Artiphon and Shreddage 2

Official support for: impactsoundworks.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi everyone, first-time post.

Has anyone tried using the Artiphon Instrument 1 to setup the MIDI for Shreddage 2?

I am a guitar player, more than a keyboard player. Considering buying the Artiphon as a MIDI controller.

Any positives and negatives would be helpful.

Regards,
davidmp

That sounds like a really gnarly setup. I've little knowledge with midi controllers other than my basic 49-er keyboard but throwing some info out there. Haven't found anyone making some examples of it utilizing S2 so far in my search. I watched a few videos and I'm interested. Now I really want one. Great, thanks a lot.

Consider the following. The Artiphon has 6 strings and 12 frets. Shreddage 2 has sampled 24 frets and 7 strings. These specific limitations don't seem too problematic because you seem like you can switch between user-defined configurations. Which is alleviating. However, you will run into some trouble with articulations and keyswitches. Sacrificing the leftmost fret for some commonly used keyswitches doesn't seem like a terrible idea... but then you have to worry about whether to have keyswitch latch mode on or off. And that can make certain artics a huge pain in the ass to use.

Apparently, you can set the strings on the Artiphon to different midi channels. Shreddage 2 has split midi mode where midi channels 1-7 utilize their respective strings (7 being the lowest). You could have alt configs for rhythm passages and leads or something similar. Rhythm could be setup to utilize strings 7-2, and the other configs can be leads/solos and whatever else.