Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New@

User Reviews by KVR Members for ModulAir

Rate & Review ModulAir Now!

Reviewed By exponent1 [read all by] on 17th January 2019
Version reviewed: 0.8.0 on Windows.
Last edited by exponent1 on 17th January 2019.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

One of THE best modular synths in the market. Setting up patches is very intuitive and very light CPU usage. Extremely capable and wonderful sounding engine.

Used this synth for my first ever One Synth Challenge (#117) and was not overwhelmed by the sheer functionality on offer. It's very approachable and a must-have for any synth-enthusiast.

Latest 1 review from a total of 1

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
wikter
wikter
21 August 2018 at 9:28am

Affordable.???

Full Bucket
Full Bucket
21 August 2018 at 11:11am

It is freeware. :-).

However, you can donate via PayPal if you want to.

VELLTONE MUSIC
VELLTONE MUSIC
21 August 2018 at 12:32pm

No i want affordable(50-100euro) paid one with your signature sound to make presets for, many people like your stuff, but when something is free always will be considered a hobby not 'pro' :).

Affo rdable = A ffordable.

MIDICH1
MIDICH1
21 August 2018 at 4:30pm

I have a number of free synths and they are every bit as good as pro programs (can you say U-He? OBXD? Full Bucket?).

arseniy2
arseniy2
13 March 2019 at 9:13pm

Another example is Dexed. It's totally high quality FM synth for free.

mrdoghead
mrdoghead
21 January 2019 at 5:38pm

Wrong.

Illforddd
Illforddd
1 June 2019 at 6:59pm

Who are you saying wrong to?

wikter
wikter
21 August 2018 at 12:40pm

Freeware means it's not paid, but has nothing to do with quality. There's commercial stuff that performs and sounds worst than some free stuff.

And FBM plugins keep the quality and sound deep, and they're easy to edit. Good graphics, good CPU performance, low on bugs... Just donate! It's immediate satisfaction.

zippy731
zippy731
19 September 2018 at 12:38am

Lovely! So nice to get modular power in a VST! I may have to quit my day job now... :)

Maybe I overlooked it, but any chance of getting oscillator phase as a mod target?

papwalker
papwalker
22 September 2018 at 8:21am

Well done guys. Another triumph for the Full Bucket Brigade!!.

Ivannn
Ivannn
12 December 2018 at 2:12pm

Thank you for update.

Ivannn
Ivannn
18 January 2019 at 7:40am

Thank you again.

I've got a request will be hard to implement mod-matrix window on this one?

And Why so much voices polyphony? I mean to be honest who does use more than even 10 voices? :).

But if it's not complicated to deal with that well it's fine).

arseniy2
arseniy2
13 March 2019 at 9:22pm

Anyone who makes complex melodies is easily uses over 10 voices. Also remember release. For example, you make chords with pads with 8 notes. And then when you play the next 8 notes you need previous notes release still playing. And that would be 16 voices.

Ivannn
Ivannn
5 July 2019 at 8:17am

Didn't see your reply, yea, that makes sense, I've forgotten about release.

melodyz
melodyz
20 January 2019 at 1:46pm

I think Ivann means a patch bay. Yeah that would be a very cool thing to add in. something like mother 32 or neutrons patch bay.

Ivannn
Ivannn
22 January 2019 at 10:47am
arseniy2
arseniy2
6 July 2019 at 9:30am

This is mod Matrix. And yes this is awesome thing and welcome in any synth.

SoundPorn
SoundPorn
3 February 2019 at 10:39am

Just made me realize outside of possibly Arturias emulations nobody has made a VSTi with a virtual patchbay, we got synths that have patch cables, but none that have like the Moog and Behringer style patchbays on the side. That would be cool. Alot cooler then a mod matrix.

Ivannn
Ivannn
4 February 2019 at 4:35pm

Patchbay is great solution for analog average size semi-modular synths. So why we should limit ourself on digital space? How you're going to modulate modulation and adjust amount and set curve of one on patchbay? Althogh, patch cables with mod matrix would be not bad as well. When you do more or less complex patch it's easy to tangle and forget which goes where. But existing mod-matrix I'd improve a bit.

PierreG
PierreG
25 February 2019 at 7:54pm

Looks like fun, yet in Waveform 10 I can't add modules, move them or change from V to M and vice versa.

Full Bucket
Full Bucket
26 February 2019 at 10:09am

It works fine here in Waveform 8. Anybody has more information?

Cheers, Björn.

PierreG
PierreG
26 February 2019 at 6:19pm

Thanks for checking in Bjorn. I just tested it in Waveform 9 and it works. Re-tested in W10 and no go. I ran Tracktion's PluginVal utility and Modulair passes all of it's tests. Will share with the Tracktion devs.

arseniy2
arseniy2
13 March 2019 at 9:10pm

Thank you man. The synth is very amazing. Very easy to catch for experienced user. Everything is very good. Good amount of filters. The wavetable OSC seems intriguing for the modular synth.

A usual list of my suggestions to browse:

Would like to see more waveforms for OSC.

Would like to see modern sequencer grid. So it's like Beat Sequencer but with envelopes.

Would like to see a bypass button for the modules, so could be possible to quickly bypass any block. For example bypass filter or LFO can be quite useful.

Maybe color coding for blocks? Maybe even icons on them too.

Would like to see macro controls. Hope you know what it is. So for example I could move 1 knob and turn up/down multiple parameters in many blocks at once, with one knob.

Maybe there is a lack of dry/wet knobs but maybe it is possible to arrange stuff like mixer. Then maybe there should be a StereoMixer block too? So it could be possible to input a stereo signal into 1 slot.

Also as usual I would like to see option to make the volume dependent on note key. I managed to make it using additional Voltage control block and Amplifier. If there was negative value option for the Note then it could be done with single Amplifier block. It seems that when the value in Amplifier mod goes down to zero then it start go back to increasing. Which is confusing, maybe?

Would like to see the master velocity option(maybe just a switch on/off). Maybe in Oscillators? So it would not require to create more blocks just to control the volume by velocity.

Ivannn
Ivannn
19 June 2019 at 9:10am

Thank you for update.

Besides new modules I'm glad to see source highlighting and drag'n'drop one it gives less messy.

Ivannn
Ivannn
2 July 2019 at 8:19am

I've got a couple requests:

It'd be really great if you implemented that all params can be modulatable.

How about a toggle to show only 8 modules (+ master one)?

And make sense to have coloured module's groups (e.g. Filters are grey and so on or something like that).

Thanks for your time (You've done a lot of work but unfortunately currently it's not as handy as one could be).

nichttuntun
nichttuntun
4 July 2019 at 4:38pm

Great Update. Thank you. The given value of this synths is awesome considering its donation-ware.

For my personal taste the sound is very sharp low and high regions and has some boxyness rumble when modulations start to work in complex regions. I guess thats okay for a free one. I have to run it through a tape emulation for soft compression and more rounder sound. I think the old synths Modulair tries to emulate are more juicy/wet in tone and cut in higher frequency regions. All in all it would be almost perfect for me if it would be more imperfect sounding. It is still so straight and clean :).

I know most people will now point to U-He DIVA or REPRO or THE LEGEND and yes, they are fantastic sounding old-school synths emulations but I thing these days ULTRA-ANALOG fom Applied Acoustic Systems is a real reference for what I mean. Maybe you have a chance to listen to it and bring your ModulAir on the next level some day? Anyway. Thank you very much for doing all this. That's just great of you.

Have joy and be sound.

Please log in to join the discussion

ModulAir

Average user rating of 5.00 from 1 review

Full Bucket Music
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
62 people have added ModulAir to 14 My KVR groups 85 times
+9 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 166  134  165

30-Day: 210; 7-Day: 207; Yesterday: 148

KVR Audio Plug-in Marketplace
Mixing and Automation - Cubase 10 104What's New in Logic 10.4.5 - Logic Pro X 10.4.5Audacity: The Video Manual - Audacity 101Mastering Essentials - Cubase 10 105Synthi V Explored - Arturia V 105
Advertisements