Product Reviews
by KVR Members

All reviews by bobbz

Review Something
or Find Reviews
NyquistEq [read all reviews]
Reviewed By bobbz [read all by] on 6th April 2019
Version reviewed: 1.00 on Windows.
Last edited by bobbz on 6th April 2019.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Wow, this has been a very slow burner for me. I have had it for many years, used it only occasionally, but always preferred the "proper" EQs with decibels for gain and reduction and Frequencies to know where to cut or boost.

For some reason it popped into my head a few days ago when to some tweaking to a finished track on a problem sound which just never sounded "right". When I played it back later that night. OMG, the sound of the channels I had it on sounded so much more defined and clear. All the problem resonances were gone, I was gobsmacked. I have used it on several more tunes with the same results.

It has dawned on me why it works so well................ because when we are cutting or boosting frequencies, we tend to rely on our thinking mind as to which band of the sound needs fixing, and we cut by a fixed amount and often wary of going over ... in dbs... what we think is right. The genius of doing it "blind" like this plug-in, is that we work with our ears not our eyes and logic. I have no idea how much I am cutting or boosting or what precise frequency it is, I just know by the sound when it is right.

Now don't get me wrong, this is not a be all and end all EQ, but from now on it will always find a place in my music as maybe the final stage to get a sound perfect in the mix after other EQs etc.

Thank you very much indeed Smart Electronix for this amazing free plug in .

Tape Echo GS-201 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By bobbz [read all by] on 22nd November 2018
Version reviewed: 1.1.3 on Windows.
Last edited by bobbz on 22nd November 2018.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Excellent delay Echo/Reverb unit, especially if you are after 70s type sounds. I had used it on a dub Reggae track I am working on, but forgot about it. While playing the track back later on, I was quite taken by how good and authentic the Dub vocal sounded, and had to open up the project to see what VST I had used............. yes it was this one. It is basic, but it does what it is supposed to do perfectly, that is why I gave it 5 stars.

Stereo Tools [read all reviews]
Reviewed By bobbz [read all by] on 20th August 2017
Version reviewed: v0.1 on Windows
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Invaluable small tool for pan, widening, channel swapping, mono-ing............ just perfect. I use it on every song I do.

Phutura [read all reviews]
Reviewed By bobbz [read all by] on 30th January 2016
Version reviewed: XP on Windows.
Last edited by bobbz on 30th January 2016.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This is a fantastic emulation of the Roland Alpha Juno. It is quite simple regarding features, but perfect if you just need the basic sounds. Terrific for pads, strings and 80s type lead sounds. I had it a few years ago but foolishly thought it was only good for making "Hoover" rave sounds ................ oh boy was I wrong. You can get some great Blade Runner and Casio tones, crazy FX and eerie wobbly Boards of Canada sounds as well. I also like that it does not try to sound overly Analogue, and it is the digital tone that gives the pads etc. an "otherworldly" feel.

And yes, the Hoover sounds are awesome lol .

PS. The patches and sound banks by the KVR users are fantastic, well done guys .

Amplio [read all reviews]
Reviewed By bobbz [read all by] on 30th December 2015
Version reviewed: XP on Windows.
Last edited by bobbz on 30th December 2015.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Just exactly what "overhishead" said in the first comment, totally amazing plug in...... free or otherwise. Thank you VST Zone !!.

U.F.O. Zone Edition [read all reviews]
Reviewed By bobbz [read all by] on 30th December 2015
Version reviewed: XP on Windows.
Last edited by bobbz on 30th December 2015.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

For a freebie this a huge sounding synth. Very usable presets to get you going, lots of modulation capabilities, great FX ................ and better than the previous version, which was also amazing but had some minor annoying bugs. I love it ! Thank you VST Zone ..................... Oh and check out Amplio by these guys.... awesome reverb, distortion and much more.

MinimogueVA [read all reviews]
Reviewed By bobbz [read all by] on 26th April 2015
Version reviewed: xp on Windows
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This VST is simply amazing ! Full fat realistic analog sound, and works in mono or polyphonic stereo modes. It does everything from weird FX to superfat basses to screaming distorted leeads to wonky BOCanada type pads and grungy drones. I was seriously thinking about forking out for a new hardwear analogue synth (I know the difference is the hands on factor and warm fat analogue sound), but after playing with this I cannot justify paying out 100s of £s when this does just about everything I want, with more waveshapes, oscillators, arp, gate, polyphony, FX and routing than I could ever afford in a hardwear synth.

No problems with it at all in Cubase SX or thru Cantabile lite.

To my ears, it sounds more analog than the other Minimoogs on sale.

Kudos to the developer, you have made a true VST classic........................ and it's free !!.

NAMM 2020 Report