had no solution and merely noted that this was a Windows related issue. I then checked the default path where IKMultimedia's install manager installed the sounds. It installed the sounds in the following path: C:UsersPublicDocumentsIKMultimediaSampleTank. BUT the windows path is actually C:UsersPublicPublic DocumentsIKMultimediaSampleTank3. (Note: there are backslashes in the folder names but KVR's word processor deletes them when saving).

Note: Windows 7's 'Documents' folder is called 'Public Documents'. SampleTank cannot recognize a folder name with a space in it. It therefore deletes the word 'public' from the folder name. Therefore, the program cannot find the sounds. I would say that this is an issue with IKMultimedia rather than Windows. It's a programming issue. I therefore copied the contents into C:Program FilesIK MultimediaSampleTank 3Instruments. Then I went into 'settings' and searched for the folder and that was it. The sounds load.

Another issue was that although Patterns can be loaded and played (since I see the keys move), I cannot hear those sounds.

In terms of sound quality of the instruments that I played, they sound alright. I would't give them anything beyond mildly useful.

Overall, SampleTank 3 free is a disappointment because of the failed Authorization Manager and the fact that IKMultimedia haven't resolved the issue with sounds not loading. This shows that the company does not test their products before entering the market, and perhaps even worse, they haven't resolved the issue which is so easy to solve, namely, install the sounds in a different folder.

Click here to read all 9 reviews

Comments & Discussion for IK Multimedia SampleTank free

Discussion
Discussion: Active
Daddytine
Daddytine
1 July 2012 at 7:14pm

I am struggling to use sample tank! I run ableton on my mac and the samples come out sounding like they wanna kill my ears! Not good! I've read other stuff about sample tank not running well in ableton, does anyone know about this?

take it easy peeps!

Benny

assaf416
assaf416
10 September 2012 at 8:37am

does anybody know how to connect multiple keyboards to a single sampletank

I'm trying to build a setup based on a single sampletank to play prog rock music ( so I need many keyboards )

I like the sounds of sample tank, but I can't seems to connect more than one keyboard at a time.

is there a walk around? can I make a virtual MIDI bridge? it looks like you can send 16 channels to sampletank. so I guess I need a trick how to re-route all the MIDI keyboards to a single device? I can do that in Linux but not in windows... I'm lost here..

thanks, for the help.

frankz00
frankz00
20 August 2013 at 6:10pm

You probably need an intermediary program if you are unable to daisy chain keyboards. In Reaper, you can open multiple MIDI devices on a track and have it pass-through the source channel numbers.

gxulien
gxulien
23 August 2013 at 3:09am

Hi frankz00, If you have sampletank working as a plug-in for reaper, can I ask you what file you put in the 32-bit program files VST folder? I tried all the files from the .vpa to the .xrs to the standalone and the .dxi, but Reaper can't see it.

frankz00
frankz00
27 August 2013 at 8:21pm

All I have in my VST folder is SampleTank2.x.dll. The .dxi files are system installed and Reaper should list them under the DXi section under effects.

gxulien
gxulien
29 August 2013 at 4:35am

Hi frankz00 - I run windows, but I suggest you do a search for sampletank.x. I discovered two or three files I needed besides the .dll to make the thing go. Besides the .dxi, there was a vs something. Anyway, get all the sampletank.x files in your VST folder.

minehead
minehead
22 July 2014 at 9:52pm

will the free Reg'd version be eligible for the Sampletank 3 Sweetwater upgrade ? I just found out from my sales rep that the ship date is being upped to the 24th and the 23rd is the LAST DAY TO PREORDER !! I was given the free version after I bought SampleMOOG, SampleTRON, Sonik Synth 2 and many expansions for ST & SS. I've called for days and get a recording, I have opened tickets, and so far I've heard NOTHING FROM IK !! thanks very much.

fizzicist
fizzicist
22 July 2014 at 11:49pm

Here's an excerpt from the email sent by IKM yesterday in answer to your question:

  • "This is the final week to pre-order SampleTank 3 for as low as $99.99/€79.99 if you own SampleTank 2 XL or Miroslav Philharmonik full. You can also crossgrade for just $149.99/€119.99 if you own any other paid IK software, hardware or app. Hurry, there are only a few days left!".

SampleTank Free doesn't qualify you for the pre-order upgrade price. You have to own SampleTank 2XL or Miroslav Philharmonik full to get the $99.99 price. But since you own SampleMoog, SampleTron, and SoniSynth you qualify for the crossgrade price.

mrwiz2rd9
mrwiz2rd9
23 July 2014 at 1:58am

thanks I already own sampletank 2.5.

gxulien
gxulien
23 July 2014 at 2:08am

Thanks for the heads up! The color scheme of the original interface was kind of cool, BUT TOO SMALL! I'm sure they got tons of hate mail about this. It looks like they fixed this and it's great they have a MIDI engine now. Maybe my Sonic Synth won't keep crashing now.

minehead
minehead
23 July 2014 at 3:40pm

thanks very much for this info, I really appreciate it.

Big Busker
Big Busker
22 January 2016 at 2:52pm

I got this a while ago, but IK was brutal about my authorization codes (they told me the one they sent me was "out of date", and did so for the other 3 I requested; excuse you?). Had to really arm-wrestle with them through email to get it to work. OK sounds, somewhat tweakable, some good verb and effects, but I use it mostly as a plug-&-play. Not a go-to for tracks, but for me it's a good sketch pad or when layering with other things (horns, strings, drums, etc). The Rhodes keyboards just miss by about half an inch.

Please log in to join the discussion