1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. User Reviews

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by alienimplant

Review Something or Find Reviews

Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on 28th January 2021
Version reviewed: 1 on Mac.
Last edited by alienimplant on 28th January 2021.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This should have a 5-star rating, hands down. It is ridiculously powerful, with an intuitive and efficient interface. People I've told about this synth, who actually use it, love it... as do I.

Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on 14th November 2020
Version reviewed: 4 on Mac.
Last edited by alienimplant on 14th November 2020.
0 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

If you are seeking a good MIDI DAW for virtual instruments, forget about it. Reaper sucks for that. Just simply looping on the grid is a nightmare. If you just need a recording DAW that is super flexible in other ways, it's more than up to the task.

Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on 6th November 2020
Version reviewed: 2 on Mac
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I freakin' love this plugin. With so many tape plugins out these days, it's difficult to stand out. Well... Aberrant solved that problem with its trademark take on GUIs. But there is much more than meets the eye. This plugin sounds amazing, grants full control over how much or little an effect that's needed, and stands up to the competition (most of which I also own). I find myself going to this plugin again and again when I need to de-sterilize a track and throw some funk at it. It does wonders for hi-hats, synths, you name it. It just works.

Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on 15th June 2020
Version reviewed: 1 on Mac
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Sounds fabulous, and it's free. What more could you want? Using it in Logic Pro. Has a rich sound to it. I've got a lot of virtual organs, and this one still has its own charm.

Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on 21st March 2020
Version reviewed: 4 on Mac
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Does't impress. Library sounds utterly unconvincing, especially by today's standards. The best parts of ST are still the best parts of version 2.5, namely the Mellotron library and the Stretch algorithm. IK should have invested effort in converting a sampler with potential into a stellar user-based sampling juggernaut rather than adding filler and minimal improvements over version 3, resulting in this disappointing ROMpler. The only plugin I still use from IK is Stealth (which is ironically AMAZING, and I promote it heavily).

Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on 12th September 2019
Version reviewed: 1.x on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I am a Logic Pro user. I run this plugin in a Vienna Ensemble Pro host in VMware Windows in 32-bit mode on my laptop and trigger it from Logic Pro on my Mac with the VEP AU plugin. It works well. I sure wish the author would release the code and allow it to be updated though. I'd spend a lot for a 64-bit AU. This emulation is impeccable and could not be better designed. I am able to import all presets ever released for ESQ-1 and ESQ-80 via SYSEX. This VST is stellar! I cannot say enough good things about it.

Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on 4th September 2019
Version reviewed: 1.x on Mac
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Freaking awesome plugin. Instant mojo for ANY drums. Adds a great deal of analog fairy dust when used wisely. Stereo noise can also be used to widen the drum space. I was so blown away by the free version, I upgraded. To get a feel for what a secret weapon this can really be... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3NHgrST9xDc

Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on 6th June 2019
Version reviewed: 1 on Mac
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

If you missed this during the free launch sale, it's a bummer. This is the best and most useful simple saturator made so far and well worth the full price. Beats other popular ones by a wide margin.

Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on 4th April 2019
Version reviewed: 1.x on Mac
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Very few plugins can warp vocals as well as this does. This isn't meant to be a pitch correction plugin that leaves your pretty little vocal otherwise unscathed. Think of it more as a vocoder on steroids. If you are looking for pitch correction, get Melodyne. It's the best. If you are looking for vocal robotics, mind-warping midi-controlled pitch, formant and other changes, this is one of the best plugins out. I've been very happy with it, though I have no illusions about what it is appropriate for. If you're looking for Autotune, move along.

PS: Polyverse put out a couple nice tutorials as well, to break us out of a mental box.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-zgkX15KG0E

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KPcSy01CaxA

Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on 3rd April 2019
Version reviewed: 1.x on Mac
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Another great mono-to-stereo effect for the tool box, and the mono-compatibility is excellent. 50-70% mix is enough to get a nice width.