Product Reviews
by KVR Members

All reviews by alienimplant

Review Something
or Find Reviews
SampleTank 4 CS [read all reviews]
Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on 21st March 2020
Version reviewed: 4 on Mac
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Does't impress. Library sounds utterly unconvincing, especially by today's standards. The best parts of ST are still the best parts of version 2.5, namely the Mellotron library and the Stretch algorithm. IK should have invested effort in converting a sampler with potential into a stellar user-based sampling juggernaut rather than adding filler and minimal improvements over version 3, resulting in this disappointing ROMpler. The only plugin I still use from IK is Stealth (which is ironically AMAZING, and I promote it heavily).

SQ8L / SQ8X [read all reviews]
Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on 12th September 2019
Version reviewed: 1.x on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I am a Logic Pro user. I run this plugin in a Vienna Ensemble Pro host in VMware Windows in 32-bit mode on my laptop and trigger it from Logic Pro on my Mac with the VEP AU plugin. It works well. I sure wish the author would release the code and allow it to be updated though. I'd spend a lot for a 64-bit AU. This emulation is impeccable and could not be better designed. I am able to import all presets ever released for ESQ-1 and ESQ-80 via SYSEX. This VST is stellar! I cannot say enough good things about it.

Noize 2 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on 4th September 2019
Version reviewed: 1.x on Mac
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Freaking awesome plugin. Instant mojo for ANY drums. Adds a great deal of analog fairy dust when used wisely. Stereo noise can also be used to widen the drum space. I was so blown away by the free version, I upgraded. To get a feel for what a secret weapon this can really be... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3NHgrST9xDc

NA LoFi Vintage Clipper [read all reviews]
Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on 6th June 2019
Version reviewed: 1 on Mac
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

If you missed this during the free launch sale, it's a bummer. This is the best and most useful simple saturator made so far and well worth the full price. Beats other popular ones by a wide margin.

Manipulator [read all reviews]
Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on 4th April 2019
Version reviewed: 1.x on Mac
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Very few plugins can warp vocals as well as this does. This isn't meant to be a pitch correction plugin that leaves your pretty little vocal otherwise unscathed. Think of it more as a vocoder on steroids. If you are looking for pitch correction, get Melodyne. It's the best. If you are looking for vocal robotics, mind-warping midi-controlled pitch, formant and other changes, this is one of the best plugins out. I've been very happy with it, though I have no illusions about what it is appropriate for. If you're looking for Autotune, move along.

PS: Polyverse put out a couple nice tutorials as well, to break us out of a mental box.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-zgkX15KG0E

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KPcSy01CaxA

Wider [read all reviews]
Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on 3rd April 2019
Version reviewed: 1.x on Mac
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Another great mono-to-stereo effect for the tool box, and the mono-compatibility is excellent. 50-70% mix is enough to get a nice width.

Re-Guitar [read all reviews]
Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on 13th March 2019
Version reviewed: 1.x on Mac.
Last edited by alienimplant on 13th March 2019.
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Uh, this thing is incredible. Watch the video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wK7xSpQ6Wqg. Basically, multiply the number of guitars you have by at least 10. Using this in tandem with my favorite amp (Neural DSP NTS), cab (IK Amplitube cabs), and combos (UAD Fender & Marshall) sims... is a bit too much fun. Grab it while it's still 30% off during the intro sale.

REDDI [read all reviews]
Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on 11th March 2019
Version reviewed: 1.x on Mac.
Last edited by alienimplant on 11th March 2019.
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This thing is astounding. It has already saved numerous mastering jobs when the kick and bass stems have been anemic. I'm blown away. Just stunning on bass, kicks and anything else in need of low-end fullness and beauty. Bravo Kush! Bravo.

Subspace [read all reviews]
Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on 11th March 2019
Version reviewed: 1.x on Mac
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Sometimes you just need to put a digital plugin in a realistic space, without a bunch of fuss. This is a useful plugin at zero cost.

Electrix - Rare Electric Piano [read all reviews]
Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on 11th March 2019
Version reviewed: 1.x on Mac.
Last edited by alienimplant on 11th March 2019.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I've been extremely satisfied with Spectrasonics Keyscape for most of my electric keyboard needs (best Rhodes by a long shot), but Sampleson surprised me with this Electrix offering. It adds something unique instead of trying to compete with Keyscape. Electrix sounds gorgeous to me.