Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by AoPenguix

Review Something
or Find Reviews
AME [read all reviews]
Reviewed By AoPenguix [read all by] on 1st June 2016
Version reviewed: 2.3.1 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

very good budget guitar. I needed some time to get used to the CapoMan (hand simulation) though. Also as any other Ample Sound guitars this plugin doesn't like bridging and crashes my FL Studio in the moment I touch bender or doesn't load at all but it is available in 32 and 64-bit versions so this in no problem. I'm also experiencing a guitar holding notes on its own during chord playback sometimes.

Great things about this instrument - it uses very little RAM. Has stereo doubling with regulation of width. Auto or manual vibrato with mod wheel, Solo mode.

I can't compare it with other guitars because I don't own any but I'm pleased with this plugin.

Orchestral Companion Strings [read all reviews]
Reviewed By AoPenguix [read all by] on 24th May 2016
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows.
Last edited by AoPenguix on 27th November 2016.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I bought in on pluginboutique for half the normal price but I have mixed feelings now, Sound quality is good but:

  • uses huge ammount of RAM ~1GB (For full ensemble - the samples are uncompressed).
  • no panning controls.
  • they say: 'Keyboard mod wheel swells volume for intense dynamics' - mod wheel does absolutely nothing.
  • no vibrato.
RBXL [read all reviews]
Reviewed By AoPenguix [read all by] on 22nd May 2016
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on Windows.
Last edited by AoPenguix on 26th May 2016.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

The best 10$ I could spend on a synth. Easy to use with many features and beautiful interface. 2 oscillators produce basic saw, square, triangle and sine waveforms which can be further edited in OSC tab. Has all basic FX (Reverb, delay, chorus, phaser) 4 voice unison, 16 step arpeggiator 16 step gate, 3 envelopes (main + 2 customizable) 2 LFOs, 3-band EQ and few more things.Interface is very clear, window size is perfect for my screen and there are few UI skins to choose.

I have just bought it and already love it. It's exactly what I was looking for - simple subtractive synth with all basic features to use along with my other favourite synths like GMS and Harmless. The program bank is rather small though (65 presets).

Sytrus [read all reviews]
Reviewed By AoPenguix [read all by] on 26th February 2016
Version reviewed: 2.6.73 on Windows.
Last edited by AoPenguix on 27th February 2016.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Sytrus is a monster but a cute monster.

It's both powerful and gentle with CPU. It features crazy amount of controls with 6 oscillators each with own envelopes, LFOs and panning, 3 filters also with own envelopes and LFOs, Sytrus is quite old but it doesn't feel that at all. It has a great feature which allows to easily create any waveform and save is as wav. file so it can be used with other synths. It also comes with large amount of presets and is included in FL Studio producer edition and up.

summary:

pros:

  • too many to count (・ω ・).

cons:

  • NO LEGATO MODE?
  • no distortion/compression FX.
  • window size is VERY small and It's hard to see so UI scaling option would be great /_ (>_<) (I use 720p monitor and It's already hard to see).
DirectWave [read all reviews]
Reviewed By AoPenguix [read all by] on 26th February 2016
Version reviewed: 1.6.8 on Windows.
Last edited by AoPenguix on 12th June 2016.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

DirectWave - Image-Line's advanced sampler.

It's simple and easy to use. Has a very low CPU usage. Equipped with 2 filters, 2 LFOs, 2 envelopes and basic effects.

It has built-in unique VST Sampler tool which allows to create wav. samples program from any preset of any VST generator.

summary:

pros:

  • low CPU usage.
  • awesome VST Sampler tool
  • built-in effects.

cons:

  • a little outdated interface.
  • lack of factory programs.

HOWEVER this plugin can also open SF2 and sfz files and allows easy edition of these programs. I got a lot of great instruments thanks to that.

The only thing I don't like is that it allows to load multiple programs but doesn't allow layering them - every multi program is locked to one MIDI chennel.

Harmless [read all reviews]
Reviewed By AoPenguix [read all by] on 26th February 2016
Version reviewed: 1.0.29 on Windows.
Last edited by AoPenguix on 1st June 2016.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Harmless is like a little sister to Image-Line flagship synth - Harmor.

'She' is additive yet easy to use and is great for stunning organ sounds, loud wobble basses, supersaws and plucked sounds.

It has pretty color grouped one tab UI. Although built-in timbre shape amount is small you can load any waveform you want.

Harmless is equipped with basic effects including reverb, delay, chorus, and compression that can be used all at once.

Amount of factory presets isn't stunning but good enough.

Summary:

Pros:

  • Low price (Included in FL Studio Signature Bundle).
  • very clean sound.
  • easy to use additive synthesis with nice UI.
  • basic FX, equalizer, unison.
  • can load any waveform.

Cons:

  • only one filter and LFO (although many knobs can be assigned to it).
  • lack of polyphony limiting option (big CPU usage with unison and long release time).
  • lack of built-in plugin browser.

I personally love this synth and it was main reason why I upgraded my FL to signature bundle.

Hardcore [read all reviews]
Reviewed By AoPenguix [read all by] on 31st January 2016
Version reviewed: 1.1.1 on Windows.
Last edited by AoPenguix on 27th February 2016.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I love Image-Line plugins and FL Studio but this is plugin I cannot recommend. The CPU usage is horrible and goes to 40% of my CPU.
There is only one pedal of every type (total 12) The cabinets have no controls at all and the sound quality is bad compared to Guitar Rig 5.
I would rather recommend buying Komplete Elements with 25 euro coupon and Rammfire (Total 73 euro for 9 amps, 6 distortion pedals, 4 delay pedals, 20 cabinets + Rammfire control room and more) than this 89 euro + VAT poor piece of guitar effects.