Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. User Reviews

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by Spe3D

Review Something or Find Reviews

Reviewed By Spe3D [read all by] on January 22nd, 2004
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by Spe3D on 22nd January 2004.
Hi! White Noise Additive synth is just the ticket to make some really far out and groovy pads and for adding strange evolving texture to your (mine) musical experience.

I personally enjoy this synth because it's an additive that is focusing on the use of image import for both of its OSC and filters. Each OSC (there are two) can import a 128x128 pixle 8-bit greyscale image or (in my case I prefer) a colour uncompressed 128x128 pixle 24-bit image. Now once the image is in the OSC window there is a heap of interesting things that can be done with it (for one the user can use the paint tools in Additive to fine tune a picture by painting directly on the image in the OSC window), time line can be run from left to right (and back) at any speed the user wants = the facitlity to make very smooth long evolving pads or as choppy as hell speedy hits.

The very lower part of the image is the lowest of the tone so having images in the OSC windows there make for a nice base to work with if you are looking for rich deep sounds, the higher up the image you go the more high the sound will become. It's easy to merge the two OSC windows together via the mod matrix or by using the mix slider plus detuning the OSC is a breeze.

There are a ton of features on this synth all of which play an important part for programming if you wish to obtain the best this synth can offer – you are going to need to learn about their features and experiment to see what each section does either by importing one of the many many images that are available already for it or by dissecting one of the many patches (and they just keep getting more) at the time of writing there are 250 presets available to registered users demonstrating well what this synth can do and close to a 1000 images in bmp format that I know of. Also it can import .raw files and these come with the synth following various shapes and sounds. Currently the banks only hold 16 presets at a time (it’s easy to load patch banks though) – this is something that will be addressed for the next update.

It has a unison mode – fm – rm and its additive – something to keep in mind with ‘unison mode enabled (above one)’ is the cpu will go up if you put too many (2+ depending on the other effects and polyphony) - but the overall cpu use with one unison enabled is surprisingly good, this is a 128 partial additive (per OSC) I am using FL Studio with 2.6gig AMD – 512 MB ram and Windows 2000 SP4 and I can easily add more than one instance of Additive to my projects and still have CPU resources left for other stuff.

Actually I could write about this for hours so all I can say is try the demo and experiment – if you are looking to make some new and evolving different sounds this is just the ticket for you – its fun – stable – well supported by its developer both here on the forums and by email – evolving in development – cost effective for what it offers and I recommend you try it.

Have fun, Spe3d :O)

Edit reason: Spelling
Reviewed By Spe3D [read all by] on January 2nd, 2004
Version reviewed: 1.04 on Windows.
Last edited by Spe3D on 8th April 2004.
This is a real craft – time has been taken at every stage of the process to get it where it is now – and it really does show.

The design and layout of the user interface make it deceptively easy to use – I am not an expert in re-synthesis but I sure feel like one after getting a very good sounding patch in about a quarter of an hour later when first brining the instrument into a new project – its that easy. In fact it has an easy setting page for controlling some of the most important aspects of playability.

Morphing between instruments can be done on a matrix very simply or over a time line envelope not only that you can press a button to randomly alter the morphing setting for you to get quick and sometimes unexpected results – it’s another quick way to learn just how powerful this instrument is – an believe me when you see and hear the effects that you can get from morphing you will never want to go back to anything else.

The manual is very well laid out – worth a read, though you probably wont need it, the presets are about as good as you can get – excellent in fact and on top of that the inbuilt effects are very good too (particularly for bass as you would expect from Camel)

I think it can sound very warm – smooth even, every part of the sound can be altered – this is where things can get very interesting if you want it to – you have the capabilities with this synth to make something no one has had a chance to listen to ever = the most fascinating part of an additive synth.

TenCrazy have developed an application for creating voice files too, this is an exciting part that maybe one day built directly into Cameleon – but for now it is as a separate free application for converting 64x128 greyscale images into sound = very cool.

I will keep this review short – I just wanted to write quickly that this is one very special development that I think you should give it a try to see why. Hear it for yourself – play with the instrument and be as amazed as I.

Above all have fun,

Best regards,

Spe3d

:O)

EDIT:

A small update to this review here:

http://dspevo.com/Harmony_Counterpoint/

In the review section (copy and paste the link)
Reviewed By Spe3D [read all by] on June 11th, 2003
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows
Hi!

I got this a while ago at version 1.0 useful and often used one in my collection. Included presets are… well put another way there are some cracking good ones to download in the patch area here if you want to see this synth at its best.

Small tweaks big differences, nice big lofty full and rich bass, that’s its real strong point (as it should be) and cuts through the mix very well.

Lovely bit of Virtual Nostalgia that’s is going to be the Software classic of the future ;)

It’s good value for money and well worth the addition to any one wanting a really rich sounding bass line.

Rock Solid Stability,

Cool stuff,

Spe3d
:O)
Reviewed By Spe3D [read all by] on June 9th, 2003
Version reviewed: 1.5 on Windows.
Last edited by Spe3D on 17th June 2003.
*****I decided to make an edit to this, well a complete rewrite due to the most recent update, ok Jzero it’s more than a one trick now. Also I forgot to mention the effects that come as a separate addition too, Cool*****

Hi!

I am now reviewing version 1.5.

I was notified of the update through an email sent from the company with clear instructions on download. Complete with a list of fixed items and a link to a new bank of patches.

Also nice clear instructions on how to contact the company in case of any bugs or issues with the software.

The update was free and uninstalling and then installing the update went smoothly as with entering my s/number.

GUI to my eyes looks much clearer plus changing the wave shapes and patches went without a hitch.

Sound of the pads this synth can emit sound rich with a smooth and evolving glide, quite a pleasant experience.

This is very tweakable, plus has a custom patch generator; you will need to download it to see what I mean. It’s quite unique.

The cpu load has been improved but you will still need to watch your max polyphony.

So I can say this synth works as it should and sounds pretty good to me. Thanks for the update MHC, it’s a good one.

Give the demo a go, its fun.

Spe3d

:O)
Reviewed By Spe3D [read all by] on June 9th, 2003
Version reviewed: 1.21 on Windows.
Last edited by Spe3D on 26th June 2003.
Hi!

As with all of rgc audio synths this is no exception = Class, quality and the constant strive for perfection, heck René gets to the point of perfection with all of his synths including the sound patches.

Now I have had this a while now and I can really recommend this synth, it really is value for money.

It’s a case of pure customer satisfaction another of the few developers that put the customer first every time all of the time. Just take a look at the support forum here send an email and see how quick its answered complete with helpful and to the point advice.

Sound quality is mind blowing for the money, really you have to hear it to believe it, there are so many features that to enable the display of the synth to remain the size its currently shipped in, has knobs that double up with more than one function. This is indicated in another colour.

Due to the ability to skin this synth :O) there are now many variations to choose from,

Rock solid stability and ample documentation.

Real good stuff, Great fun, super sound, one of a kind.

Spe3d
:O)

Edit corrected spelling ;)
Reviewed By Spe3D [read all by] on June 9th, 2003
Version reviewed: 2.5 on Windows.
Last edited by Spe3D on 23rd June 2003.
I got a feeling that my reviews are becoming dynamic :O)

After much poking around with this synth I have discovered hidden depths, the sound is not quite on par with today’s market power synths but that’s not to say some good use can come from it, the sound can be rich and has a kind of unique Rainbow quality.

The Gui is a tad large, but dead easy to use, about as easy as a gui can get. If you want something basic to program this is it. The onboard chorus comes in handy and patch loading is a simple right click away. In fact most of the hidden features are.

Value for money, well its would be different things to different people, if you want simplicity this would be good value, but if you want something that’s going to take you further into the future I would reconsider for a bit.

So to sum up give the demo a go, you won’t be doing yourself any favours by not at least tying it. If you can think of anything you would like to see improved or added or even want to voice off how great you find it, try looking here in the BigTick support forum.

Have fun

Spe3d

:O)
Reviewed By Spe3D [read all by] on June 9th, 2003
Version reviewed: 2.04 on Windows
Hi!

I do not write many reviews but thought I would state a few opinions now I got a bit of free time to do so on a few selected synths, nice and short to the point kind of thing.

Well this is one synth I am happy to write about, yep! Its one of those biased reviews due to the excellence of the CronoX version 2.04 its self.

GUI is clear and combined with the adequate (plus simple to understand) documentation I was up and running in no time. It offers ample factory presets as well as a user bank that can be downloaded from the LinPlug website also I noticed when I was there the option to buy more presets. But…

The opportunity to abuse this synth is perverse with the two generator slots that each have one of four options, loading a wave or a loop sample is where the real fun starts, so if you are anything like me and enjoy the option to explore sound this is one real quick way of achieving off the wall brilliance.

Stability is rock solid as is the support. This company is among the few of real look after the customer kind. There is a support forum and emails are replied to (in ample time) upgrades are cost effective as well as the cost of the synth to start with.

Try the demo, you do not know what you are missing and the longer you leave trying it the more you will come to regret it when you do (like heck I should have tried this earlier…. kind of thing)

Have fun

Spe3d
:O)

Tested in FL Studio Producer, windows 2000 SP3, 256 MB ram, AMD 1800+ XP
Reviewed By Spe3D [read all by] on February 10th, 2003
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Windows
Well what can I write about this synth that has not already been mentioned, the answer is nothing new I just wanted to reiterate the point that this is simply an excellent project by René.

The graphic interface I adore, a pleasure to work with. Everything is clearly laid out and for something so complex surprisingly intuitive.

WoW! The range of beefy, smooth, gritty, phat, lush and evolving sound that this thing can emit is staggering for the money.

Well documented and along with first class support not only from René but the other users on the support forum make learning this instrument much quicker. Stability is super! With a vast and ever expanding number of presets…
Reviewed By Spe3D [read all by] on September 7th, 2002
Version reviewed: full 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by Spe3D on 20th September 2002.
I have the TBL and I just want to say the Beast is better! Better depth of sound, presets and functionality make it a pleasure to use. The built in effects actually help reduce overhead in my host, as CPU cycles are surprisingly low.

The presets are good but the randomise feature is fun to use, does not take long before an entirety different pattern of sounds emerge. So in my opinion the scope of this thing is well worth the cost.

Edit: However it would be a good idea to see the preset selected on the main display.
Edit: reFX have stated 'the right-click context menu will be featured in ALL future products and
updates of old products', great stuff! :o)
Well done! ReFX

Pete