Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by MadAnthony81

Review Something
or Find Reviews
Kramer Master Tape [read all reviews]
Reviewed By MadAnthony81 [read all by] on 7th April 2014
Version reviewed: 7 PRO 64 on Windows
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I'm rating this a 10 because I think it sounds genuinely authentic. It has a hard sound to it contrary to most tapes. Possibly could be used in something like Dubstep or Metal. Definitely Industrial music.

It is possible on the right settings to get it to sound softer in the presence and harshness aspect.

GEQ Graphic Equalizer [read all reviews]
Reviewed By MadAnthony81 [read all by] on 7th April 2014
Version reviewed: 7 PRO 64 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

The GEQ is real chic and cool in a way. I don't know how to say it but it's clean'n'cool. The retro version has phase distortions like an analog while the modern version actually removes them. WOrth it just for that.

The GEQ model is made for Live shows but I use it for my home recording. Absolutely incredible. 30 bands of exactivityness make this piece unique to what is available and Waves is making cool moves here with LIve gear capable software.

This piece is and incredibly good value for the money. I just need to learn how to register the new changing EQ spectrum in the visual. The draw mode is OK to draw with but not outstandingly easy. There are 3 different EQ modes with boost and they are easy to locate. Supposedly this EQ is good for comparing spectrums but I haven't got that far on it yet, im not that focused yet. Although is isn't too hard to do, I kinda checked it out and got it to work once.

Thanks Waves! PEACE.

CLA Classic Compressors [read all reviews]
Reviewed By MadAnthony81 [read all by] on 7th April 2014
Version reviewed: 7 PRO 64 on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Real awesome. Sounds like most radio hits that have that big deep sound. I suggest you go demo them. It's easy to setup and install with Waves.com.

Add these on the master track. The La-2a and La-3a that is. ANd you have what the pro's have been using for decades.

These sound, probably better than the authentic analog versions people have. I heard it from the top producer Chris Lord and Nick Alge too. I saw it on an interview.

I hope you can enjoy the quality culmination of many authentic la-2a amp compressors la-2a being wrapped up into one single vst. The La2a is a tube model. And the la3a is a solid state model. They work well in conjunction with one another but they do not need to be.

The La2a gives your vocals that Frank Sinatra sound if your a man, and a woman would sound equally as amazing as that too. The la2a has a slightly rough presence in the mids and lows but is very rough in the highs. It rather goes from slightly rough in the lows, to increasingly girttier as the frequency increases to the higher ranges.

The La3a has a smooth sound; much less distorted. It can easily give a big and tall, wide sound payne but so can the La2a when done right.

Widely usable and totally accepted among professionals are these models. These Waves plugins La2a and La3a are certainly widely accepted by me. Anthony. ALso so certainly easily used. The knobs so afr I have found only moves at small to medium amounts. Perhaps those are the sweet spot zones. It certainly seems decently cooperative to find the right setting. CHeers! hahahahaha

Bass Rider [read all reviews]
Reviewed By MadAnthony81 [read all by] on 7th April 2014
Version reviewed: 7 PRO 64 on Windows.
Last edited by MadAnthony81 on 7th April 2014.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Bass rider does the job of leveling your basslines without affecting it with compression. It balances it easily with only a few levers. You might want to consider if you want you bassline to stay consistant in volume as this plug-in does that. Also if you would like you can make subtle changes in volume or at whatever change in volume you'd like to affect it at within it's ability.

It's great for dramatically or subtely changing your volume level on the basslines it's applied to.

Aphex Vintage Aural Exciter [read all reviews]
Reviewed By MadAnthony81 [read all by] on 7th April 2014
Version reviewed: 7 PRO 64 on Windows.
Last edited by MadAnthony81 on 7th April 2014.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

The Aphex Aural Exciter is really cool. It sounds real. It's got a real true and true analog noise sound. This particular VST is noisy and gritty on purpose. It makes your sounds have white noise and gritty noise making the tracks you put it on sound brighter. Contrary to what I understood when I purchased the Exciter is does NOT make it smooth sounding at all, but rather actually gritty. Gritty noise once again. Sorta really really gritty more like a loud badly mic'd cymbal but really consistant at the same time. Thought i'd help you understand what I learned. That being said, this Aural Exciter is really nice at low settings. Even at zero.

At zero this Aural Excited has little little little noise. Virtually unoticable or possible none at all. BUt it does make your track sound more analog. Really cool.

It's nice that Waves.com has sales often.

GTR3 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By MadAnthony81 [read all by] on 7th April 2014
Version reviewed: 7 PRO 64 on Windows.
Last edited by MadAnthony81 on 7th April 2014.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

SERIOUS 20/10. This thing is incredible. It's convincingly analog without unwanted hiss or noise. The pedals have real analog noise hiss and latency. All the amps are realistic. There are different amp setup combos to choose from. There are many mics to choose from each do their duty as well as the program itself which is truly amazing in itself. I suggest you read the manual at Waves.com to see what this baby can do. Listen to a demo, you'll be surprised. This is the best deal going and also to say the least, the best Guitar program out by far in my opinion.

GTR3 is indispensable. I get pro sound, huge sustain. Theres, reverb amp, head amp all these cool amps. Some amps are bluesy rock, many are heavy metal. Bass amps and some Neil Citron for that old school stuff. All have class and are not brown or muddy. They color well. I particularly like the bluesy style amps and they get super heavy and distorted like I like them to. These amps i'm calling bluesy aren't any wimpy watered down amps by any means. They are heavy. Very heavy.

This plugin has frozen my computer before after using over 14 pedals. I have a DELL XPS 8500. I-3770 quad core. 12 GB RAM. TC Electronic Impact Twin audio interface. I have an electric guitar with high power dual and single coil humbuckers combo. The highest I could find at Dmarzio.

Even though I have 510 and 385 humbuckers. I would say the heavy metal amps are too loud for my setup. Too much sustain. It goes forever. My recommendation is you pick you amp first then your pickups. The amp has the most tonal qualities.

I would only recommend this GTR3 for a serious guitarist. And I would highly recommend this inexpensive GTR3 for anyone wanting to hear what expensive amps sound like.

Peace. Grace. Love.

Oberheim SEM V [read all reviews]
Reviewed By MadAnthony81 [read all by] on 5th April 2014
Version reviewed: 7 PRO 64 on Windows.
Last edited by MadAnthony81 on 5th April 2014.
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I have Analog Lab and this Oberheim SEM V. is among my favorites. Very Oberheim SEM V sounding. What a wonderful analog sound the Oberheim has. Possibly want this one for production. Exceptional quality sounding synth. I will definitely probably need this one for a webpage design. Anybody would.

From what I can remember, Analog Lab is mostly stable within, Ableton Live 64-bit. Windows 7 PRO 64-bit.

ARP 2600 V [read all reviews]
Reviewed By MadAnthony81 [read all by] on 5th April 2014
Version reviewed: 7 PRO 64 on Windows
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I have Analog Lab. The ARP 2600 is by far my favorite synth from Arturia. It has less cream presence seemingly because it is truly gritty. I look forward to hopefully owning this synth someday in full version to possible get my wobble on if it allows. Perfect for that electro dub sound, pro, pop sound. Thanks for Analog Lab it's really cool though.

Brass [read all reviews]
Reviewed By MadAnthony81 [read all by] on 5th April 2014
Version reviewed: 7 PRO 64 on Windows.
Last edited by MadAnthony81 on 5th April 2014.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I'm rating this a ten because it's great or how old it is. BRASS 2 with effects can get probably, what I call indisguishable between synthesis and real instruments. It's GUI tens to freeze in my Ableton Live because it bogs down my computer after several tracks. Very CPU needy, seemingly.

The trumpets can have a quick attack and be drawn out. They have varying sounds too with many adjustable parameters. All very neat and easy to adjust. Same and similar parameters with sax, and trombone. There are a few really cool options with the sax and mouthpiece as well as types of attacks, and level of expertise from beginner to advanced and computer perfection.

With a MIDI mapping of the paramters on a certain page you can develop your own sound and controls with the mod wheel on a MIDI keyboard. This would require a free hand for the mod wheel or a second party person if licensed and intermediate skills to program it to mod wheel. Any school teacher would be able to learn in minutes.

All in all I believe it's probably atleast 90% realistic if not 100% probably from what I heard my friend play on his sax. Definitely indisguishable with effects which is probably what you hear when you listen to your favorite jazz. They do all that sort of stuff you know! Cheers! Enjoy.

P.S. It still isn't 64-bit compatible without a "vst bridge" for audio host applications of which there are specific makers. Mine worked well but did not improve freezing.

P>S> There are parameters to make it squeal and gritty and can be modulated to the mod wheel and it can get quite realistic that way. But perhaps the noise is not sought after without the mod wheel.

Auto-Tune [read all reviews]
Reviewed By MadAnthony81 [read all by] on 5th April 2014
Version reviewed: 7 PRO 64 on Windows.
Last edited by MadAnthony81 on 5th April 2014.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I have really good things to say about Autotune EFX 2. Easy and fun to use 90% of the way. It gets difficult when choosing the pattern of when to make the autotune do its thing in different intervals, such as blues or uo/down or antron or such. Aside from that Autotune EFX2 is a blast to play with and super easy and totally simple! Very simple, a kindergartner could do it. There are only 8 different modes basically and the ones you'll be using are the 6 that change your sounding voice.

Ilok is a breeze, just plug it it when setup correctly and it works everytime after. Just plugin the Ilok USB and it works or keep it plugged in probably.

I highly recommend the Vocal Express box. It comes with many plug ins from weird and wacky kinda evil sounds to nice and sweet compression that is literally very creamy and sweet sounding. Very easy to use. And also indispensable is Antares Mic Mod. REAL, PRO, mics. But without the creaminess, which is totally sought after with mics for me is traditonalisiom. So I like that they sound like authentic mics, not original.

Enjoy these simple and intuitive VSTS.

P.S.

To get Autotune EFX2 to do the autotune thing, you can either just press C,D,E,F,G,A,B etc to space out where its connectivity is or make big sounds from low to high really quickly. That's how it works, it tryes to connectly them depending ont he setting being more natural or slightly more aggressive. Easy to get that autotune whine sound with quick sharp low to highs etc. (hint, vocoder) AND ALSO THIS ATARES IS VERY STABLE ON WINDOWS 7 64-bit. ABLETON LIVE daw (digital audio workstation).