Simple mock-up GUI for a reverb

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Out of boredom, I spent some time this evening creating a simple GUI. :)
It's my very first try, so actual usability is probably null.

I used Kjaerhus Classic Reverb as a template for the controls.

Let me know what you think!

(The name of this mock-plug-in is a pun on German words:
Schallwellen = soundwaves,
Hall = reverb,

so it would become 'Reverb-waves'. :wink:)

What does the dr.who control do?

Looks pretty good, especially the knobs. I'm not crazy about the black selection boxes, though. Kind of makes it look like a Synth Maker GUI. MMM... I'm not too fond of the font either. A little too "bubbly"--I think I would get irritated looking at the GUI as it is. Maybe just a couple small changes for my personal taste.

I liked the general appearance and the knobs. However, the expression of the knob's value is too close to the label itself, imo. I think a pixel font would make a difference there; it would be smaller and probably more differentiated.

edit: example

Now the values have a color which intuitively connects with the color of the knob visuals.

Shane Sanders wrote:
Congratulations. You've managed to not only lose most of the contrast on the important text, but also make it so small I for one cannot even read it easily from my normal working distance (especially with that contrast).

The proper fix for moving the text further away is NOT making it smaller: instead make the box it's within taller. That said, since it was clearly more important on the original (with more contrast and all) it didn't bother me too much that it was close. Actually I liked how it worked, as it defied the normal layout rules, but managed to do it in a way that still kept it easy to look at.