Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Ticky Clav

Rate & Review Ticky Clav Now!

Reviewed By geeseaplenty [read all by] on 1st May 2003
Version reviewed: ? on Windows.
Last edited by geeseaplenty on 6th February 2004.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I really like Big Tick's stuff. All their products have a big "Are you sure this is free?!" factor. Their FX plugs are especially nice (Hexaline and Dual Delay rock the house) So it's no surprise that this virtual clav lives up to the BT standard. It's a very useful instrument...very expressive. It blows away my hardware synth samples which sound lifeless in comparison. Having control over pick-up choice and click is tre cool. I've used the raw sound in many tunes. I also distort it with some Supaphaser for some wicked powerchords. You'll love the aunthenticity of this VSTi.
Reviewed By Har [read all by] on 9th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Wonderful sound, wonderful price, and stays nice and stabile on my system. I'm a happy guy. :)

The only thing I could possibly ask for would be pitch-bend. Yes, I know the original didn't have it either, but there *was* a whammy-bar retrofit that allowed some degree of bending, and made the Clavinet excellent for guitar-lead simulations when run through a nicely cracnked-up amp. If pitch-bend was available on the Ticky Clav as well I'd be 100% thrilled. :)

Reviewed By Emerald Tablet [read all by] on 9th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
rendered a midi file of marley (could you be love) which had the clavinet init .... used the preset "duck"
Rendered a midi file of stevie wonders superstition with the preset "funky comp" sounded very much like the original.

Even the backslab of the strings (dunno if that was a fault in the original) is being simulated ... i would like to have a button to choose for that "feature" but hey ...mabey i am the only one who needs it.

overall .... a super plugin for the funk people
Reviewed By Deuce [read all by] on 15th February 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
[+] Nice GUI
[+] Docs were present and usable
[+] Great value for money (coz its free)
[+] Very stable
[+] A good emulation
[-] A good emulation of an instrument that in my opinion was crap to start with!
[-] Definately a one trick pony (its a clavinet)
[-] Crap presets (does not show someone like me what the instrument can achieve)

Can't say about customer support, but I'm sure its good being developed by Big Tick!

I'm sorry for the negatives but if you don't like the Clavinet in the first place (which I don't) then you won't like this VSTi. It you you are a Clavinet fanatic then you will love it! For free...who's to complain...I may use it one day.
Reviewed By Virtual [read all by] on 14th February 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I had lots of fun with this at first, and found some funky usages for it, very clean & smooth sound.
Using it in a new track..

Great to see someone doing something a little different for once !

Reviewed By Funkybot [read all by] on 14th February 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows.
Last edited by Funkybot on 14th February 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is one of those "I Can't Believe it's Free" instruments. I was really impressed with the authenticity of this instrument even in it's early beta version, and the final release just added to this favorable impression. I've never played a real D6, but have heard them in countless records, and this recreates that sound extremely well. Just to put it through it's paces I grabbed a midi of Stevie Wonder's "Superstition" and ran the output to TrickyClav and I just have to say how great it sounded. The wah/effect section is a nice bonus too. I'm sure that some Clav purists who own a D6 would find something to nitpick over this instrument, but it's better than the clav samples I've come across so far. If you're into classic keyboard sounds and need a clav to add to your collection, this is it.

Latest 6 reviews from a total of 6

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
Beanz
Beanz
5 October 2012 at 8:38am

I personally can't get enough Calvi in my life, this is a great little edition to the family.

Please log in to join the discussion

Ticky Clav

Average user rating of 4.00 from 6 reviews

BigTick
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
75 people have added Ticky Clav to 18 My KVR groups 87 times
+13 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 709  510  695

30-Day: 932; 7-Day: 678; Yesterday: 1050

KVR Audio Plug-in Marketplace
Advertisements