Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. User Reviews

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by blatanville

Review Something or Find Reviews

Clear

Reviewed By blatanville [all]
December 21st, 2023
Version reviewed: 1.0.10 on Windows

This plugin is incredible.
It does one thing, and it does it so, so well.

Highly recommended.

Read Review
Harmonia Synthesizer

Reviewed By blatanville [all]
November 22nd, 2023
Version reviewed: 1.0.10 on Windows

My compliments and "complaints" about Harmonia are the same as those I made on the new Pro Soloist by Cherry Audio, so I'll just copy/paste them here:

Sounds lovely. Well done. And the presets are great.
BUT!
there is so much interface space given over to the keyboard and the wooden ears...this [overly] wide interface is a problem.
I can see, just at a quick glance, how the main panel controls could be divided into two rows, ...and it would be a more compact, screen-friendly design that would also allow for larger knobs and labels (always a complaint I see about Cherry Audio synths are the size and readability of knob/slider position).

the knobs and sliders, in Harmonia's case, are a big problem. So much so that I initially passed on buying this (and I like to support Cherry Audio when I can!) synth because of it. Since I was offered such a good deal on Synth Stack 4, to fill in my collection, well, I'll take it. But I predict I won't spend a lot of time tweaking or creating with Harmonia as-is. A great collection of presets, for now.
HTH,

Keep up the good work.

Read Review
Pro Soloist Synthesizer

Reviewed By blatanville [all]
November 22nd, 2023
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows

Sounds lovely. Well done. And the presets are great.
BUT!
there is so much interface space given over to the keyboard and the wooden ears, and even a view of the space around and behind the synth. I get that the idea is verisimilitude to the original device, as far as can be done while adding the extra features, but this insanely wide interface is a problem.
I can see, just at a quick glance, how the main panel controls could be divided into two rows, and the left-hand slider bank and octave switch could be placed below that, and it would be a more compact, screen-friendly design that would also allow for larger knobs and labels (always a complaint I see about Cherry Audio synths are the size and readability of knob/slider position).
HTH.
Keep up the good work.

Read Review
Codec

Reviewed By blatanville [all]
August 8th, 2022
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows

Gorgeous. Just plain gorgeous. Overtones, ringing, glitching, aliasing...so tasty and lovely. Did I mention gorgeous?

Read Review
Analog Journey

Reviewed By blatanville [all]
May 31st, 2022
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Any OS

This is a very generous pack of presets!
There're plenty of bread-and-butter presets, to be sure, but some of them really shine (and wobble, buzz, and thump!). Some of the percussives are really good, like some of the kicks.
Well done, OCTO8R.

Response from OCTO8R from OCTO8R on June 15th, 2022

Thank You. I'm glad to contribute musicians. =).

Read Review
Efx Fragments

Reviewed By blatanville [all]
March 3rd, 2022
Version reviewed: 1.0.3 on Windows

I'm still previewing the demo, but I wanted to say:

It sounds great. There are plenty of ways to mangle your audio. It's relatively straight-forward to use.

HOWEVER, that interface is butt-ugly. It looks like an unrefined Synthedit plug from 2006.
Some of the design choices make usage opaque: the "assign" switch for mod sources is invisible until you hover (not always a bad thing, of course, but not intuitive here). Where are the great mod source assignments from Pigments? Or the matrix from Filter M12?
Arturia, please have a re-think about some of these choices. I love Arturia, and I'll probably buy it soon enough, but some improvements would be appreciated. ✌️

[reviewed in REAPER, Windows 10, 64-bit].

Read Review
TB Flowtones

Reviewed By blatanville [all]
January 13th, 2022
Version reviewed: 1.0.3 on Windows

Just a short review:
This synth is bangin'. Really, really great sounding. The bass notes can vibrate the walls and floor with impunity. The variety of oscillators and fact that you get four of them in two-by-two-pairs means you can sculpt a variety of great subtractive sounds. And the inclusion of a Formant filter along with the typical on-board FX (chorus, delay, reverb, distortion & bitcrush) adds some spice to the mix.
For the price, and the promise of free upgrades through v2, you can do a lot worse than this synth.
Did I mention it sounds great?

(for those who test drove it under a previous version, I recommend trying it again: the UI changed dramatically from 1.0.1 to 1.0.3 (at least in Windows), and it improved things a lot. I expect to see further refinements and changes as the synth develops.).

Read Review
Ultra Analog VA-3 - Analog Orchestra

Reviewed By blatanville [all]
December 20th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows

Gorgeous preset pack. Certainly not every patch is going to sound like the actual instrument, but it's astonishing the variety of sounds and variations Cipryan Bot has summoned from what is, essentially, a two-timbre subtractive synth! And even the patches that aren't as realistic, they're inspiring and playable in their own right.

Read Review
MIDI-Transformer

Reviewed By blatanville [all]
October 15th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on Windows

nice, compact little plugin that does one thing and does it well.
during my brief time testing this plug, I found putting a curve on your pitchbender's response is a quick and easy way to add so some interesting variation to bends. You could do some arbitrarily odd curves to really mess with your bend, or some simple quadratic curves to change the amount of bend applied to make the bender less effective at minimal deviation from center, or the other way around and make the bender taper off in effectiveness as you reach maximum throw.
neat.

Response from DNAdisaster from Austen on October 16th, 2021

Thanks so much for checking it out, and I'm glad it proved useful for you! Feel free to reach out if you have any suggestions or desired features you'd like to see in the next revision :-).

Read Review
Rift Filter Lite

Reviewed By blatanville [all]
May 26th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on Windows

A very nice little filter plugin. Sounds great, and the added ability to "play" the filter's center freq by MIDI notes is very cool. I'm looking forward to the full version coming soon.

Read Review
ACID Pro
DAW
by MAGIX
49%
Off
The Free VST Plugin Mega List
What's New @ KVR Audio
Kraftur by Soundtheory, a multi band clipperby pekbro @ 23:24 in EffectsWhat's the easiest and freeist way to generate youtube visualizers for musicby dexrow @ 23:24 in Everything Else (Music related)Hoping someone can help with Cubase 13 Pro and audio cycle recording/takesby jens @ 23:21 in Hosts & Applications (Sequencers, DAWs, Audio Editors, etc.)Kontakt X and the end of Reaktor?by VOODOO U @ 22:55 in InstrumentsNI: Lores & Fables $115 & Moreby JFabri @ 22:38 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)Most useful compressor plugins for mixing?by VELLTONE MUSIC @ 22:30 in EffectsSynthMaster 3 Official Thread - v3.0 Beta (VST2/VST3/AAX/AU2/Standalone) & Demo releasedby Aliens @ 22:27 in InstrumentsBehringer synth speculationby Vectorman @ 22:21 in Hardware (Instruments and Effects)FS: Korg M1 and Wavestation $90, Reveal Sound Spire $100, Synthmaster One $20, FM8 $10, Guitar Rig 6 LE $20by ssel @ 22:20 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)Amigo Sampler - 8-Bit Amiga Style Sampler Pluginby PTV @ 22:18 in InstrumentsNative Instruments $19 Saleby felis @ 22:14 in InstrumentsAirwindows Hit Record Meter: Free Mac/Windows/Linux CLAP/AU/VST3by jinxtigr @ 22:12 in EffectsSONICALLY Best VST Synthby Dirtgrain @ 22:03 in InstrumentsFS: Sonible, SSL, AAS huge pack, Arturia MiniFuse Software Pack, DiscoDSP, Xils StiX/PolyKB, BFD 3, PA, IMPOSCAR 2, ...by midi sentinel @ 22:01 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)Whats the simplest layout VST synth with biggest palette of sounds for beginners?by susquash @ 21:58 in InstrumentsView All Latest Posts