1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Vienna Symphonic Library (VSL)
  4. »
  5. Solo Strings I
  6. »
  7. Details

Solo Strings I

Strings / Orchestral Plugin by Vienna Symphonic Library (VSL)
€275 (Std. Library) / €295 (Ext. Library)
Solo Strings I
Solo Strings I by Vienna Symphonic Library (VSL) is a Virtual Instrument Audio Plugin for macOS and Windows. It functions as a VST Plugin, an Audio Units Plugin and an RTAS Plugin.
Copy Protection
Dongle (USB-eLicenser)
My KVR - Groups, Versions, & More
25 KVR members have added Solo Strings I to 7 My KVR groups 30 times.
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
+2 in private groups

KVR Rank

Overall: 14086   8620   11771

30-Day: 10459; 7-Day: 8644; Yesterday: 6629

Solo Strings I is part of the Symphonic Cube, which consists of ten "Vienna Instruments Collections". Solo Strings features the following instruments:

  • Violin.
  • Viola.
  • Violoncello.
  • Double bass.



  • Interval Performances: legato, portamento, zigane (gipsy), détaché, marcato, spiccato.
  • Fast Interval Performances: legato, marcato, spiccato, harsh.
  • Performance Trills.
  • Interval Performance Glissandos on the same string, fast and medium speed, up and down.
  • Repetition Performances: legato, bow vibrato, portato (slow, medium, fast), staccato, spiccato, harsh.
  • Fast Repetitions and ricochet repetitions (accelerando, ritardando).
  • Runs: legato, spiccato; major, minor, chromatic, whole tone.
  • Grace notes: normal, slow, zigane.
  • Glissandos: medium and fast octave glissandos on the same string.

Single notes:

  • Short notes: staccato, short détaché, long détaché, 4 variations each.
  • Long notes: sustains without, with medium, with progressive, with fading vibrato, espressivo; marcato.
  • Dynamics: various crescendos & diminuendos, with and without vibrato, fp, sfz, sffz, pfp.
  • Tremolos: sustains, crescendo & diminuendo.
  • Trills: half tone, whole tone, crescendo & diminuendo, constant speed and accelerando.
  • Pizzicatos: normal, secco, Bartók pizzicatos.
  • Col legno.
  • Sul ponticello: staccato, détaché, sustains, crescendos & diminuendos, sfz, sffz, tremolo, repetitions.
  • Sul tasto: staccato, détaché, sustains, sforzato, tremolo.
  • Natural harmonics: sustains, repetitions, glissandos.
  • Artificial harmonics: staccato, sustains, repetitions, glissandos.

Solo Strings II is the sequel to Solo Strings I, offering many of the playing techniques that the first Collection includes, but played "con sordino" (with mutes).

The Vienna Instruments Engine:

  • Powerful proprietary streaming audio engine, developed by Vienna Symphonic Library's Christian Teuscher.
  • Up to 3,456 Articulations (Patches) on one MIDI channel.
  • RAM pre-load of up to 25,600 stereo samples (based on 1.6 GB available RAM under Windows; 48,000 samples on a 3 GB Mac G5).
  • 64 stereo voices per instance streaming from disk.
  • Extremely low load times (average 1 sec. per Patch) using pre-caching.
  • Lossless real-time de-compression for using less RAM and hard disk resources.
  • RAM Optimizer kicks unused samples out of RAM.
  • Pre-configured Patches.
  • Performance Detection algorithms integrated in Patches without the need to switch manually between articulations.
  • Trigger comprehensive sets of articulations using hardware controllers (MIDI learn), key switches, and speed, without ever leaving the current MIDI channel.
  • Layer Articulations for simultaneous or crossfade performances in one Preset.
  • Easily design your own Instruments using Drag & Drop.
  • Switch Velocity Crossfades and Release Control on/off on the fly.

Latest User Reviews

Average user rating of 0.00 from 0 reviews

Products similar to Solo Strings I...

Comments & Discussion for Vienna Symphonic Library (VSL) Solo Strings I

Discussion: Active

Please log in to join the discussion