Which VSTs and samples to sound similar to Miss Monique?

How to do this, that and the other. Share, learn, teach. How did X do that? How can I sound like Y?
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi - I am a synth noob and a hobbyst. :dog: :D Just to give you some context.

I'd like to understand which VSTs and samples to have to sound similar to Miss Monique.

I own Cubase 13 (Retrologue 2, Padshop and halion SE) plus Serum. Are they enough?
For sounding similar, of course, I just mean at sounds sets arsenal at my disposal.
Arrangment, talent and creativity is another story and it isn't the topic of my thread.

Do you have a any tips, keywords to search and suggestions to share?

Thanks

https://youtu.be/yoRySSq634o?si=Ptfp73rj6d5Lw95d

sigh…

I’m not gonna call what she’s doing “DJing” out of respect to actual* DJs (let the cries of sexism ring out!), but if you want the sounds you hear in the video, you’re better off finding the tracks that are playing and asking specifically about those.

One of the first comments on the video has a playlist with timestamps.

* Yes, I do feel a need to call this stuff out, because it’s to the point actual real-life DJs are the ones who get called fake because they’re not dancing and touching and turning every knob and button, or spinning the control platter to make it look like it’s somehow creating the wooshing sfx in the pre-recorded song. I mean I know it’s a lost cause, but still it’s almost a moral thing to me now as a music performer.

mementus wrote: Fri Nov 24, 2023 6:29 pm Hi - I am a synth noob and a hobbyst. :dog: :D Just to give you some context.

I'd like to understand which VSTs and samples to have to sound similar to Miss Monique.

I own Cubase 13 (Retrologue 2, Padshop and halion SE) plus Serum. Are they enough?
For sounding similar, of course, I just mean at sounds sets arsenal at my disposal.
Arrangment, talent and creativity is another story and it isn't the topic of my thread.