Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Sonimus
  4. »
  5. SonEQ
  6. »
  7. Reviews

SonEQ

 My KVR
EQ Plugin by Sonimus

SonEQ has an average user rating of 4.25 from 4 reviews

Rate & Review SonEQ

User Reviews by KVR Members for SonEQ

Reviewed By AudioGuy720 [read all by] on March 12th, 2012
Version reviewed: XP/Vista on Windows.
Last edited by AudioGuy720 on 12th March 2012.

Really this plug-in has ZERO reviews? It was just voted as the best free EQ plug-in so far in 2012 at http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=339180 .

This plug-in features 64-bit floating point processing, 3 EQ bands, high and low pass filters and a "preamp stage". It reminds me a lot of what a Pultec-type plug in can do, limiting you to two shelving filters with coarse selectable frequencies and a mid-band filter with a fine selectable frequencies (150 Hz to 4 kHz) and a high Q (bandwidth) toggle.

SonEQ, according to its manual models "A550 y PulEQP". I believe this was a translation error and it means that, from what I gathered researching this plug-in, the low shelf models a Pultec EQP-1A and the high shelf models an API 550 equalizer. The low shelf has both boost and attenuation, just like a Pultec.

The preamp/drive control simulates analog tube distortion. You control the amount of saturation with the input/output controls. The preamp circuit is post-EQ and it can be disabled with the on/off toggle switch.

There is also a "WOOW" control. It enables an all-pass filter which you can read more about here: http://www.uaudio.com/blog/allpass-filters/ There is also a "Drive" knob available.

Unfortunately the fine frequencies cannot be typed in however a control-click drag results in precision control for exact numbers.

This plug-in works particular well on bass guitar, snare and kick drums. It is a great addition to any plug-in collection because it gets results. It has a good analog quality to it in that you can push it hard and it still sounds really good! I'm surprised it's free! The manual is also rather well-written (although the English translation is a little off here and there) and I definitely recommend reading it, especially for it's preamp level suggestions. So grab it while you still can.

Click here to read all 4 reviews

Comments & Discussion for Sonimus SonEQ

Discussion
Discussion: Active
Brother Charles
Brother Charles
23 April 2013 at 3:18am

Thanks fese - great little review. SonEQ is one of my favorites too! It really is "something special" on vocal tracks. I often use SonEQ on my own vocal tracks and then apply any little surgical operations with IIEQ Pro. Well, that might be a changing "dynamic". .. "dynamic" because I'm so impressed with Melda's MDYnamic & MAUtoDynamic EQs.

fese
fese
28 April 2013 at 2:29pm

Charles, thank you for your kind words - as English isn't my first language, it takes some time and effort to write just a few paragraphs, and it's nice to see it's appreciated :).

I haven't checked out Sonimus' other stuff yet, but given the quality of this one I'm pretty sure I'm going to buy Sweetone one day, at $25 it's a no-brainer. Also, love the GUI.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
26 March 2018 at 5:35pm

It is not only 32-bit. It is also 64-bit, VST2, VST3, and AAX.

And RTAS in 32-bit.

For OS X, it is VST and AU.

Demo here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l2Wqvp20K_8

michal.ochedowski
michal.ochedowski
13 November 2019 at 12:55pm

Yesterday I re-discovered this great eq. I tried it on a snare and just couldn't believe what a huge difference it made.

I would like to use this topic to ask a question. Can anyone check, if their SonEQFree VST3 version allows numerical input after right-clicking on the knob e.g. BOOST or GAIN ? VST2 has that functionality, but for some reason VST3 doesn't allow it. When I right-click nothing happens. I'm using the latest 1.2.1 release x64. I'm on Windows 8.1 x64.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
13 November 2019 at 2:45pm

I confirm. The readouts pop-up on VST2, not on VST3.

I just opened a ticket to report that bug.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

michal.ochedowski
michal.ochedowski
13 November 2019 at 3:07pm

Thanks a lot BlackWinny.

I emailed developer about it earlier today. So far no response. I just asked a question if that's the proper behaviour. You had better idea about reporting it as a bug. Perhaps something can be done about it. I figured that since last update was in November 2016 and plugin is free, there is very small chance he is willing to check it out.

By the way I have no idea why there is March 2018 mentioned as release date for latest version 1.2 on this website. My plugin has a date 20161123, both VST2 and VST3.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
15 November 2019 at 6:16pm

"By the way I have no idea why there is March 2018 mentioned as release date for latest version 1.2 on this website. My plugin has a date 20161123, both VST2 and VST3."

Same for my copy.

They replied to my ticket, kindly. To get some additional info. So I sent these additional info two hours ago. I'll probably get a new reply tomorrow. We'll see. But I'm pretty confident for a next update with that bug fixed.

:).

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

michal.ochedowski
michal.ochedowski
16 November 2019 at 4:44am

I also received an answer from Sonimus yesterday. There is something in the works regarding VST3 support for the 2020 update. Luckily it's not a huge inconvenience and SonEQ can still be used without any glitches.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
16 November 2019 at 1:44pm

So let's wait and see... The issue with the readouts on VST3 will probably be addressed at the latest in the 2020 update.

:).

Please log in to join the discussion