Considering Waveform as my first DAW

Discussion about: tracktion.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I'm new to DAWs and have tried out several free/trial versions of Studio One, Ableton Live, Garageband and Traction/Waveform (all on the Mac platform).
My past experience is using MIDI hardware gear (synths, samplers, drum machines, sequencers), adding reverb, delay to individual sounds, EQing etc and making mainly 80s type funk, soul, electro, boogie etc. and I'm now considering Traction Waveform 11 (especially now with the 40% discount for the next few days) and have some questions:

1) Will Waveform be suitable for mainly sequencing/syncing external MIDI hardware and MIDI keyboards? I will probably start using soft-synths/samplers as time goes by, but my main gear is hardware.

2) can it be synced to an external MIDI clock? (i.e. a MIDI drum machine or external hardware sequencer starts/stops the DAW)

3) I have multiple Traction licenses: what are the differences between T7, Waveform 8 and Waveform 10 free? Is Waveform 10 free a more limited (but newer) version of Waveform 8, and T7 a full, but older version?
tracktion t7.png
waveform 10 free.png
waveform 8.png
I've had a look at the compare versions page, but not being very familiar with DAWs it's hard to tell what those features mean and if I need them or not. I'd rather not pay for features I'll never use.

4) I'm concerned about all the complaints people have about Waveform being unstable and crashing a lot on the Mac platform as discussed in the Waveform 10 vs other DAWS thread. Is there any truth to this, or is it exaggerated?
I'm on a Mid-2010 Mac Pro 5,1 (2.8 GHz quad core Xeon, 24 GB RAM).

5) Based on my explanations here, will one of the free versions do, or should I go "pro"? And which add-ons are worth getting if the free version(s) are too limiting?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.