1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. User Reviews

Product Reviews by KVR Members

The latest reviews by all KVR members!

Review Something or Find Reviews

Reviewed By markmann [read all by] on 19th April 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on Mac
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This is one of the top saturators out there for my purposes. I prefer its tape saturation to the many other commercial tape plugins I own (Slate, Softube, ToneBoosters, U-he etc.). The tube portion can be very effective to increase the "bite" of a track. The controls are laid out nicely and you can dial in a sound quickly. You can go from subtle to over-the-top with both tape and tube. I honestly didn't expect a free plugin to be this competitive and was pleasantly surprised. I will be checking out BPB's Dirty Filter now.

Reviewed By DarseZ [read all by] on 18th April 2021
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

WIDER is great. Simple to use and works as promised. I love this thing.

I paid for Nugen Stereoizer, but was tired of licensing crap...and what if the company goes out of business? I'm stuck with useless software.

The additional benefit of WIDER, which I see less and less of these days, it's that it's a no-strings attached DLL you drop in and use. There are some paid ones (Klanghelm, Brusfri, etc.) that I have paid for and also are this simple.

I would pay for WIDER. It's that good.

I'm over "management layers" or "licensing layers" or buying into an ecosystem. Drag and drop DLLs that do the job...and do it well, are my future.

Great plugin.

Reviewed By mohokios [read all by] on 17th April 2021
Version reviewed: 4 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

i like this plugin a lot...

though company support is really bad... even after weeks.. no answer....

Reviewed By DarseZ [read all by] on 16th April 2021
Version reviewed: 3 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

OMG getting a user account by entering a password is needlessly complicated at LeSound. It takes 15 minutes of guessing at special characters, then remembering what you entered so you can record it somewhere.

Other than that, windows flagged it so I didn't run it.

but the interface and the idea look pretty great so that gets a star. Hope it works.

Reviewed By DarseZ [read all by] on 16th April 2021
Version reviewed: 1.1.2 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Now this is nice. Love the tones here, LostIn70s isn't hiding the fact that they sourced IRs, but how they've tailored these, and bundled them and made a really intuitive and wide ranging selection is so great. This creates some lovely, murky tones, it's fun just to drop it on just about anything and you get Instant Mojo. Really nice work.

Reviewed By kingozrecords [read all by] on 16th April 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Any OS
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

While I liked the demo, I feel that it was somewhat monotone and seemingly flushed. Could it be that another demo could be made, given the fact that there's so many more presets in this pack. It would only seem possible, you'd get a sale out of Me for certain if there was something of an example that was a bit more dynamic.

Reviewed By Chipi [read all by] on 15th April 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by Chipi on 15th April 2021.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Great synth, clean and analog sound if you want it, you can create some nice bass sounds and punchy leads, but not much else. Lacks the ability to create good Pads, although some can be created. There are no pianos, no drums, no guitars, no acoustic instruments can be created except for some flute or something you can program and you cannot import wavetables or samples so the sound creation is limited. The effects are of lousy quality for 2021. They are functional but very mediocre, the Electra 2 are superior but Electra costs 100 bucks more. It has few waves, no more than 84 and not all of them sound good, there are some very good ones. There is no FX quantity control for each oscillator, nor pan control, but there is the possibility to give it a 'mono' or 'stereo' setting with different configurations that sound very good. Good quality 'sub' oscillators give a lot of body to some sounds and Moog emulations are possible and even surpass a good analog synth. The sound is 'in - your - face', bright, elegant and loud, but be careful with the volume in some effect combinations can distort. There is no sound compressor and no equalization. The interface is impeccable, and well laid out. Hopefully it will incorporate 1000 more waves in other updates. I recommend it for anyone who wants to incorporate a great sounding synth to their tracks, another good hit from Tone2! Long live Warlock.

Reviewed By jvmp3r [read all by] on 15th April 2021
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

The best akakasncxncpewoitoqetqpeotpqetipqetpqoetpqetoqetpqeoptoqepotpqeotpqeotpoqetqetqeqetqtqetqetqetqetqetqetqetqetqetesdgsdhxcbcbcnbm, bn, bncbcbcb.

Reviewed By nordickvr [read all by] on 15th April 2021
Version reviewed: 1.2 on Mac
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Full disclosure: Soundyan gave me a free license key of Interstellar Waterphone to test and make a review of it.

Review done with Logic X (AU) under High Sierra using the 1.2 version of IW.
From the web site: "There is no 32-bit version yet. Only 64-bit at the moment.
MacOS version is for both x86 and ARM processors.".
Windows version also available.
System requirements: 64-bit Windows 7 or higher, Windows 10 is recommended.

Simple installation/authorization process (email + key).
Soundyan offers online and offline registration if your main computer doesn't have access to Internet.

Downloaded installer file is 974.1 MB.
I would have preferred the option to install the needed audio sample files to an external disk, but there's no way doing it yet.

Controls available to sculpt your sounds.
The amp envelope (ADSR), the Start Offset and two filters, currently a low cut + low pass ones.

Sound.

Interstellar Waterphone is quite a niche instrument.
It comes with what Soundyan called sound banks.
There's six ones named "Interstellar Water", "Dry Space", "Dark Chimes, "Light Path", "Full Proximity", and "Slow Voltage".
From the web site: "The waterphone sounds have been recorded using different Interstellar Waterphone instruments made exclusively by waterphone.pl".
Samples sound great and offer variety.
What's interesting with this plugin is his playable/customizable aspect.
While most of the time Waterphone's Libraries are aiming at FX/Sound Design work,
depending of the chosen instrument (Sound Bank), you'll be able to play some melodicmusical content too.

Playing IW using a MIDI controller.

While going true different octaves, it'll play different set of samples.
Extended on few notes, or many...
The dev surely didn't want to over stretch the audio sources.
It'll have an effect on the available notes/sounds needed for what you're looking for.
E.g., play a melody vs creating atonal Sound FX or simply create some ambiances.
The first bank (Interstellar Water) is out of tune.
Of course the "water effect" causes this typical Waterphone note bending effect.
However, I felt that a little pitch tweaking could have made it usable for melodic content.
Using a pitch bend automation as a work around, I could get clause enough to handle a melody...
Dry Space has some register where the tuning is definitely manageable.
I was rapidly able to make an interesting layered sound with an acoustic piano.
In that case, I made used of the IW's Start Offset feature (setting to adjust the starting point of samples).
Slow Voltage has great potential for melodic/musical material.
Waterphone produces some complex sound not necessarily made to play melodies at first, but IW will let you explore this territory while imposing you some limits.
If you're aiming for the sound FX/ambient territory, you'll be pretty well served with this instrument.
There's enough tweaking options to make IW quite versatile.
Mixed with the Virtual Bow (following), it can become addictive.

Playing IW using the Virtual Bow (Waterphone icon knob).

It'll generate a MIDI sequence of notes based on intervals.
It works in conjuncture with the Steps, Offset, Bow Velocity, and Velocity Randomness sliders.
Steps: 1 = semi tone, 2 = whole tone, 3 = minor third, etc...
Offset: -12 to +12 semi tone to change the sequence starting note.
The other two are pretty self explanatory.
The best will be to assign them to some MIDI CCs.
MIDI assignation process is straight forward.
Right click (Mac) to "learn/unlearn" the desired CC.
That would have been great to have a way to restraint the register of the Virtual Bow.
Some app will let you do that when using MIDI CCs, but it would have been convenient to have this option internally.
But what I found really missing is the option to choose scales.
Even better.
Holding a chord and have the Virtual Bow arpeggiating it.

Other welcomed features
Scalable UI.
Show/Hide visualiser.
Double click to default parameters.
Active voices monitoring (max 256).

All in all, Interstellar Waterphone is an interesting and good sounding instrument.
The better way to know if it fits your need is to try the demo version.
Here's the Demo Mode limitations (from the web site):

"The unregistered and not activated software can run in demo mode with limited functionality. List of limitations Time limitation - after some time the application will turn off the audio. Sound set limitation - Only two sound sets are available in demo version, instead of six. Commercial limitation - You can't use the Interstellar Waterphone software for commercial purposes without purchasing a license."

N.

Reviewed By qsource [read all by] on 15th April 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Any OS
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I'm so impressed with this library. Every instrument (there are actually 11 rather than 10 as the marketing says) has something good in it. Nearly all have some beautiful -- occasionally quirky -- quality to them that inspires me to compose around each of them. Personally, I recommend this to anyone creating compositions ranging from cinematic to ambient.

Most of the instruments are plucky (harp, lyre, mandola, etc.) or bell/handpan (the "hopi" instruments). The user-friendliness of the interface means that you have the basic controls either under keyswitches or the modwheel. Everything else is a matter of the tastefully recorded samples.

I thought that I found a couple of bugs on my first day of playing these. Once I sent my report to Versilian, I quickly got a thorough and helpful answer back. In each case, I was simply misunderstanding where to find keyswitches I was looking for.

Well done on all counts.