Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Decomposer
  4. »
  5. Sitala
  6. »
  7. Reviews

Sitala

Drum Sampler Plugin by Decomposer
MyKVRFAVORITE95WANT17

Sitala has an average user rating of 4.78 from 9 reviews

Rate & Review Sitala

User Reviews by KVR Members for Sitala

Reviewed By Hewitt Huntwork [read all by] on February 3rd, 2022
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows

I have a couple thousand dollars' worth of drum plugins, and right now Sitala ($0) is the one seeing the most use.

The developers seem to have zeroed in on the most important features for a user like me. One knob controls for envelope (shape), tuning, compression, tone, pan, and volume. Any pad can trigger any other pad. Any pad can choke any other pad.

It's so easy to use. There's a great graphic window for whichever control you are adjusting. Too long a tail on your one shot drum sound? The shape knob will show you the changes to your envelope as you turn it. So in addition to listening, you can see how much of the tail you're cutting off. We all know you can't mix with your eyes, but the visual component comes in handy when you know you want to shorten it just a bit, or shorten it so much it almost sounds dry again. The visual feedback gets you in the ballpark of what you're looking for much faster.

I would gladly have paid money for this. I would definitely pay for a version with a few more features, but take that with a grain of salt because the beauty of Sitala is its simplicity. The biggest feature I'd like to see is a 4X4 grid view to match the layout of many drum MIDI controllers. I'd like it if clicking on each of the 6 knobs would toggle it with its 0%/center value. I'd like it if there were a way to cut highs and lows on the same pad. And I'd really love to see some kind of fine tuned filter>velocity setting for those of us who want our one shots to have a little sonic variety each time they hit. Very few drum instruments do that though. But you know what? Very few drum instruments do the simple things Sitala does so well.

May thanks and eternal gratitude to Decomposer.

Reviewed By Simon C [read all by] on September 18th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Mac

I love Sitala. Everyone has their own favourite reverbs, delays, transient shapers etc so they don't mess about with those. Just a really simple to use sampler that gives you easy access to all the sounds in your folder.

Reviewed By sjs [read all by] on July 12th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.09 on Windows

Perfect combination of features and simplicity! I personally love the option to preview all the samples in the folder. Finally some love to my hundreds of one shots.

Thank you.

Reviewed By lpothast [read all by] on January 16th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.07 on Windows.
Last edited by lpothast on 16th January 2021.

My favorite no-nonsense (drum)sample player.

- Comes with some samples and kits, but you can just as easy use your own samples.

- Live one-click browsing/auditioning samples in the context of your track, so useful.

- Basic yet essential tweaking on per sample basis.

- Loads fast, easy on the CPU.

- No FX but focus on the basic functionality.

Absolutely love it.

Reviewed By Junkyard Sam [read all by] on September 20th, 2020
Version reviewed: 1.02 b on Windows.
Last edited by Junkyard Sam on 20th September 2020.

Decomposer struck the balance between power and simplicity to create a fun but powerful drum sampler that is a joy to use and sounds great.

They keep adding new features and it just gets better and better. It is now my favorite drum sampler for use in FL Studio and Reaper.

Reviewed By polanve [read all by] on August 13th, 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by polanve on 13th August 2020.

I'm using this to sample all my percussion instruments. It's the most intuitive interface I've used for composing percussion. For instance, I can just drop a sample into a pad, assign it to a note on my drum map, right click to get it to choke another sample, and start entering my beats by playing them on my controller or drawing them with my mouse.

Reviewed By menolin [read all by] on March 21st, 2020
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows

Tried a few different free drum machines and this comes out on top so far. Simple, easy to use and a nice plugin for free.

Reviewed By jonljacobi [read all by] on February 23rd, 2019
Version reviewed: Beta 1 on Mac.
Last edited by jonljacobi on 9th July 2019.

Love the interface and simple tweaking. With velocity layering I would use it even more. I personally like it clean and would prefer it not venture into FX. Funny, I thought this was more of a rating than a review. No one found it useful, hence...

Sitala is a simple, low CPU usage drum sample player with 16 voices, drag and drop loading, and six simple tweaks for each pad: shape (ADSR), tuning, compression, tone, volume and pan. It's super easy to alter sounds, but there's no detailed editing of samples. It's one sample per pad, though velocity layering is on the road map.

The interface is attractive and easy, and it's cross platform and available in VST and AU flavors so you can use it with anything but Pro Tools natively. The included kits sound very nice and you can get unique sounds in no time. Highly recommended and free.

Reviewed By Samuel_S [read all by] on August 25th, 2018
Version reviewed: 1.04 on Windows

Fun thing, best feature is the drag and drops and whatnot. Would be nice for internal effects as an addition but I've had cases where it cannot remember my custom kits and I couldn't load the samples back, rather I had to do it from scratch.

Latest 9 reviews from a total of 9

Comments & Discussion for Decomposer Sitala

Discussion
Discussion: Active

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

michal.ochedowski
michal.ochedowski
31 December 2021 at 10:06am

This sampler could be an excellent replacement for way more advanced TX16Wx, if it wasn't for the very obvious high frequency roll off. Every time I import any type of cymbal sound, Sitala removes some of the brightness from it. I made three comparisons so far and they all gave me the same results. Of course all settings in the plugin were in default neutral positions. I level matched both rendered samples and original was always brighter. I can not only hear the difference. Voxengo SPAN clearly shows, that there is a problem. Decompose could finally fix it. Then they would be a real competition for abovementioned, somewhat complicated TX16Wx. Unless that's what they were aiming at - a sampler that gives it's own "character" to imported samples. If so, it could just as well be a user dependent option.

scotchi
scotchi
31 December 2021 at 10:14am

We'd love to see spectrograms. We do actually test this, and particularly as of the last release, we bypass all processing other than volume when the knobs are in their default position.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

michal.ochedowski
michal.ochedowski
31 December 2021 at 10:42am

I uploaded all three tests. Two of them were made on two consecutive days, so they look the same. I wanted to be thorough and make sure, that I haven't made a mistake.

I have put dates next to all files for easy identification. https://www.mediafire.com/folder/x277ql1e9wn07/sitala

luzifer
luzifer
31 December 2021 at 12:09pm

It looks like the colorization happenes at resampling. Can you retry with a sample that matches the project's sample rate?

michal.ochedowski
michal.ochedowski
31 December 2021 at 1:03pm

luzifer that was a great suggestion.

I created two projects. First one at 44100 Hz, which was the original sample rate of the used sample. Second one was at 48000 Hz. I took the screenshots of SPAN and here are my conclusions.

Spectrum analysis of the original sample looks the same in both projects.

Spectrum analysis of sample played from Sitala looks the same as original, but only in the project at 44100 Hz rate. That was the 'a-ha' moment for me. Finally some explanation what was going on.

Spectrum analysis of sample played from Sitala in the project at 48000 Hz rate has the above-mentioned roll off.

My question is: Since original sample in both projects has the same spectrum analysis, does this mean that Sitala is performing a resampling from 441000 to 48000 Hz, which causes played sample to sound and look different?

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

scotchi
scotchi
28 January 2022 at 1:43am

I think I accidentally removed a reply on this, when trying to cancel my own reply, but yes, since we think we can see what's happening here, this is something we've added to our Q&A process for the next release and will ensure that this problem doesn't happen in future releases. It's something that's happening out of Sitala's code itself, but rather in JUCE (which a lot of plugins use), so we'll have to dig a bit deeper before we can talk about a definitive fix for the issue.

michal.ochedowski
michal.ochedowski
28 January 2022 at 5:59am

Thanks for your reply scotchi. I posted a reply to Ikaz7's message yesterday, but now I see it's been removed. Definitely not by me. I wonder how long this message is going to stay here.

scotchi
scotchi
28 January 2022 at 8:17pm

Actually, I think I accidentally removed it -- see here. I thought clicking on "remove" was going to remove my reply (I decided, "meh, I'll answer this tomorrow") and it removed your comment instead.

michal.ochedowski
michal.ochedowski
29 January 2022 at 3:47am

I had no idea, that some users had the option to remove someone else's comments. Thanks for clarifying.

Please log in to join the discussion