Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by The Noodlist

Review Something
or Find Reviews
T-Chain [read all reviews]
Reviewed By The Noodlist [read all by] on 17th July 2018
Version reviewed: 1.2.0 on Windows.
Last edited by The Noodlist on 17th July 2018.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I tried the demo, I enjoyed the FETPress and OptoPress modules on guitars and bass. The free Phuzz module, that boasts 7 individual multi-band saturation settings, is a no-brainer, it could easily be a paid plugin. There's also a free gate, filter, EQ and compressor.

The preamps sound fantastic, to my aging ears, at least. I ended up getting the White Pre during the recent sale. The OMPre also sounded rather good, the others also had their own unique flavours, the analog vibe is great, low CPU, too.

I tend to only use the TCS platform at the moment. My only gripe is the interface, don't get me wrong, it serves it's purpose.

I would like a scalable interface, but that's just me. I also tend to prefer simpler interfaces, I can find too many options overbearing. I use the simpler single TCS option.

A demo, or the free modules, are definitely worth a try.

I felt they deserved a review, hence me writing this.

MFreeformEqualizer [read all reviews]
Reviewed By The Noodlist [read all by] on 17th July 2018
Version reviewed: 12.02 on Windows.
Last edited by The Noodlist on 30th July 2018.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I tried the unlimited demo version, I found it had it's limitations. It seems to be aimed at creative use, like quite a few of Melda's other products.

Would I find a use for it's free form capabilities, I doubt it. Functionality, and, ease of use trumps features, in my book.

However, the frequency match and copy feature really stood out. Having tried various other EQ's with similar features, I found MFreeformEqualizer gave me the best results. Applied to the master bus on some of my songs, set to match pink noise, or any other analysis curve, my mixing deficiencies became more apparent. I could see it being used on a collective of songs to bring them closer together, such as an EP.

10/10 for the EQ match capabilities, but that's where it's uses end, for me, unfortunately.

After writing this review, I demoed Master Match from IK Multimedia, the features are similar to Melda's MFreeformEqualizer, or vice versa.

Xhip Effects [read all reviews]
Reviewed By The Noodlist [read all by] on 12th February 2018
Version reviewed: 6.7 on Windows.
Last edited by The Noodlist on 15th February 2018.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

A great set of effects, the Xhip Limiter and Compressor stood out for me, with me being in search of an easy to use, effective compressor, I tried the two mentioned, I really like the added flexibility of the Xhip Limiter. It can be used as a compressor and yields satisfying results, highly tweak-able. When using slower attack times it seemed better to reduce the look ahead %. From smashing drum loops to moderate compression, this thing is just great. It needs more love.

Thanks to the developer.

KT-C [read all reviews]
Reviewed By The Noodlist [read all by] on 14th October 2017
Version reviewed: 1.1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by The Noodlist on 24th March 2018.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I'm a hobbyist, here are my thoughts on the KT-C.

I find this plug-in hard to fault, it does a job, and it does it well. It's one of the better freeware plug-ins I've tried. Cons, it's only 32-bit.

I found it an ideal compressor to learn on, I can actually hear what the the attack and release are doing, with a fast attack, it dulls the attack of transients, and longer release times holds on to the notes, bringing several sources closer together.

It can work well on single and bus tracks, it can definitely bring individual elements within a bus closer together, giving more cohesion.

Sometimes the meters stop working, that doesn't affect the sound, but sometimes I find the visual aid helpful.

COMPrime [read all reviews]
Reviewed By The Noodlist [read all by] on 28th August 2017
Version reviewed: 1.5 on Windows.
Last edited by The Noodlist on 24th March 2018.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I tried the demo. It's one of the better compressors I've used. Bearing in mind I'm a hobbyist with limited mixing abilities.

I recently tried a heap of compressor demos from developers big and small and loads of freeware. This and PSP Audioware FetPressor stood out from the pack. I was looking for something that sounded good with minimum tweaking, and I found it in Comprime.

It's hard to make this sound thing bad, It's easy to dial in and achieve quick results. It sounds smooth and rounded. You can really push this thing hard and it still sounds great.