1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Hermann Seib
  4. »
  5. SAVIHost
  6. »
  7. Reviews

SAVIHost

 My KVR
Plug-in To Standalone by Hermann Seib
Free (Donate if you want to)

SAVIHost has an average user rating of 5.00 from 1 review

Rate & Review SAVIHost

User Reviews by KVR Members for SAVIHost

Reviewed By Numanoid [read all by] on 4th September 2012
Version reviewed: 7 on Windows.
Last edited by Numanoid on 4th September 2012.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

It's crazy that SAVI host hasn't got a review yet.

This is one of the best free tools around, like a Swiss Army knife, it's perfect to quickly check out a VST instrument without the need for a DAW, or to use a VST instrument without a DAW.

Here's basically what one needs to do:

1: Download SAVI host
2: Unzip/Unrar downloaded file
3: Place unpacked "SAVI.exe" file in same folder as "X-VST.dll"
4: Rename "SAVI.exe" to exactly the same name as "X-VST.dll", in other words = "X-VST.exe"
5: Double click renamed "X-VST.exe" to start instrument

The programme got lots of features, like recording of perfomances that can be saved as wav files.

MIDI is supported, and have worked well with my interfaces. The latest version of the host allows up to 3 MIDI controllers to be connected at once, so you can for instance use your big 76 key MIDI controller for playing, and add to that a little AKAI mini for knob twiddling (via right-click MIDI learn). Both will work at the same time.

But there is even no need for a MIDI keyboard, in SAVI host one can use the regular computer keyboard as a two octave piano keyboard. This is a programme that just keeps on giving!

Latest 1 review from a total of 1

Comments & Discussion for Hermann Seib SAVIHost

Discussion
Discussion: Active
bftucker
bftucker
4 September 2012 at 2:39pm

I agree completely and use the 32 and 64 bit versions all the time. Guilty of ingratitude, this gives me an opportunity to say, "Thank you, Hermann Seib!"

coincidental
coincidental
4 September 2012 at 8:43pm

Absolutely - this thing is invaluable and I use it all the time. Three cheers for Hermann Seib!'

ElementsPlugins
ElementsPlugins
7 September 2012 at 4:29pm

For people making / debugging plugins this can be very useful for quick trying-out. Especially when combined with command-line shortcuts!

jikoO
jikoO
7 September 2012 at 10:36pm

This is an excellent tool ! Thanks a lot Mr Seib !

dug01
dug01
9 April 2013 at 1:16pm

I have Savihost running GSI's VB3 organ on my windows XP notebook. I am using a MIDI keyboard and a Korg Nanokontrol as controllers, each plugged into their own usb ports on the notebook. Savihost will only let me use one MIDI controller... is there a way around this??

arakula
arakula
1 May 2013 at 10:37am

Use a recent version, which allows up to 3 MIDI inputs.

dug01
dug01
1 May 2013 at 4:54pm

Thanks, I found VSTI Host V1.41. Allows 3 inputs and works perfect..

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
25 August 2013 at 2:16pm

The KVR field "Price" should be not only "Free" but "Free (donationware)". There is a nag screen at each start.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
28 September 2013 at 5:12pm

Pour les francophones, j'ai fait un tutoriel en français ici (for frenchies, I have made a french tutorial here) :

SAVIHost, pour vos VST qui n'ont pas de version exécutable "standalone"
Zanderc23
Zanderc23
27 January 2018 at 10:44pm

Hey I'm trying to rename savihost to open a Synth program called TX16Wx and the files called TX16Wx AU 2.4.2g so if anyone could let me know what I should rename the savihost file as in order to open the program it'd be much appreciated ! Thanks.

encore1
encore1
31 May 2020 at 10:10am

hello.

Hi have sent some money via paypal last week and an email to Mr Seib (office@hermannseib.com and him@hermannseib.com) in order to ask the removal of the "nag screen" in Savi host does someone know how to contact him using another email please ?
since I did not get any answer yet and I have no access to his forum as it is apparently not possible to register anymore.

Any suggestions are welcome.
Many thanks in advance for your help.

Cheers, Eric.

encore1
encore1
31 May 2020 at 5:57pm

I am answering to my own post... Mr Seib just replied me today, so everything is fine now.
Cheers, eric.

Dewed
Dewed
17 July 2020 at 1:11pm

I guess I'm too stupid to set this thing up. I keep getting errors. Like side by side comparison failed.

Please log in to join the discussion