Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by peferling

Review Something
or Find Reviews
Bark of Dog [read all reviews]
Reviewed By peferling [read all by] on 29th June 2018
Version reviewed: 2 on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Love this. I use large diaphragm, but inexpensive MXL mics for Voice Overs. I use Bark of the Dog for the low end to thicken, in combination with Roth-AIR for the top end, to bring life back into otherwise stale voice tracks. Especially with tracks that have been hammered sterile by noise filters/plugins from noisy and field environs.

Roth-AIR [read all reviews]
Reviewed By peferling [read all by] on 28th June 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0.4 on Windows.
Last edited by peferling on 29th June 2018.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

An essential to livin' up vocals on the top end. I start with the default and pull up the AIR to taste. This will also rescue tracks that sound too sterile from over use of noise correction, restoring presence. I will then add a little reverb, a dose of Bark of the Dog to thicken, and glue with a compressor on the low end for rich tone. This works well with VO recorded from large diaphragm mics.

jBridge [read all reviews]
Reviewed By peferling [read all by] on 21st June 2018
Version reviewed: 1.75 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

A must if you like to keep older 32-bit plugins working in your newer 64-bit environ.
It helps if you organize the plugins and place the 32-bit versions into a separate folder. Then select copy to custom folder option in Bridge during the conversion.That will help you to avoid duplicate plugins in your DAW's manager.

Depending on some plugins, you may get notice and warning dialogs. Ignore and close them out. Test in your DAW before addressing them individually as I've had some warnings but none failed to load and work.

Some licensed plugins will ask for their license, so have those ready.

SoundBridge DAW [read all reviews]
Reviewed By peferling [read all by] on 13th June 2018
Version reviewed: 1.10 on Windows
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This is a great, simple and easy to DAW with basic functionality that is well laid out and intended for use with touch screens. All relevant edit tools are visible and easily accessible on the screen. The DAW also includes a complete set of basic FX plugins, and will also scan and use 3rd party plugins.

Note: I had issues with Ozone 8 plugins freezing up the application v1.09, and a simple email generated a quick response and a timely update to fix. 5 stars for customer service on that.

The DAW can be used as standalone or integrates with their Skytrack.io online collaboration and cloud tool, (which I'm also evaluating).

I suggest new users give this DAW a try. While it's free, I did not factor that into the review. It works as designed.

LoudMax [read all reviews]
Reviewed By peferling [read all by] on 30th May 2018
Version reviewed: 1.21 on Windows.
Last edited by peferling on 14th June 2018.
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Simple to use. Small footprint and resource friendly, (use it on multiple tracks), transparent (adds no color) and stable (used in PPro, Audition, Soundbridge, and IL Minihost and AIMP Player via DSP plugin to name a few).

RX [read all reviews]
Reviewed By peferling [read all by] on 7th May 2018
Version reviewed: 6 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Definitely worth the purchase. My favorite is the denoiser, which they've broken out the into two distinct modules, one dedicated to voice and the other for general background noise. It can be a resource hog if you use it in more than one incidence or on multiple tracks, (I edit in PPro CC). But it's well worth it for correcting takes from the field that were shot in noisy environments. It has a dynamic, or adaptive learning mode that has made quick work of long takes. I will sample and tweak in the edit, (and do this as a last step), then crank up the quality slider before rendering out.

Ozone / Ozone Advanced [read all reviews]
Reviewed By peferling [read all by] on 7th May 2018
Version reviewed: 8 on Windows.
Last edited by peferling on 26th June 2018.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Ozone 8 Advanced. I have this via their Music Production Suite. I like the modular, interconnected approach. Much of their plugins/settings are based on tasks rather than trying to emulate the look of hardware. More productive and much easier to set up custom filters in lieu of templates for repeat work.

I personally dumped a lot of plugins in lieu of this for the sake of sanity. Overall, I'm happy with it.