Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR
Kramer Master TapebyWaves

User Reviews by KVR Members for Kramer Master Tape

Rate & Review Kramer Master Tape Now!

Reviewed By MadAnthony81 [read all by] on 7th April 2014
Version reviewed: 7 PRO 64 on Windows
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I'm rating this a 10 because I think it sounds genuinely authentic. It has a hard sound to it contrary to most tapes. Possibly could be used in something like Dubstep or Metal. Definitely Industrial music.

It is possible on the right settings to get it to sound softer in the presence and harshness aspect.

Reviewed By jam92189 [read all by] on 15th August 2012
Version reviewed: 9R5 on Windows.
Last edited by jam92189 on 3rd September 2012.
3 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
  • I am redoing my original review. not because people complained but because I have started using this a little more since then just to see what I thought. I like it. its still not a amazing tape sound but the controls are pretty dope and simple.
  • I still like the slap delay and I like how 15 and 7.5 ips do make actually a difference.
  • 15Ips has more high end. and 7.5ips is a nice subtle DEesser if you need it. saturation is still pretty nice. I do love how you can change the calibration on all of the plugins in the bundle thats awesome I still love the eq and comp. and think this thing is pretty good for what it is.
  • but to be honest Its not worth the price just alone. I would say go to Waves universe get it on sale as a bundle you wont be disappointed.
  • I do like how this does not really kill transients easy thought that is always a plus in any tape style plugin. a lot of bad ones just do massive compression.
  • Now as far as CPU goes I have a good computer so I can have a good amount of plugins on at once. but I notice it does use a little more CPU than other great tape emulations I own. still not much more though.
  • I am not a fan of moving parts I think its tacky. someone said you can stop it from spinning I know that. I still think its tacky so no matter what I don't like that.
  • oh and its stable as hell no crashes with any of the plugins I have used always a plus.
  • okay so.
  • Looks amazing.
  • Quality good.
  • Sound good.
  • CPU pretty good.
  • Stability great.
  • Control good.
  • Learning curve easy.

bad

  • Moving parts are tacky.
  • Uses a little more CPU than other plugins of its kind.
  • Not the best tape emulation.
  • Pricy for it alone but not bad in a bundle.

Latest 2 reviews from a total of 2

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
sonicpowa
sonicpowa
16 August 2012 at 12:58pm

The spinning tape can be stopped if you click on the reel.

jam92189
jam92189
17 August 2012 at 4:40pm

I know just still think its kinda annoying.

ObsoleteAcc99
ObsoleteAcc99
17 August 2012 at 8:19am

Pretty sparse review sorry.. that was pretty uninformative. FWIW i disagree and would give it at least an 8 anyway.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

jam92189
jam92189
23 August 2012 at 7:33am

ha I fully redid the review I decided to really make myself use it for about a week and so far I like it I still say its not amazing but its a nice plugin.

Endor-8o8
Endor-8o8
3 September 2012 at 6:53pm

I didn't like this plug...sounds too muddy, seems to be like a dirty distortion thant like a tape emu imo. I prefer the Roundtone, the Reelbus or for the more expensive one : the virtual tape machine from Steven Slate. Just my humble point of view...

jam92189
jam92189
3 September 2012 at 7:20pm

yes I agree but its a okay tape plugin not amazing I like reel bus and roundtone better to. its pretty okay though at times some sources just dont sound right with those two. and I dont have a ilok so no slate tape even though I have heard it and its pretty amazing.

sonicpowa
sonicpowa
5 September 2012 at 9:19am

Endor, if you hear dirty distortion maybe you are cranking up the knobs too much.

I think KMT is really good for subtle tape-like coloring and vibe. There are and will be better ones, but I rate it at least 8.

jam92189
jam92189
5 September 2012 at 9:48am

honestly I want to give it a 7.5 or something only for a really stupid reason. but yes if your hearing it mud up and distort turn it down also you can set the VU meter. so if you are putting stuff it really hot you can make it have more headroom to. but its a good plugin not bad at all I use it a lot of vocals lately. yes the distortion can get over distorted easy but that's why you can control headroom and distortion.

Endor-8o8
Endor-8o8
5 September 2012 at 10:07am

What I'm saying is that it just sounds too harsh and coarse to my ears, tape sound tends to be more smooth/round and gently compressed. To me Roundtone (for example) is less agressive and more subtle. I would give MPX a 7 not more, also considering the fact that it's not worth the price Waves is selling it (200$). But once again it's my subjective point of view, just my feeling after trying it so I can also understand that lot of people can fall in love with the MPX. Anyway, lot of kvr members still say that there are no true tape emu for the moment...pretty hard quest !!

jam92189
jam92189
5 September 2012 at 10:20am

its not a great tape emulation to me it feels kinda like a saturation plus eq with some delays if you want em. but its okay not bad but not amazing I do like the other two mentioned before way better but this is a good plugin effect. not a amazing tape emulation but a decent tool and effect.

Endor-8o8
Endor-8o8
5 September 2012 at 10:22am

"not a amazing tape emulation but a decent tool and effect" +1

jam92189
jam92189
5 September 2012 at 11:00am

yea that is basically the way I think of this plugin I love my roundtone and reelbus. yea they are not perfect but they sound great this works on some things that those don't so I am more than happy they are all tools.

sonicpowa
sonicpowa
5 September 2012 at 1:29pm

I like subtle vibe it delivers, for instance "Mastering Soft Clean Compression" -preset.

If that preset is harsh and coarse check your gain staging.

Please log in to join the discussion

Kramer Master Tape

Average user rating of 4.00 from 2 reviews

Waves
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
101 people have added Kramer Master Tape to 10 My KVR groups 135 times
+5 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 613  453  601

30-Day: 803; 7-Day: 901; Yesterday: 2284

KVR Audio Plug-in MarketplaceDark Era
Advertisements