Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. User Reviews

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by blatanville

Review Something or Find Reviews

Reviewed By blatanville [read all by] on August 8th, 2022
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows

Gorgeous. Just plain gorgeous. Overtones, ringing, glitching, aliasing...so tasty and lovely. Did I mention gorgeous?

Reviewed By blatanville [read all by] on May 31st, 2022
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Any OS

This is a very generous pack of presets!
There're plenty of bread-and-butter presets, to be sure, but some of them really shine (and wobble, buzz, and thump!). Some of the percussives are really good, like some of the kicks.
Well done, OCTO8R.

Response from OCTO8R from OCTO8R on June 15th, 2022

Thank You. I'm glad to contribute musicians. =).

Reviewed By blatanville [read all by] on March 3rd, 2022
Version reviewed: 1.0.3 on Windows

I'm still previewing the demo, but I wanted to say:

It sounds great. There are plenty of ways to mangle your audio. It's relatively straight-forward to use.

HOWEVER, that interface is butt-ugly. It looks like an unrefined Synthedit plug from 2006.
Some of the design choices make usage opaque: the "assign" switch for mod sources is invisible until you hover (not always a bad thing, of course, but not intuitive here). Where are the great mod source assignments from Pigments? Or the matrix from Filter M12?
Arturia, please have a re-think about some of these choices. I love Arturia, and I'll probably buy it soon enough, but some improvements would be appreciated. ✌️

[reviewed in REAPER, Windows 10, 64-bit].

Reviewed By blatanville [read all by] on January 13th, 2022
Version reviewed: 1.0.3 on Windows

Just a short review:
This synth is bangin'. Really, really great sounding. The bass notes can vibrate the walls and floor with impunity. The variety of oscillators and fact that you get four of them in two-by-two-pairs means you can sculpt a variety of great subtractive sounds. And the inclusion of a Formant filter along with the typical on-board FX (chorus, delay, reverb, distortion & bitcrush) adds some spice to the mix.
For the price, and the promise of free upgrades through v2, you can do a lot worse than this synth.
Did I mention it sounds great?

(for those who test drove it under a previous version, I recommend trying it again: the UI changed dramatically from 1.0.1 to 1.0.3 (at least in Windows), and it improved things a lot. I expect to see further refinements and changes as the synth develops.).

Reviewed By blatanville [read all by] on December 20th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows

Gorgeous preset pack. Certainly not every patch is going to sound like the actual instrument, but it's astonishing the variety of sounds and variations Cipryan Bot has summoned from what is, essentially, a two-timbre subtractive synth! And even the patches that aren't as realistic, they're inspiring and playable in their own right.

Reviewed By blatanville [read all by] on October 15th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on Windows

nice, compact little plugin that does one thing and does it well.
during my brief time testing this plug, I found putting a curve on your pitchbender's response is a quick and easy way to add so some interesting variation to bends. You could do some arbitrarily odd curves to really mess with your bend, or some simple quadratic curves to change the amount of bend applied to make the bender less effective at minimal deviation from center, or the other way around and make the bender taper off in effectiveness as you reach maximum throw.
neat.

Response from DNAdisaster from Austen on October 16th, 2021

Thanks so much for checking it out, and I'm glad it proved useful for you! Feel free to reach out if you have any suggestions or desired features you'd like to see in the next revision :-).

Reviewed By blatanville [read all by] on May 26th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on Windows

A very nice little filter plugin. Sounds great, and the added ability to "play" the filter's center freq by MIDI notes is very cool. I'm looking forward to the full version coming soon.

Reviewed By blatanville [read all by] on April 22nd, 2021
Version reviewed: 2.0 on Windows.
Last edited by blatanville on 22nd April 2021.

I had played with version 1 a few times, and thought it was an interesting concept and effect.
I'm glad to see that v2 builds on that, while updating the plugin to modern standards (the v1 interface was really tiny on my 4k monitor!).
A suggestion/request, would be to include a legend for the colours of the activated nodes on the sequencer. I can never remember what yellow dots mean vs blue dots, etc.

Reviewed By blatanville [read all by] on July 3rd, 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0.2 on Windows.
Last edited by blatanville on 6th July 2020.

Quick note, after playing with it for a short period.

Well done!

It's got that obvious late-80s digital with analog circuits sound.
The interface seems clear and bonus marks for making it scalable (something I very much look for in a plugin these days, as I have a 4k monitor and 50+ year-old eyes.)
I never had the pleasure of owning a K1 back in the day, but I certainly spent some energy thinking about them.
Now: back to playing.

enjoy.

Reviewed By blatanville [read all by] on August 7th, 2018
Version reviewed: 2.1.1x64 on Windows.
Last edited by blatanville on 7th August 2018.

Chromaphone 2, bears the same, utilitarian face as most of AAS's virtual instruments. And that's fine - they've devised a simple, clear, and useful interface for their wares.
Underneath, and at the speaker end of things, though, this synth is special. It's alive. Really, really alive and responsive (when you take advantage of the possibilities, of course. Read tommyzai's more-comprehensive review if you want more details. I'm "chiming in" here to lend another voice supporting this amazing synthesizer.