Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR
 Solo Strings I by Vienna Symphonic Library (VSL) is a Virtual Instrument Audio Plugin. It functions as a VST Plugin, an Audio Units Plugin and an RTAS Plugin.
Solo Strings I
Product Solo Strings I
Developer Vienna Symphonic Library (VSL)
Price (MSRP)
€275 (Std. Library) / €295 (Ext. Library)
Type / Tags Strings / Orchestral
Plug-in, App & Soundware Format(s)
Operating System Availability
Download Released
- Released
- Released
Miscellaneous Information
Copy ProtectionDongle (USB-eLicenser)

Solo Strings I is part of the Symphonic Cube, which consists of ten "Vienna Instruments Collections". Solo Strings features the following instruments:

  • Violin.
  • Viola.
  • Violoncello.
  • Double bass.



  • Interval Performances: legato, portamento, zigane (gipsy), détaché, marcato, spiccato.
  • Fast Interval Performances: legato, marcato, spiccato, harsh.
  • Performance Trills.
  • Interval Performance Glissandos on the same string, fast and medium speed, up and down.
  • Repetition Performances: legato, bow vibrato, portato (slow, medium, fast), staccato, spiccato, harsh.
  • Fast Repetitions and ricochet repetitions (accelerando, ritardando).
  • Runs: legato, spiccato; major, minor, chromatic, whole tone.
  • Grace notes: normal, slow, zigane.
  • Glissandos: medium and fast octave glissandos on the same string.

Single notes:

  • Short notes: staccato, short détaché, long détaché, 4 variations each.
  • Long notes: sustains without, with medium, with progressive, with fading vibrato, espressivo; marcato.
  • Dynamics: various crescendos & diminuendos, with and without vibrato, fp, sfz, sffz, pfp.
  • Tremolos: sustains, crescendo & diminuendo.
  • Trills: half tone, whole tone, crescendo & diminuendo, constant speed and accelerando.
  • Pizzicatos: normal, secco, Bartók pizzicatos.
  • Col legno.
  • Sul ponticello: staccato, détaché, sustains, crescendos & diminuendos, sfz, sffz, tremolo, repetitions.
  • Sul tasto: staccato, détaché, sustains, sforzato, tremolo.
  • Natural harmonics: sustains, repetitions, glissandos.
  • Artificial harmonics: staccato, sustains, repetitions, glissandos.

Solo Strings II is the sequel to Solo Strings I, offering many of the playing techniques that the first Collection includes, but played "con sordino" (with mutes).

The Vienna Instruments Engine:

  • Powerful proprietary streaming audio engine, developed by Vienna Symphonic Library's Christian Teuscher.
  • Up to 3,456 Articulations (Patches) on one MIDI channel.
  • RAM pre-load of up to 25,600 stereo samples (based on 1.6 GB available RAM under Windows; 48,000 samples on a 3 GB Mac G5).
  • 64 stereo voices per instance streaming from disk.
  • Extremely low load times (average 1 sec. per Patch) using pre-caching.
  • Lossless real-time de-compression for using less RAM and hard disk resources.
  • RAM Optimizer kicks unused samples out of RAM.
  • Pre-configured Patches.
  • Performance Detection algorithms integrated in Patches without the need to switch manually between articulations.
  • Trigger comprehensive sets of articulations using hardware controllers (MIDI learn), key switches, and speed, without ever leaving the current MIDI channel.
  • Layer Articulations for simultaneous or crossfade performances in one Preset.
  • Easily design your own Instruments using Drag & Drop.
  • Switch Velocity Crossfades and Release Control on/off on the fly.
Latest User Reviews Average user rating of 0.00 from 0 reviews


Discussion: Active

Please log in to join the discussion

 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
23 people have added Solo Strings I to 7 My KVR groups 28 times
+2 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 9894  5887  8490

30-Day: 12442; 7-Day: 8674; Yesterday: 1875

KVR Audio Plug-in Marketplace