Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 NewWhat is KVR? Submit News Advertise

Product Reviews by KVR Members

The latest reviews by all KVR members!

Review Something
or Find Reviews
Reaktor [read all reviews]
Reviewed By arturmeinild [read all by] on 6th June 2017
Version reviewed: 6 on Windows
9.00
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Complete modular studio, endless possibilities (especially with the new "blocks" format), tons of user content and continuous support. It's really a no-brainer as part of the Komplete bundle, which is very reasonably priced with it's upgrade path.

Kontakt [read all reviews]
Reviewed By arturmeinild [read all by] on 6th June 2017
Version reviewed: 5 on Windows
9.00
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Industry standard sample player, complex scripting, tons of additional content and continuous support. It's really a no-brainer as part of the Komplete bundle, which is very reasonably priced with it's upgrade path.

Konkrete 3 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By arturmeinild [read all by] on 6th June 2017
Version reviewed: 3 on Windows
9.00
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Reasonably priced, awesome product and great customer service. Highly recommended.

Apparently KVR wants me to write some more, but there really isn't much else to say.

FL Studio [read all reviews]
Reviewed By KMJoshi [read all by] on 5th June 2017
Version reviewed: 12.4 on Windows.
Last edited by KMJoshi on 5th June 2017.
10.00
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

In my honest opinion, FL Studio is not a beginner's DAW. I have met a lot of people who call it a beginner's DAW and a toy. FL is so much more than that. From the outside, it looks like a weird, easy program, but from the inside, it is an extremely deep and flexible software. A lot of people take its flexibility for inability.

The synths you get are fantastic. While they do not have many presets, you can always learn them inside-out by simply reading the user's manual, which, by the way, is extremely fun to read— especially with all that jokes. That, and the user's manual also contains many tips for getting a commercial quality music.

The stock effect plugins are excellent as well. Some of them do need a UI update (Chorus, Flanger, Compressor). For the compressor you could always use FL Limiter as an alternative — it provides the same quality. Most of the other plugins are very well-designed. I particularly like Delay Bank (8 steps delay), Reeverb 2, and Param. EQ 2 (which gives you Harmonic spectrum).

For mastering and mixing, you have excellent side-chaining and routing system, and also a very good multi-band mastering tool called Maximus. I master all my songs using this, and also several other stock plugins. I don't use third party mastering plugins, and I'm still very satisfied with the results I get with ImageLine's plugins.

There are a few other things to consider though. You can't automate time signature in FL Studio. And you don't get samples for the sampler DirectWave (which, I forgot to mention before, is very good as well) along with the DAW; you need to purchase them separately. There are so many shortcuts and under-the-hood stuffs that sometimes you might get confused! While usually, a large number of features is a good thing, it can get terribly confusing.

All in all, I am very satisfied of this DAW, and highly recommend it to people who are actually serious about making music! 10/10 from me.

Rhythmology - The Future of Rhythm [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Ryan99 [read all by] on 4th June 2017
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
10.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Sample Logic is a top-notch company that released over time some of the most complete and innovative libraries for Kontakt. I own many of their libraries and I love them. Their latest release, Rhythmology, continues that trend with a concept that allow the user to have access to an enormous quantity of loop sources and do major modifications to them, while playing simultaneously with up to four loop sources that are each inside a loop core (which is a loop source together with all it's effects available). Each loop source is divided into 16 steps, which can be rearranged, repeated or muted.

As usual from Sample Logic, the sound quality is excellent, ranging from a wide range of content that can be use in various musical styles. The sounds are tagged and can be selected as favorites for easy recalling later.

The interface is well laid-out and clear. As different levels of customization are possible, navigating through the menus and sub-menus can seem daunting at first, but it becomes easier after a while to make either minor adjustments or totally revamping the sounds to make them completely different. The user manual does a good job of explaining all the functions for the different menus, so it's a must-read to get a good grasp of all the features available inside this library.

The amount of customization that can be made if you want to dig deeper is mind-boggling. A lot of elements can be randomized, while keeping some other untouched, allowing you to tailor-made the sounds to your liking. There's a lot of effects available. Some effects are the same for all the loop sources (volume, pan, transpose, stutter, reverse), while some other can be chosen between a wide range of over 20 effects. The effects can be applied to each step of a loop source, to a complete loop core or at a more global level. Also, for those that likes to have presets, you're well covered. There's many presets at loop core levels, multi-core levels, and a lot of presets for effects or chain of effects at different levels.

I have a lot of fun choosing a multi-core preset that I like, then start playing with the loop sources and the effects. Just with one loop source, I can easily modify the steps, repeat some of them, rearrange and apply effects to have a totally different rhythm or simply customize some aspects to my liking.

Like I mentioned before, if I want to generate other ideas, I can randomize a lot of aspects. I simply have to choose which parts I'd like to randomize before pressing the random button. This way, I can get different results every time I try the randomize function.

Also, Rhythmology is NKS Compatible, which means that it can work with Native Instruments NKS keyboards, as well as with Maschine 2. I tried it from inside of Maschine and I can add the workflow and all the effects available from Maschine 2 to those from Rhythmology, which is a very nice bonus.

You definitively get a lot of bang for your buck. There's more than a thousand loop sources to play with, many hundreds of presets and so many ways to customize the sounds to your needs.

That's another stellar product from an innovative developper that keeps pushing the boundaries of what can be done with music. I will certainly use this product for a long time with the insane amount of stuff and all the interesting ways to customize, randomize and modify the content. On top of that, the developper hinted that expansions are in the work. I can't wait to try them, but in the meantime, I already have enough material to have fun for a while. Hats off, Sample Logic.

SpectrumWorx [read all reviews]
Reviewed By bleepeater [read all by] on 4th June 2017
Version reviewed: 2.9.3 on Windows
8.00
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I have just one gripe with this beautiful plugin and that is that when i place it on a signal with the wet and mix knob set to full i am still hearing the dry signal which i find really confusing and slightly frustrating as i have never encountered this with any other effects plugin which is a shame as it would easily be my favourite VST if i could figure this out.

bleepeater@gmail.com.

Tape Stop [read all reviews]
Reviewed By tommyzai [read all by] on 29th May 2017
Version reviewed: 1.012 on Mac.
Last edited by tommyzai on 29th May 2017.
9.00
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I did a search for tape player wind-up and wind-down effects and stumbled upon Tape Stop by kiloHearts. I picked it up, played nonstop for a couple days and wanted to share my enthusiasm in this mini user review.

Very simple, yet powerful – not many buttons or controls, but limitless in the sense that it spins-down and speeds-up whatever audio you feed into it. It's a fantastic tape transport effect emulation. I can feel the motor. I can hear the magnetic flakes jumping off the tape. Nice price. Useful. Fun. Use this wisely, and it could really spice up a track:

  • Tiny Footprint.
  • Fast loading.
  • Simple operation.
  • GUI couldn't be better. .. certainly doesn't get in the way. LOL.
  • Cool developer.
  • Priced right.

Ease of Operation = 10/10
Sound Quality = 9/10
Price - 9/10
Funness Factor = 10/10.

*I highly recommend this little gem. It does exactly what it claims and does it well.

Free Clip [read all reviews]
Reviewed By onerob [read all by] on 26th May 2017
Version reviewed: 0.9.1 on Mac
10.00
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Plugin seems to work fairly well as a subtle mastering clipper. I also tried it on some drums under slightly more intense saturation settings and it sounded pretty good. Keep up the good work.

KR-Space [read all reviews]
Reviewed By ontol [read all by] on 23rd May 2017
Version reviewed: 1.61 on Windows.
Last edited by ontol on 23rd May 2017.
2.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Problematic installer (unclear installation instructions--the readme gives different instructions than the manual, neither way installs the product enough to satisfy the product manager for activation), never could activate due to "missing files", no support replies, but fairly standard and ok reverb unit.

Took a chance and spent $10 in a Guitar Center Clearance; understand why it's on clearance now.

Writing off the ten bucks, uninstalling. Too many alternates to waste time trying to fix this.

Virtual Tape Machines (VTM) [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Pheek [read all by] on 23rd May 2017
Version reviewed: 1.1.13.1 on Mac
10.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I have been really interested in tape emulation plugins to balance the use I do with my HEDD 192 from Cranesong. I wanted alternatives for occasional works, especially when it comes to quick digital fixes. I had decided to get the subscription from Slate Digital and was happy to see the Virtual Tape was included. Using this plugin for the last year has been providing incredible results. Sometimes, it's really close to my hardware in terms of warmth it can provide or for the low end it brings out of any songs. For electronic music, in a mixdown situation, it really does a great difference on the kicks and basses. I can only recommend it.