Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. CodeFN42
  4. »
  5. Transition
  6. »
  7. Reviews

Transition

MIDI FX / Utility Plugin by CodeFN42
MyKVRFAVORITE19WANT4

Transition has an average user rating of 4.67 from 3 reviews

Rate & Review Transition

User Reviews by KVR Members for Transition

Reviewed By fatalstrategies [read all by] on August 6th, 2022
Version reviewed: 1.12 on Windows

For enthusiasts of musical indeterminacy and experimental composition, this little-known free (!) MIDI-only plug-in is a dream come true, and dangerously habit forming. It employs a rules-based method based on visual input from the user, arranging interactive elements in puzzle-like grid, optionally tweaking their behavior in a more detailed "advanced view." There is no limit to how many instances you run (at least in Reaper, sorry to the other reviewer..) therefore you can place it on several tracks and effectively "plant a garden," the result is continuous, non-repeating generative music which unfolds "the same but different" every time you click play (the MIDI output can be captured to the file any time.).

Its most obvious usage is for chords and melodic material, but I have also used it to: compose shifting polyrhythmic drum patterns, randomly trigger samples, even using the note output to generate CC automation patterns (or any patterns... for anything..) which are at once consistent and ever evolving.

Approach it with a little patience and a lot of curiosity, you will be rewarded with that proverbial child-like thrill of discovery you perhaps forgot you were even capable of; the process becomes equally rewarding to the product. This thing would make John Cage and Brian Eno proud.

Reviewed By Boy Wonder [read all by] on June 10th, 2022
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows

First, the good: Transition is fairly unique in what it does - create random notes based on several parameters you can set such as scale, octaves, frequency, etc. Further manipulation by utilizing creative tools in the activity pad area ensures whatever Transition comes up with is very original. Already, I've created 25-minute ambient tracks as well as one long 50-minute opus with it and it sounded good.

And now, the bad: For some reason, and I can't contact CodeFN42 to find out why, you can't load more than one instance of Transition in Cubase or Studio One. I'm guessing this is the same with other DAWs although I haven't tried. When you do attempt it, the DAWs either lock up or shut down right away, thus my intended goal to set up one Transition in 1/4 time and the other in 1/8 or 1/16 is never achieved.

Common sense would suggest that I'm trying to force the DAWs to use multiple clock rates which they can't do, but using CodeFN42's own RandARP in multiple instances with different timings does work, so it must be a Transition bug. Like I'd said before, I couldn't reach the dev about a solution. Anyway, I can always record one track of 1/4 Transition then go back and create a 1/16 take. It's just be nice to have two or more of them going at the same time to make sure what was being concocted makes musical sense.

Reviewed By Jopmanajop [read all by] on November 24th, 2018
Version reviewed: 1.00 on Windows

Wow, that's really impressive! Easy to use, so much fun. You can easily dive in without reading manual or figuring out all these incredible functions. Instrument for uncontrollable melodic mess. It took me just several minutes to fall in love with this little tool. And it's for free, i can't believe that. Endless possibilities and fun. With "random" and "probability" it is easy to go from generic pattern to complete chaos, in any preferable key. It's like you're not writing music anymore with this "bots and obstacles" window, just playing fun game. I love it.

Latest 3 reviews from a total of 3

Comments & Discussion for CodeFN42 Transition

Discussion
Discussion: Active
inkwarp
inkwarp
25 November 2018 at 12:14pm

yes it's fun. but for me it's crashing the s**t out of studio one...

can't complain for a freebie though..

Jopmanajop
Jopmanajop
25 November 2018 at 4:59pm

Actually, same here with Live, but in Reaper everything is ok.

firepile
firepile
28 November 2018 at 10:24pm

Please try version 1.02.

ccDuckett
ccDuckett
30 November 2018 at 5:51pm

Just curious- was this inspired by ToneCarver's Nova3 (which was itself inspired by Otomata)?

I've been enjoying Nova3 for a while now, and it was the first thing I thought of when I saw the pic of Transition.

PierreG
PierreG
26 November 2018 at 11:24pm

Super fun! Works good in Tracktion Waveform 9. One glitch, with a synth - VacuumPro cutting out after a lot of play, resolved by deleting the plug and re-inserting it, leading me back to more fun.

PierreG
PierreG
26 November 2018 at 11:52pm

Update: Inserting 2 or more instances into Waveform brings about crashes fairly quickly. Sure is fun before it bails! Hope this can be stabilized going forward.

firepile
firepile
27 November 2018 at 5:56pm

Are you using version 1.02? Just tested with 5 instances of Transition and 5 synths in Reaper, letting it run for 90 minutes, while recording the output. No crashes.

PierreG
PierreG
27 November 2018 at 7:18pm

Thanks for the heads up regarding v 1.02. I just downloaded and installed it yesterday, which was reporting as v 1.00 in the Waveform plugin browser under the Description Tag column. I Re-downloaded and installed today and Waveform still reports it as v 1.00, yet the plugs About shows it as v 1.02.

It's still crashing when I use more than one instance. : (.

PierreG
PierreG
27 November 2018 at 7:35pm

Thanks for the heads up regarding v 1.02. I just downloaded and installed it yesterday, which was reporting as v 1.00 in the Waveform plugin browser under the Description Tag column. I Re-downloaded and installed today and Waveform still reports it as v 1.00, yet the plugs About shows it as v 1.02.

It's still crashing when I use more than one instance. : (.

Update: Coming back into the edit after a crash, I started over with one instance, made a VacuumPro synth patch change as the edit was playing, then added another track / instance and it stayed functional. Repeated this pattern and have 5 tracks running great for over 10 minutes. Makes me wonder about VacuumPro interaction, in that as I first reported it cut out after a bit and needed to be reloaded.

This is a ridiculously fun plug, thank you!!.

Please log in to join the discussion