Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New@

User Reviews by KVR Members for Elottronix XL

Rate & Review Elottronix XL Now!

Reviewed By EvilTurtle [read all by] on 25th June 2017
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I actually own a couple reel-to-reels that I use for tape looping but I really was looking for something that I could use in my DAW. Elottronix XL was a great find and it very nicely models the feel and sound of a real tape loop! Plus this has the advantage/flexibility of having all these extra parameters. Really nice plugin.

The GUI looks and feels nice too and having an external hardware controller to control it creates a lot of fun jam sessions.

Reviewed By neil wilkes [read all by] on 20th December 2010
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Although this is truly a superb plugin, I am finding that it is very troublesome in Nuendo 5.

Last time I tried to load an instance (latest build) into a 5.1 group, I expected to get this on just channels 1 & 2, but instead it hung the entire app completely and the project refused to reload until I took it via a separate system & removed the plugin, at which point the project loaded again on the original system.

I would not normally have put this here, but as it is impossible to contact the developers directly, I am writing this here in the hope that they see it & fix this excellent tool.
Reviewed By westernlands [read all by] on 25th February 2004
Version reviewed: v1.2 on Windows
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I found the Elottronix XL plugin by change somewhere in December 2003 on the kvr site. References by the Elogoxa team to 'Flippertronics' with respect to this vst immediately draw my attention as projects where Robert Fripp has been involved in are part of my musical education.

Fascinated I was right from my first introduction to Elottronix XL. Had some trouble to get started though, but my curiosity was strong. Have no former practical experience with this kind of delay, so developing some kind of strategy and discipline are for me part of the process to build up a structure. It is a GREAT tool to build up minimalistic textures. It has a beautiful nostalgic interface, which shows respect to the analogue period of the past. Thanks to the recently expanded readme.txt I finally have got some grip on the tool and enjoy surprising results. I know I have only just begun and expect many discoveries yet to run into with Elottronix XL.
Reviewed By Peel [read all by] on 27th July 2003
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows.
Last edited by Peel on 27th July 2003.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Inspired by the tape-based delay system used by Fripp & Brian Eno used to create massive soundscapes on albums like "no pussyfooting." But that's not really important; what's important is that this is a fantastic effect which really fills a niche. It is a dual delay unit with a maximum total delay time of 80 (yes, eighty) seconds. You can use it as a "traditional" delay, or as a sort of sampler/playback unit, recording a loop and then playing over the loop. As a delay it has more features than many commercial effects: optional filters for the delay lines, tube-style saturation, autopanning, tape hiss, and a peculiar pitch modulation effect. And of course the maximum delay time goes well beyond the capabilities of any other vst delay that I'm aware of.
Anyway, it seems pointless to go into much more detail about a plugin that's free to use (just download it & try it out!), so I'll just add that the developer is very helpful and responsive to user queries. Also I should explain my rating for stability, because it might be slightly unfair -- I gave it a slight penalty because it can use up *huge* amounts of memory/disk space to store the delay line -- this isn't a fault of the effect, as it's an unavoidable consequence of using long delay lines -- but it's something you should be aware of. As long as you don't run out of disk space, it is as stable as any other plug I've tried.

Latest 4 reviews from a total of 4

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
stewart-rtag
stewart-rtag
25 December 2011 at 11:32am

I love ELOTTRONIX, and now have rigged up a control surface to make it easy to adjust parameters while playing guitar through it. It's a beautiful thing. Two independent tracks of looping. Still exploring the potential, but so far just about the best way for one person to have fun all on their own with a guitar.
The only downside at the moment is that the DECAY control has a bug, which has been noted before. Currently the control does absolutely nothing as far as I can see. So the loops are not able to evolve and fade into something new. They just fill up and with more and more sound. It turns into a quagmire of noise. I Know the designer (Sahul) is aware of this and working on it. Thanks Sahul. When this is fixed the creative scope will be massively increased.

One minor suggestion would be to have all of the parameter lamps show the current status where possible (lit if on). Currently some of the buttons (like REARSAL and PAN MODE seem to work just as a switch button. The light comes on momentarily - the label beside it changes but the lamp goes out. It would be good if the indicator lamp actually showed the status. Much easier to read from a distance. But this is a smaller issue.

When the DECAY function is fixed this will be an awesome plug. I will keep checking for new versions (currently using 1.4

NotDarkYet
NotDarkYet
2 September 2015 at 4:29pm

I have a problem with this VST in Ableton.

When I try to "undo" any action in Ableton, it says "Undo Change Parameter #..."

Even if I didn't touch the VST....

Maybe it's related to this fact: When I open the VST and click "configure", I see all of these parameters flipping around left and right automatically.

What's up here??!.

Please log in to join the discussion

Elottronix XL

Average user rating of 3.50 from 4 reviews

Elogoxa
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
32 people have added Elottronix XL to 8 My KVR groups 37 times
+4 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 920  905

30-Day: 938; 7-Day: 891; Yesterday: 977

KVR Audio Plug-in Marketplace
Advertisements