Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. User Reviews

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by YnJ

Review Something or Find Reviews

Metallurgy: Thrash

Reviewed By YnJ [all]
April 22nd, 2023
Version reviewed: 1.0.2 on Windows

This really does what it says on the box! Three top class amp models and everything you need to play thrash metal riffs at any speed, and a fourth amp model for those clean sounds, all based on real amps. The cab section has eight cab sims, including a Mesa Boogie Oversized with V30 speakers, two Bogner Uberkabs, T75 and V30 speakers, and two Marshall 1960 4x12, T75 and V30 speakers, ten (not eight) mics and two mic channels and mics are all adjustable from centre to edge as well as distance, an additional channel for room, and a channel strip type four band EQ. All top quality, if you need some variation you can load two IRs into the two mic channels. The effects are of very high quality as well. I can only see three effects pre-amp and two post amp, the presentation says four and three, unless they include the pitch shifter which only works as a capo and only changes the pitch of what you're playing five semitones up or down, nice for those who only know one key, and one more is still missing as far as I can tell. Not that it matter much, two overdrives and a delay gets most done, and the Automatic Double Tracking is pretty cool.

Read Review
Neurontube: debut

Reviewed By YnJ [all]
March 26th, 2023
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows

Excellent amp, the SLO-100 is easily the best free high gain VST amp I've heard, and sounds close enough to a Soldano as far as I'm concerned. No trouble with unwanted noise, exessive use of CPU or antivirus.

The TF300 is a nice addition, and something you don't see much of in amp sims. It captures the sound of the Laney quite well when hooked up with an external IR loader. Cheap or not, it has a distinctive sound which many find attractive. The pedals are of decent quality, I liked the distortion in particular. The amps are very well done, the cab section could use some more work. The two 4x12 cabs works well with the SLO-100, I don't think the 1×12 Combo does the TF300 justice though.

Read Review
DS Audio Thorn

Reviewed By YnJ [all]
July 1st, 2022
Version reviewed: 1.3.0 on Windows

Top shelf synth. What really makes it stand out for me is the glitch sequenser, which can be used in conjunction with the step sequenser, and which is really intuitive and powerful.

Read Review
Dreamsynth

Reviewed By YnJ [all]
June 30th, 2022
Version reviewed: 1.0.7 on Windows

This is actually not that far off for a dream synth, if you're looking for a retro digital waveform synth, there's a few things which keeps me from giving it full score though.

The sampled waveforms doesn't sound very good, hopefully they can fix this. You can't import your own waveforms and samples, that would make the synth way more versatile and interesting. And, the string section, if it's going to be there at least add the other instruments usually found in these kind of synths. I really like how you can keep the arpeggiator on and off separately for the string synth and the rest of the synth, I would have liked it even more if that was a feature for every oscillator section as well.

It's a synth with a lot of potential.

Read Review
Syntronik Syner-V

Reviewed By YnJ [all]
June 30th, 2022
Version reviewed: 2.0 on Windows

This is just a sample pack and a skin for a sample player, not a synth, and while the samples are ok I guess, the sample player is not. It's the same UI for every so-called synth, the only difference is the skin, the samples take up a lot of space, and the filters are awful.

Read Review
Brainworx bx_bluechorus2

Reviewed By YnJ [all]
June 23rd, 2022
Version reviewed: 2.20 on Windows

My go to chorus, for synths. I really don't use chorus on guitars much anyway, this is really amazing sounding used with synths though.

Read Review
Tube Synth

Reviewed By YnJ [all]
June 23rd, 2022
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows

I do actually to some degree enjoy some of AIR's older instruments and think they're actually at least worth $10 on sale, this is not that good.

Nice modern looking GUI, apart from that nothing to get excited about. The basic sound of the oscillator is underwhelming, and there are no features which makes this synth stand out in any way. It's one of those synths you'll never use, and I wouldn't recommend it even if it was freeware.

Read Review
ADSR Sample Manager

Reviewed By YnJ [all]
December 10th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.5 on Windows

Agree with and second the other fellows who have understood that you need to wait for the Sample Manager to get the analyzing done first, and not load all your samples up into it all at once.

Read Review
Beatzille

Reviewed By YnJ [all]
September 23rd, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0.2 on Windows

This is so good that I wont be buying the full version anytime soon, and only if it's on sale.

Seriously, this is a magware version of Bazille with 2 oscillators instead of four, one filter instead of four, one LFO and only one effect.

The sound is the same though, and you even get a few third party presets for Bazille. For a one year sub on beat.de, 30 something euro, you get this as well as several other magware synths and a ton of soundware. This synth is worth the 30 something euro alone.

Downvoted by a couple of butthurt old farts who can't tell one synth from another.

Read Review
Surrealistic MG-1 Plus Synthesizer

Reviewed By YnJ [all]
September 5th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows

I don't know the original, this one sounds authentic though and reminds me of several synths I've had or played through the years. It's not an emulation of one the great classic synths though, so it might not fall into everyones expectations. It's fun to play around with and useful to have in your toolbox for retro- or synthwave.

Read Review
FEATURED
40% Off
pure:unmaskDynamic EQ
by sonible
   $29.00
Was $49.00; Save $20.00 until 06 May 2024
pure:unmask
Dynamic EQ
by sonible
40%
Off
Building the Ultimate Oberheim: An interview with Marcus Ryle
What's New @ KVR Audio
Marbles, Resonate & Plonkby SpaceTraffic @ 21:17 in Music CafeSuper 8 - New polysynth by Native Instrumentsby nanostream @ 21:15 in InstrumentsWhy did you leave Studio One?by Hallo Spaceboy @ 21:12 in Hosts & Applications (Sequencers, DAWs, Audio Editors, etc.)One Synth Challenge #181: Surge (Voting Started!)by loord @ 21:11 in InstrumentsVPS Avenger 2.0 [RELEASED - FAQ in OP]by noiseboyuk @ 21:09 in InstrumentsFS: Arturia Pre-TridA | Sonible Smart:EQ3 | Black Rooster, Acon, etc.by kidslow @ 21:09 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)I Gotta Smoke (Gangsta Rap)by Paulieworld @ 21:06 in Music CafeCLAP: The New Audio Plug-in Standard (by U-he, Bitwig and others)by IllusionCatalyst @ 21:06 in DSP and Plugin DevelopmentIs REAPER the current best long term choice?by as1988 @ 21:05 in Hosts & Applications (Sequencers, DAWs, Audio Editors, etc.)FS: sonible - smart:EQ4 - pure:limit // Klevgrand - Slammerby Liquidfusion @ 21:04 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)What's More Important To You? The DAW, The Computer Or The Composer?by THE INTRANCER @ 21:04 in Hosts & Applications (Sequencers, DAWs, Audio Editors, etc.)Favourite all-in-one channel strip?by jamcat @ 21:00 in EffectsWave Alchemy - Triaz Native - No Kontakt -- Free for current owners!by Dirtgrain @ 20:58 in InstrumentsDo you know anyone that woke up and turned there life around ?by dartfordyes @ 20:56 in Everything Else (Music related)Silky sounding software sale WTS: Apulsoft ApVerb and ApQualizr2, Adptr HYPE, Tone Projects Kelvin + Unisumby La Mato @ 20:54 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)View All Latest Posts