Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

Product Reviews by KVR Members

The latest reviews by all KVR members!

Review Something
or Find Reviews
SPAN [read all reviews]
Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 12th October 2018
Version reviewed: 3.1 on Mac
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

SPAN is awesome. It has all that you can desire from a spectrum analyzer. All the info, all the analysis, everything you need to have all the data of your song. Put it at last of your master channel and see in real time how your mix/master is going. and it's free.

I use version 3.1 with Logic Pro X 10.4.2 on High Sierra. Never had a problem/crash.

Proximity [read all reviews]
Reviewed By MarcioRuiz [read all by] on 11th October 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on Windows.
Last edited by MarcioRuiz on 11th October 2018.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I love this plugin!!!! Really amazing!.

I've been used it in my all mixes. It's just perfect. But take care to get the correct version (32 or 64-bits).

Thanks to developer!!.

TB ReelBus v4 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By sramsay [read all by] on 10th October 2018
Version reviewed: 4.04 on Mac.
Last edited by sramsay on 10th October 2018.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Here are the tape emulators currently in my plugins folder:

CRTIV Tape Bus (Voxengo)
HoRNetTape
ReelBus 4 (Toneboosters)
Tape (Softube)
ReeLight (Beatskillz)
TCS-68 (Fuse Audio Labs)
Tapedesk (Overloud)
Satin (U-he)
Oxide (UAD)
Ampex ATR-102 (UAD)
Studer A800 (UAD)
J37 Tape (Waves)
Kramer Master Tape (Waves).

Plus:
Dopamine (Overloud)
TypeA (AudioThing).

And that's not including stuff like RC-20 Retro Color (XLN) that can do some tape stuff, and the tape plugin that comes with Ozone. (Noticeably absent, here, is Slate Digital's Virtual Tape Machines. I've tried it; it's great. Just haven't pulled the trigger on it).

So, yes. I am a man obsessed.

These all have different sounds and different levels of tweakability. Some are more-or-less "set it and forget it" (Softube Tape), some are painstaking recreations of particular tape machines (the Studer and Ampex from UAD are the pinnacle of that category), and some are more like "tape toolkits" for getting tape effects more generally (Satin is the probably the deepest tool if you want to go that way).

Reelbus 4 is solidly in that "toolkit" category, and so probably bears the closest relationship to Satin.

But honestly, as awesome as Satin is (and it really is), Reelbus is damn close. And it's noticeably easier to use. There's very little skeuomorphism in the interface; it's basically a set of sliders that let you play around with various elements of the "tape sound" (including such arcana as hysteresis and asperity). And it sounds great. The presets, while not extensive, are really good at hitting the fundamental tape sound categories, so you can just use it straight.

If you already own something more in the "set-it-and-forget-it" category (whether it's a straight emulation or not), and would like to go deeper into the weeds of what tape machines can do, this is absolutely your best bet. It's super cheap, but incredibly deep and sophisticated. And it might be the best way to learn how to tweak the tape sound, because the interface is so clear. You can really go bonkers with it. and that's a good thing to do when you're trying to learn how to play around with tape. Once you get your head around this, you'll have a much easier time popping the lid on, say, the Ampex from UAD or the service panel in Satin.

And even though I own tape plugins that cost nearly six times as much (man, those UAD plugs hurt), Reelbus 4 is perilously close in sound quality to some of those fancier plugs. If you're into tape -- or thing you might like to be -- this is really a must buy.

Awesome Piano [read all reviews]
Reviewed By wk1630 [read all by] on 10th October 2018
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

great little plugin. loads easily and has a rich sound.

thanks for a nice vst.

great little plugin. loads easily and has a rich sound.

thanks for a nice vst.

Leveling Tool [read all reviews]
Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 8th October 2018
Version reviewed: 1.3.1 on Mac
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

It's a great tube compressor. Same flavour as the Waves CLA-3A but this is free. I've compared the two side by side and I haven't noticed a difference. The possibility to adjust attack and release time is a plus. Highly suggested on vocals and drums. I can't believe it's free.

SuperSpread [read all reviews]
Reviewed By [PTMAO]Dusk [read all by] on 7th October 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0.2.0 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Excellent tool to widen up you mono tracks if needed. It takes the signal beyond the stereo field if you want to.

Great on Synths, Guitars, backing vocals and anything you can think of. Really recommend testing this one.

ReFine [read all reviews]
Reviewed By [PTMAO]Dusk [read all by] on 7th October 2018
Version reviewed: 1.1.0 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Fast to dial in, not much to say, in the manual you can find importante facts about this little but powerful tool.

It sits great on my mixbus, adds depth, clarity and some warm attitude, really recommended this one. For free!! Amazing.

I tested it on several sources and found it more usefull in buses and final mix bus as i mentioned above.

PitchedDelay [read all reviews]
Reviewed By [PTMAO]Dusk [read all by] on 7th October 2018
Version reviewed: 1.2.2 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Great Pitch Delay tool for free! Its really great, easy to learn if your used to controlling delay units e know about filtering.

Automating this could be tricky because when you change the tempo, some clicks are heard.

Really recommend some testing on this old one.

Dystroyed [read all reviews]
Reviewed By rcrath [read all by] on 7th October 2018
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

fun combo of distortion and compression (-distression) and bit-crushing sample rate reduction. It was not showing inputs for the side chaine in bidule so docked a point there! will go in my distortion folder for specialoccasions though.

4 minute video walk-through here.

TAL-NoiseMaker [read all reviews]
Reviewed By OllyAudio [read all by] on 7th October 2018
Version reviewed: 4.3.1 on Windows
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This synthesizer has a very good sound. Excellent modulation unit. I get pleasure when I work with him.
Unpredictability is of interest. The bass, effects and modulated sounds work well in the synthesizer.