Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New@

User Reviews by KVR Members for jsCompShaper

Rate & Review jsCompShaper Now!

Reviewed By Uzone27 [read all by] on 19th March 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This is a shining star in a sea of mediocrity. I will surely be contributing to your cause in the future.

Well Done.

Reviewed By ccowkey [read all by] on 22nd February 2015
Version reviewed: 7 on Windows
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This is all kinds of good.

Lacks a manual but really even with no brain whatsoever it would be hard not to improve your sound.

Reviewed By nIGhT-SoN [read all by] on 23rd March 2012
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Well, I don't speak or write english very well, but I though I should express my oppinion about this pice of software. First time when I saw it, knowing that's free, I didn't though it's good, but the interface looks awesome and I said: Let's give it a try!

Well, I try it on a song that I'm working on (progressive house) and put it on the drums with no other effects. I turned a few knobs here and there and I was looking like this: o_O

The sound was amazing! Didn't expected that! Maybe you won't belive me, if that's the case try it yourself! The shaping knob is doing some great stuff, adds some greed to the sound, can't explain it, also having a mix knob is more than awesome to bring some of the dry signal back.

PS: You can find the x86 version on the developer site.

Reviewed By FarleyCZ [read all by] on 22nd March 2012
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows.
Last edited by FarleyCZ on 10th April 2012.
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Lot's of free compressors these days. Every single one of them has it's own trick. Point is, that in most cases, those payware ones will be always a bit better, more analog. Big companies have resources for real hw units, possibility to meature them. Not much of freeware developers can do that, so they read about behaviour and then mimic it in some way that kinda works, but it's not that precise most of the time.

Is there way out of it? Yes. F*ck them all, make it simple, but solid! Exactly what jsCompShaper does. It features internal sidechain EQ, paralel functionality, ability to continuously switch between compression and waveshaping and last but not least, crazy oversampling.

All you need really is throw it on drum buss and play with settings to hear the sound. In some settings I swear it reminds me of SSL sound. (Didn't even touch real console, so can't tell "for real", but from internetzz.) It doesn't have HP filter though, so it's better for drums where you don't want kick completely low-endish.

That shaping is interesting. Some cool character can be achieved, but especially on the drum buss it does just a little changes, even smaller when used in paralel.

Another thing is versatility. I didn't work with voices that much lately, but i believe it's great on vocals. That EQ and some special voclal presets suggest it. Or knee for example. On some compressors you turn that knob and almost nothing happens soundwise. Not here at all. Hard or soft as you like.

What I love the most is the oversampling. I believe it's one of the things that define sound of those big payware plugins. It makes it haeavy on CPU in jsCompShaper, but result just sounds good. Defined. Smooth. I guess not much far from simplier Waves plugs.

Conclusion: I guess old HW companies have spent ages and milions to make their compressors behave as ideal as possible. SW companies just as much to make it behave as not-ideal as possible to get close to products what HW companies made. As a result there is so much of different coloration in the world that no ordinary listener can really tell. That means on budget, only thing we should be really concerned about is, whether it sounds good or not in general. ...and this compressor definitely does. It won't sound exactly as any HW particularly, but really good anyway! :) I don't mean that emulations are meaningless. I just mean (and hope) nothing to worry about using plug like this. :)

What I love about free plugins is that there is not much of decription needed now, just go and try it for yourself. :) For me, this is discovery of the year so far. Love it!

Latest 4 reviews from a total of 4

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
Brother Charles
Brother Charles
25 March 2012 at 9:21pm

Yessir, FarleyCZ! I totally agree with your review. It is ABSOLUTELY my 'favorite "find" for the year too! This is very, very good quality freeware. I really thank God for it.

Endor-8o8
Endor-8o8
11 September 2012 at 6:40pm

+1 this is one of the free secret jem. Deserves more attention imo.

Audio Freak
Audio Freak
20 January 2013 at 11:23pm

Does JS Compshaper x64 download plugin work in Windows XP even though Windows XP is 32 bit?? I want to use it in Presonus Studio One 2 but I have Windows XP as my operating system...?? Thanks

eranmadi84
eranmadi84
25 October 2019 at 4:44pm

This plugin 64-bit free download, for me it's waveshaper mastering glue mix buss compressor like ssl, api 2500 & neve dinamics prossesor plugins for finishing mixes toch to make great glue mastering for gluing mixes together. I used to mixing it good with on everything including for mixing and mastering including multitracks songs, and its free plugin 64-bit freeware for gluing mastering.

Please log in to join the discussion

jsCompShaper

Average user rating of 5.00 from 4 reviews

jsAudio
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
84 people have added jsCompShaper to 16 My KVR groups 106 times
+11 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 606  599

30-Day: 651; 7-Day: 632; Yesterday: 925

Audacity: The Video Manual - Audacity 101Auto-Tune EFX+ Video Manual - Auto-Tune 101Pigments - The Video Manual - Pigments 101Mastering Essentials - Cubase 10 105EDM Production Tips - Logic Pro X 402
Advertisements