Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. User Reviews

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by alienimplant

Review Something or Find Reviews

Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on October 14th, 2021
Version reviewed: 12 on Mac

Hunk of junk. Actually makes a bass sound fake and strangely more dynamic in a weird way. Use a compressor.

Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on October 13th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1 on Mac

I'm not that much into IK's recent offerings, but the Stealth Limiter and Sunset Sound Studio Reverb are notable exceptions. I'm using SSSR a ton lately. It's an efficient workflow with great sounding rooms, plates, and chambers.

Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on June 10th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1 on Mac.
Last edited by alienimplant on 10th June 2021.

I'm surprised how good it sounds as a bus compressor (tested it with a synth+delay and drums). I checked it out in PluginDoctor and noticed there's a high-end roll-off beyond 10k, but it's a really nice sound. Just have to keep in mind that there is EQ happening.

Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on June 2nd, 2021
Version reviewed: 1 on Mac

Not worth paying for. I love BBE's Maximizer plugins, especially Harmonic Maximizer, but these pedals leave a lot to be desired. When compared to other similar virtual pedals by other developers, they rank pretty low in my book.

Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on May 9th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1 on Mac.
Last edited by alienimplant on 9th May 2021.

The best $19 you will ever spend on your mastering chain. I like this better than the $150 Perception plugin (which I also own). It's faster with a simpler intuitive UI. Further, this plugin offers groups and thus can be used throughout a mix session. It might even double as a vocal rider by putting the source plugin on a steady oscillator (with no output). Very cool plugin, giving me some interesting ideas beyond what it was made for. Don't forget to check under the hood; there is a ton of great tweaks behind the gear icon.

Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on March 16th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1 on Mac.
Last edited by alienimplant on 16th March 2021.

I'm not a fan most of the free amp sims on the market, but this is a notable exception. I heard demos of the Marshall Lead 12 amp and was really taken with it (video below). When the L12X was released, I didn't realize it was a copy of the Marshall Lead 12 or else hadn't been exposed to the real one yet. I just tested this plugin and it warmed my heart. It's dry as dirt when you load it, so of course add some room verb if you want to experience it in a room and rival the sound in the real amp demo. But the distortion quality of this amp sim, even on the default setting, impressed me immediately.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uIYbIihwH1Q

Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on January 28th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1 on Mac.
Last edited by alienimplant on 28th January 2021.

This should have a 5-star rating, hands down. It is ridiculously powerful, with an intuitive and efficient interface. People I've told about this synth, who actually use it, love it... as do I.

Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on November 14th, 2020
Version reviewed: 4 on Mac.
Last edited by alienimplant on 14th November 2020.

If you are seeking a good MIDI DAW for virtual instruments, forget about it. Reaper sucks for that. Just simply looping on the grid is a nightmare. If you just need a recording DAW that is super flexible in other ways, it's more than up to the task.

Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on November 6th, 2020
Version reviewed: 2 on Mac

I freakin' love this plugin. With so many tape plugins out these days, it's difficult to stand out. Well... Aberrant solved that problem with its trademark take on GUIs. But there is much more than meets the eye. This plugin sounds amazing, grants full control over how much or little an effect that's needed, and stands up to the competition (most of which I also own). I find myself going to this plugin again and again when I need to de-sterilize a track and throw some funk at it. It does wonders for hi-hats, synths, you name it. It just works.

Reviewed By alienimplant [read all by] on June 15th, 2020
Version reviewed: 1 on Mac

Sounds fabulous, and it's free. What more could you want? Using it in Logic Pro. Has a rich sound to it. I've got a lot of virtual organs, and this one still has its own charm.

Connecting the past with the future: An interview with Michelle Moog-KoussaPeter Neub├Ącker: A deep appreciation of musical instruments and a fascination with the science of soundA different approach to MPE control: An interview with moForte's Pat Scandalis