Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New@

User Reviews by KVR Members for SAVIHost

Rate & Review SAVIHost Now!

Reviewed By Numanoid [read all by] on 4th September 2012
Version reviewed: 7 on Windows.
Last edited by Numanoid on 4th September 2012.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

It's crazy that SAVI host hasn't got a review yet.

This is one of the best free tools around, like a Swiss Army knife, it's perfect to quickly check out a VST instrument without the need for a DAW, or to use a VST instrument without a DAW.

Here's basically what one needs to do:

1: Download SAVI host
2: Unzip/Unrar downloaded file
3: Place unpacked "SAVI.exe" file in same folder as "X-VST.dll"
4: Rename "SAVI.exe" to exactly the same name as "X-VST.dll", in other words = "X-VST.exe"
5: Double click renamed "X-VST.exe" to start instrument

The programme got lots of features, like recording of perfomances that can be saved as wav files.

MIDI is supported, and have worked well with my interfaces. The latest version of the host allows up to 3 MIDI controllers to be connected at once, so you can for instance use your big 76 key MIDI controller for playing, and add to that a little AKAI mini for knob twiddling (via right-click MIDI learn). Both will work at the same time.

But there is even no need for a MIDI keyboard, in SAVI host one can use the regular computer keyboard as a two octave piano keyboard. This is a programme that just keeps on giving!

Latest 1 review from a total of 1

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
bftucker
bftucker
4 September 2012 at 2:39pm

I agree completely and use the 32 and 64 bit versions all the time. Guilty of ingratitude, this gives me an opportunity to say, "Thank you, Hermann Seib!"

coincidental
coincidental
4 September 2012 at 8:43pm

Absolutely - this thing is invaluable and I use it all the time. Three cheers for Hermann Seib!'

ElementsPlugins
ElementsPlugins
7 September 2012 at 4:29pm

For people making / debugging plugins this can be very useful for quick trying-out. Especially when combined with command-line shortcuts!

jikoO
jikoO
7 September 2012 at 10:36pm

This is an excellent tool ! Thanks a lot Mr Seib !

dug01
dug01
9 April 2013 at 1:16pm

I have Savihost running GSI's VB3 organ on my windows XP notebook. I am using a MIDI keyboard and a Korg Nanokontrol as controllers, each plugged into their own usb ports on the notebook. Savihost will only let me use one MIDI controller... is there a way around this??

arakula
arakula
1 May 2013 at 10:37am

Use a recent version, which allows up to 3 MIDI inputs.

dug01
dug01
1 May 2013 at 4:54pm

Thanks, I found VSTI Host V1.41. Allows 3 inputs and works perfect..

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
25 August 2013 at 2:16pm

The KVR field "Price" should be not only "Free" but "Free (donationware)". There is a nag screen at each start.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
28 September 2013 at 5:12pm

Pour les francophones, j'ai fait un tutoriel en français ici (for frenchies, I have made a french tutorial here) :

SAVIHost, pour vos VST qui n'ont pas de version exécutable "standalone"
Zanderc23
Zanderc23
27 January 2018 at 10:44pm

Hey I'm trying to rename savihost to open a Synth program called TX16Wx and the files called TX16Wx AU 2.4.2g so if anyone could let me know what I should rename the savihost file as in order to open the program it'd be much appreciated ! Thanks.

Please log in to join the discussion

SAVIHost

Average user rating of 5.00 from 1 review

Hermann Seib
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
66 people have added SAVIHost to 12 My KVR groups 78 times
+7 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 180  179

30-Day: 221; 7-Day: 233; Yesterday: 153

KVR Audio Plug-in Marketplace
What's New @ KVR Audio
Free: Oberomby Halonmusic @ 0:24 in InstrumentsHi I am Professional Tom and here's a tutorial of secret EQ techniques. Other producers hate me for showing them to all.by ProfessionalTom @ 0:23 in Production TechniquesWindows 10: swap out motherboard (Intel -> AMD)by dirtysnow @ 0:22 in Computer Setup and System ConfigurationCan someone explain to me the function of a compressor?by Reverend Rhythm @ 0:14 in EffectsFS: Izotope, PSP, Analog Obsession, Air, Soundtoys, Soundspot, various - Price drop!by The Noodlist @ 0:12 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)FS or Trade:Slate Digital Virtual Tube Collection and Virtual Tape Machine. SPL DrumXchangerby JoaquinAce @ 0:10 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)McDSP 6050 on saleby jochicago @ 0:07 in EffectsWTB; U-He Hive, Diva & Bazilleby frank1985 @ 0:06 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)Bargain Center: discussion, gossip, etc.by Fleer @ 0:02 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)Fathom Synth Version 2.33 Releasedby glokraw @ 0:01 in InstrumentsHow to deal with harshness at the beginning of a vocal (when I add saturation etc.) ...?by MasterTuner @ 23:58 in Production TechniquesWhat are you listening to now? Look on my works, ye Mighty, and despair!by Forgotten @ 23:57 in Everything Else (Music related)Bargain Center (Bargains ONLY; NO Chat)by 3ee @ 23:50 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)ProfessionalTom here, I just released my killer track that will make you all jelous of my mixing abilitiesby Googly Smythe @ 23:50 in Music CafeThe Big Guitar Amp Sim Roundup + Reviewby guitarzan @ 23:50 in KVR ExpertsView All Latest Posts
Advertisements