Product Reviews
by KVR Members

All reviews by capracan

Review Something
or Find Reviews
Aparillo [read all reviews]
Reviewed By capracan [read all by] on 2nd December 2019
Version reviewed: 1.0.3 on Windows
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Das ist wirklich unglaublich geil, was Sugar Bytes hier gekocht hat.

Wer den Coder dahinter etwas kennt weiß um sein fable für complexe Synths, die sich in seinen Plugins widerspiegeln. Mit Aparillo, welch seltsamer Name, hat der Code-Künstler einen cineastischen-textural-formant-FM Synth erschaffen, der sich ohne Tutorial zwar experimentell gut bedienen lässt, aber erst nach etwas Übung auch spezifische Sounds erzeugen kann. Der Aha-Effekt bleibt beim probieren nicht aus.

Die Presets überzeugen spontan und durch die Leichtigkeit diese zu verändern, macht es anfänglich schon einen "heidenspaß". Nach dem kurzweiligen studieren der Möglichkeiten kann man kaum noch die Finger davon lassen. Der Orbiter lässt den Sound, in einer 3D anmutenden Matrix zu allen Effekten zuordnen. Die Effekte sind Reverb, Delay, Filter, das bloße aufzählen ist hier keinesfalls abwertend gemeint. Von Sugar Bytes ist man Qualität gewohnt.

Der Arpeggiator ist fantastisch, wer hat schon mal von "chaotisch-kollidierende Rhytmik" gehört?

Ich will nicht zu viel verraten nur...Enjoy that as Demo und lass dich überzeugen.

Bis 5.12.2019 kost alles 20€ weniger .

https://sugar-bytes.de/products

Cheers*.

Lith [read all reviews]
Reviewed By capracan [read all by] on 21st July 2019
Version reviewed: 2.0.2 on Windows.
Last edited by capracan on 4th October 2019.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I'm glad, there is an Update. Nice to see evolution process.

Now the way better GUI is resizable. Looks better and smoother.

The sound and the modulation are very good...as we know.

Drag and draw for underscored text makes editing easy...very good...like it.

Issues/ ideas:

  • to see the different Sections is still not very easy, but i am hopefully (little ideas below).
  • minor clicks when playing with the relative strange Envelopes (attack and decay), dont know why, quality and render is on 4, but cranking decay to an envelope edge/spike it clicks while playing.
  • envelope/ filter visuals can be out of visible range, best to see if AR down DS up, or gain and multiplier of Filters is up.
  • the border around the plugin is unnecessary, just thinking.
  • knob resets with double click, like other plugins would be nice.
  • presets BASS/BASS 2, if changing quality over x1, the sound goes quite (its the replaced actual presets folder).
  • rendering seems to have no effect hearable effect ???
  • you can really crank that volume (gain, resonance) up and can possible damage the ears.
  • some Textparts are a bit too blurry, especially when increase the size of the Plugin.

2 Align/ Design Ideas just 4 fun (Unfortunately, I can not edit plugins as I wanted):

https://i.ibb.co/CBf6hZr/lith-1.png
https://i.ibb.co/LhHvTRj/lith-2.png.

Regards.

--- --- --- --- ---

Bitwig 3 64.

Win 7 64.

Lith 1.0.0 VST3.

---

Hi, i like that color and that sound too, that sub-basses are nice.

There nice possibilities to tweak sounds, waiting also for the new update of Lith.

I am with Zipede that need tweaks at the GUI. i read about u will realize it.

Here some other points:

- To see the different sections it needs a bit visual help. from left to right signal flow could be a idea. (still in 2.0.2).

- that mouse over flickering is not too bad but inverse that fx is maybe better. (obsolete better in 2.0.2).

- activated buttons are bad visible if an param is highlighted. (now better in 2.0.2).

- find out wich paraneter can switch is not visibe, like "osc mode" or "sub mode".

- if LFO synced, we see just Hz as a feedback, not 1/4 2/8 etc... (better in 2.0.2).

- the Sound Quality of LOW is too bad with crackle and noises, not useable. (better in 2.0.2).

- basic setup on normal quality should be nice, or free choose.(better solved in 2.0.2).

- I miss a kind of randomisation for parameters, if somebody is boring to tweak. (not found in 2.0.2).

- switching presets with arrow needs a magnifying glas. scroll and click presets can be nice. (not sure, but is okay in 2.0.2).

- there is much un-used place, use it;).

Great Project and thank you for its free for this time...

Cheers.

Atlantis [read all reviews]
Reviewed By capracan [read all by] on 4th January 2019
Version reviewed: 0.9.p on Windows.
Last edited by capracan on 5th January 2019.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

A Update of Atlantis in 2018, but so minor...WHY? No Money i will send u some Bucks :D.

But COOL there is LIFE in Jeremy...

This Plugin i awesome, sounds great, looks simple (Tracker GUI), i LOVE, i mean really i love, the random function, EVER Plugin should have...

Its a very nice IDEA to adjust the Modulator strenght and direction/ inverse on the Value Faders, and more...cool at all.

The Sound, Filters and Modulations is/are very good. Import own Wavform ist AWESOME, i not trying, but it isn't a Sampler.

Its a free 32-bit Plugin you can Donate for it, instant i will do/ try, will check out if paypal possible...

But then i want to have some:

  • better GUI (Jim do it very well, of course, and there a SKINS i want to check out).
  • # in fact its better to switch presets via arrows not via browser.
  • # description of params should have a better font, maybe fixed by other Skins?!? Will check it.
  • # Random Button can just be a Dice (also fixable via Skins?).
  • # Oscilloscope is maybe obsolete or can have some settings, like zoom (like u-he bazille).
  • S1 should be FX (S1 for Shapers, I would never have thought of that.).
  • Delay Window with 2 followed Filters is NICE, DLY should a bit "easier", its a nice idea with the interactive GFX, but useablitiy is bit annoyoing/ complicated, i think.
  • A bit more adjust possibilities for Filters and FX.
  • I think u can make it a little bit smaller.
  • Reset Faders via double click.
  • The Red ACTIVE-Feedback on Buttons can maybe a small Dot or Bar (maybe per skin fixed-able).
  • 64-bit support.

At some Points you talking about since V.0.9.j (Manual, should be updated).

A little Hint in FAQ:

Need more LFO? Use Bitwig ! Every Parameter can be controlled via Bitwig Modulators .

OKAY, thats all.

Expectent Regards.

C.

Bitwig Studio [read all reviews]
Reviewed By capracan [read all by] on 9th September 2018
Version reviewed: 2.3.5 on Windows.
Last edited by capracan on 9th September 2018.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Das Rating ist so, weil ich es für mich in dem Umfang nutzen kann, ohne größere Defizite zu haben. Weiterhin, weil auch die Lizenzphilosophie für mich aktuell okay ist. Die Bitwigger leisten sehr gute Arbeit auch mit der Community, die wirklich schnell gewachsen ist. Natürlich hat jeder Newcomer seine kleinen Defizite, doch ich bin sehr optimistisch, dass da noch einiges gutes ansteht.

Ich habe seit Jahren FL benutzt. Die losen Fenster, die grafischen Dinge vor allem, sind leider nicht schön. Dinge, die man auch nicht einfach modifizieren kann. Seit Bitwig als Nebenspieler zu Ableton, hat mich dann doch sehr überzeugt, eine andere Strategie zu versuchen und mich nicht mit dem umherschieben der Fenster zu beschäftigen. Wer schon mal eine DAW unter den Fingern hatte, wird relativ intuitive mit Bitwig arbeiten können. Sicher war es in FL auch nicht so kompliziert. Ich bin fähig mit allen DAW's wenigstens die Basics zu verstehen, da ich fast alle probiert habe. Somit war Bitwig kein Problem. Ich kenne DAW's die sind da anders.

Als nun Bitwig ins Haus kam, konnte ich relativ fehlerfrei meine Plugins implementieren, 32 und 64-bit, meine Samples einfügen und schon loslegen. Super einfach, mit geringem Grundwissen über das Programm. Die feste Struktur und GUI macht es sehr einfach Überblick zu bekommen und zu behalten. Die Chains sind wirklich wahnsinnig hilfreich, wenn man Effekt-Ketten hinter seinen Synthies legt. Das Anreihen von Tools ist einfach und übersichtlich. Und alles in einer Chain-Datei speicherbar. Somit hat man immer das komplette Paket und kann seine favorisierten Sounds jederzeit finden und wieder benutzen. Jedes Plugin wird in eine Bitwig-Eigene Form gebracht, die nur aus Knöpfen besteht, somit muss die GUI des Plugins nicht offen sein. Leider kann diese Knopf-Liste unangenehm lang werden, wo man sich gerne mal eine zweite oder dritte Reihe wünscht. Jedes Plugin startet in einer Sandbox, somit muss man bei Fehlern nicht das Programm neu starten, sondern nur das Plugin. Super .

Warum ich nicht Ableton nahm? Ich habe Ableton probiert, kam damit klar konnte es mir aber nicht leisten. Der Reiz des neuen hatte mich auch fasziniert und außerdem hat Ableton genug Nutzer, weswegen ich mich auch wirtschaftlich gesehen lieber für Bitwig entschied, das war kein Fehler. Die 12 Monatslizenz mag ein wenig unangenehm sein, aber wer es sich leisten kann und die Updatedate-Philosophie bisher okay fand wird gerne ein paar Credits für den next level sh*** hinlegen. Bitwig ist wirklich gut im Rennen und steht den anderen DAWs, bis auf wenige Dingen, in nichts nach. Es gibt da draußen sicher Musiker und Experten die evtl. spezielle Anforderungen haben, die Bitwig noch nicht erfüllen konnte oder erst noch wird, doch für mich reicht das zurzeit völlig aus, um komplexe Beats zu bauen in einem angenehmen Arbeitstempo.

Go Go Bitwig u have my Voice.

Cheers.

capracan/c.a.p./NOWISM.

Strum [read all reviews]
Reviewed By capracan [read all by] on 30th January 2016
Version reviewed: 7 on Windows
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Strum is another very smart and easy to use Plugin with flat simple graphics and special sound modifiers. 2 OSC with some basic Wavforms including Vibrato and simple Envelope Setting for Strings...the Sound is always good and for typical 303 basslines too...a small Tool with much specific possiblilities you will not much find in other Tools, a great work from Ladislav's VSTZone. The Filter Section with Modulation-Algorhythms works good for Strings with spice and arpeggiated Pianos too. For a Free Tools simply awesome.

What do you think? Give Ladislav some Feedback, he will need to know what you think.

Next Time we will see a different kind of Pitchshifter- and Frequency-Shifter-FX from him, with mostly non regulary modifier surprises...

to wait in suspense...

*capracan*.

DAW: FLStudio 12.2.