1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Surge Synth Team
  4. »
  5. Stochas
  6. »
  7. Reviews

Stochas

 My KVR
Random MIDI Arranger Plugin by Surge Synth Team

Stochas has an average user rating of 3.75 from 4 reviews

Rate & Review Stochas

User Reviews by KVR Members for Stochas

Reviewed By m3ssi4h [read all by] on 8th May 2021
Version reviewed: Win 10 on Windows.
Last edited by m3ssi4h on 8th May 2021.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I havnt delved to much into the plugin yet. But I just figured out how to get it to work on ableton so I thought I might share.

I needed to install the standalone Storchas, and then download loopmidi from http://www.tobias-erichsen.de/software/loopmidi.html.

Create a MIDI output on loopmidi.

Set the MIDI output on Storchas to the MIDI output created on loopmidi. Then set the MIDI input to Ableton to the MIDI output that was just created on loopmidi.

Boom.

:).

User Reviews of older versions

Reviewed By Retired Catholic [read all by] on 16th September 2020
Version reviewed: 1.3.3 on Mac
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Awesome plug in. Intuitive interface, very easily understandable and modifiable. It's not the London Symphony Orchestra but it's not supposed to be. It's supposed to be a way to generate quasi random events and it does a great job at it.

Reviewed By FunkEQ [read all by] on 8th September 2020
Version reviewed: 1.3.3 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Amazing Plugin, Worked 100% in Reaper and Ableton. I love how it makes it so easy to create unexpected changes. So much fun to use. So good on drums.

Reviewed By NhojKces [read all by] on 5th September 2020
Version reviewed: 2.5.59 on Windows.
Last edited by NhojKces on 5th September 2020.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Followed the online tutorial for setting up Stochas in FL Studio and still could not get Stochas to work. Looked to the comments section in order to seek some help or see if anyone else was having similar issues, and the comments were disabled. Disappointing to say the least.

Reviewed By Adr1an0 [read all by] on 3rd July 2017
Version reviewed: 1 on Mac
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I would give this closer to a 10 if it weren't for the fact that it doesn't work properly in Ableton.

It's remarkable, given the popularity of Ableton, that this company released Stochas without getting to the bottom of the issue.

On their support forum they say "they're looking into it" but that reply was May 2017 and it's now early July.

One of the selling points of Stochas are its 4 layers that can work in parallel to enrichen your sound/melodies etc.

To do this layer 1-4 are routed to MIDI channel 1-4.

On a You tube demo a bloke using Kontakt does this. However Ableton users can't use this functionality. There were 2 other people like me who had written on the Audio vitamin website about this.

The plug in does nearly everything I want for my experimental installation type soundscapes, and I have a workaround for this issue where I just have 4 instances of Stochas each routing to a separate synth/device.

However at $50 this shouldn't have been necessary and the really nice functionality they created for working across layers is lost using my workaround. The functionality is that the notes of other layers are 'shadowed' as you work in parallel layers. It makes it easy to make/see the possible polyrhythmic patters.

So in conclusion. A potentially 'awesome' tool is handicapped. I will come back here and give it a 10 if they fix this issue in an update. But after 2 months since they were "looking into it", I am not convinced that's going to happen.

Click here to read all 4 reviews

Comments & Discussion for Surge Synth Team Stochas

Discussion
Discussion: Active

Please log in to join the discussion