Product Reviews
by KVR Members

All reviews by midisax

Review Something
or Find Reviews
Pentagon I [read all reviews]
Reviewed By midisax [read all by] on 12th November 2001
Version reviewed: latest on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Finally a VSTI with the fatness of the memorymoog. This is the analog synth vsti we've all been waiting for.

Not everyone likes the gui but for me its killer, I just love the vibe of those lucite knobs, and it feels like a vintage synth to program.

The sound capabilities, the QUALITY of the sound, are powerful in the extreme.

It sets a new standard for features in a vsti, with unsurpassed midi implementation beyond anything before, its uniquely suited for use with a midisax (wind synth) with its controller range scaling and luxurious choice of pitch bend modes and ranges.

The manual is quite good, and quite detailed. The presets are many and also quite good.

The customer support is the best.

The only VSTI synth that really compares is Reaktor, and i kinda see Reaktor as being more Arp-like and Pentagon 1 being more like a memorymoog or oberheim.

Square I [read all reviews]
Reviewed By midisax [read all by] on 12th September 2001
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
You can check out my review of triangle 1 to get my feelings about the incredible quality of RGC plugins and their steller customer relations.

Square just multiplies the power.
Triangle I [read all reviews]
Reviewed By midisax [read all by] on 12th September 2001
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Perhaps the fattest sounding analog modeled vsti's available now are these new ones from rgc, and I consider this a favorite for use with midisax because of the very smooth mono legato it features and the very smooth filter response. If you look around you'll see very few vsti's have a truly smooth mono legato AND respond to pitch bend and you need that for midisax use, or any true mono lead synth.

RGC is not above working with a customer to get rid of bugs either, rene actually personally contacted me on a problem I was having, and that few if any others were, and fixed it literally overnight. That kind of service is literally the extra mile.
Tau Pro [read all reviews]
Reviewed By midisax [read all by] on 12th September 2001
Version reviewed: newest on Windows.
Last edited by on 7th December 2001.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I bought Tau Pro but was very disappointed when I found it doesnt support pitch bend at all, despite the web site saying full midi.

Seems like a waste of time to implement midi if you are going to leave out huge parts of the spec like pitch bend.

I was assured that pitch bend was easy to add and would be added quickly.

That was about 3 months ago.

After complaining about it here I was suprised to get mail saying that a refund had been issued and i was to destroy all copies I had. Would've been nice to get an initial mail asking me if thats really what i want to do first..

...and yet after all that i'll probably buy it again once pitchbend is added, the tone of it is that good!
BombThatBeat [read all reviews]
Reviewed By midisax [read all by] on 10th September 2001
Version reviewed: 1.2 on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
The updates have solidified this unique and powerful VSTI, its nice to see someone try something different!!
Waldorf Edition: Attack [read all reviews]
Reviewed By midisax [read all by] on 10th September 2001
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Software that makes hardware jealous!
Frequent updates add to the quality. This is the real deal!
Waldorf Edition: PPG Wave 2.V [read all reviews]
Reviewed By midisax [read all by] on 10th September 2001
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
A totally satisfying vsti recreation, definitive!
FMHeaven [read all reviews]
Reviewed By midisax [read all by] on 10th September 2001
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
The first comprehensive FM vsti really, its STILL holding its own as only now are other companies coming out with good FM vsti's
VX7 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By midisax [read all by] on 10th September 2001
Version reviewed: beta on Windows
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Speedsoft take "the other" approach to the yamaha FM series with a mor sy-77 kind of look and feel.

Its good now but with speedsofts continuous support, as they've shown with Vsampler, its only gonna get lots better.

and of course the incredibly low price!
DK1 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By midisax [read all by] on 10th September 2001
Version reviewed: 1.2 on Windows
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Very inexpensive and rock solid stable. A weird but very very powerful midi implementation makes this a drum vsti that keeps its place by offering unique features.