Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for TX16Wx Software Sampler

Rate & Review TX16Wx Software Sampler Now!

Reviewed By Sidom [read all by] on 3rd March 2018
Version reviewed: 2.4.2 on Windows.
Last edited by Sidom on 14th September 2018.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

TX16Wx is overlooked and underrated, despite being the best software sampler today. And I'm not even talking about the Pro version – the free version can easily compete with commercial products. To my mind, it has everything you need for creative sampling:

  • Fast workflow.
  • The fact that it actually SAMPLES: you don't necessarily have to use samples – you can record your own sounds straight into TX16Wx and start editing them right away.
  • Great looking GUI (which is also resizable and customizable).
  • Huge feature list that ensures comprehensive sound design and sample editing possibilities.
  • Low CPU usage (though it can be quite high if you decide to use extreme quality settings).
  • Stability.

TX16Wx doesn't have a 100 GB sample library because it was never intended to. Its purpose is to bring back the joy of sampling. And I believe TX16Wx serves its purpose really well.

Although it is a feature-packed sampler, don't be intimidated and discouraged – you don't need to use all of its features. In fact, thanks to flexible GUI, TX16Wx can be as simple as a sampler can get: just hide the panels that you don't want to use – this way you will have less complex GUI and faster workflow. Also, as always – make sure to read the manual before using it.

Finally, it has active support and the Pro version is very reasonably priced, so if you like using TX16Wx free, I think you should definitely support the developer by purchasing the Pro version.

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
Ives
Ives
19 June 2013 at 2:50am

Manual? Doc.s?

Ives.

Protocol_b
Protocol_b
25 June 2013 at 12:05am

Ives, on my Mac they showed up in Library/Applications Support.

Debutante
Debutante
10 August 2013 at 4:50pm

"It's 100%free!" = MY BUTT!

When first loaded, there's a dialog with a countdown stating:

"This Software is not free. If you continue to use it you are required to purchase a license.".

Not even going to try it. WHY DO THAT!?! If I liked it I might have considered buying the Pro version, but these cheap kind of schiester tricks are really annoying. TATA! :).

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Debutante
Debutante
10 August 2013 at 5:07pm

...BTW that doesn't mean my butt is 100% free. Not free at all.

elcallio
elcallio
7 February 2014 at 8:42am

If you get that dialog, you have enabled the Pro features, and will be gently reminded that _that_ version is not free. To disable the dialog and return to free mode, turn off "use Pro features" in settings.

Protocol_b
Protocol_b
14 August 2013 at 12:07am

I haven't tried it, my OS is too outdated - but I was under the impression that it includes the Pro functions, for your evaluation, & that if you wish to continue using THOSE functions then you need a license.

mztk
mztk
16 February 2015 at 5:44pm

no, you have to pay for that butt. and quite rightly.

but what can THIS mean?

"A single license allows you to use TX16Wx Pro on one computer at a time. You can install it at as many computers as you like. "

is this orwellian doublespeak? or just a computer talking crap?

elcallio
elcallio
16 February 2015 at 6:01pm

It means a single license allows you to use TX16Wx at an unlimited number of computers, but _only one at a time_. I.e. if you have a work computer, a studio comp and a home comp, you can use the license at all of these, and move your project between them as you see fit. You cannot however have two computers use the license simultaneously. Thus you may not share a license between two people, but on the other hand you are not node-locked to a single machine either.

All in all a very fair license if I may say so myself.

Vospi
Vospi
25 May 2015 at 7:33pm

Super-basic functionality. compared to NI Kontakt, is WAY simpler, more intuitive for a newbie adn also supports FLAC which is awesome. I'm very satisfied and want more skins to enjoy. It needs higher KVR rank in my opinion; will try to build my first sample library in this thing. Thanks a bunch to developers. :)

eazypop
eazypop
19 August 2017 at 10:15am

Maybe if they'd make the pro version cheaper...

Btw: do u know if its possible to record samples from external sound sources and assign them to specific keys without using the mouse and screen (midi mapping)?? and also will this run on a raspberry pi? and what about audio files, can the sourcefile be from an external drive?

kobraaji
kobraaji
4 July 2015 at 1:33am

The free version can be used in commercial productions ?

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
4 July 2015 at 8:48am

The free version no. But you can purchase the discounted license (at €29 instead of €89). The text at the rightside of this page tells this:

You may use the discounted license if any of the following are true:

  • You are an individual, using TX16Wx only for personal use.
  • You are an individual or business, using TX16Wx for commercial use, and the yearly gross revenue does not exceed 10,000 EUR.
  • You are an educational or non-profit organization.

To be sure, the best is certainly to email them to ask directly to them. It is at this address:

info@cwitec.com

elcallio
elcallio
4 July 2015 at 8:52am

Sorry, you are misinterpreting the licence. Free version can be used in any manner, but the pro edition has a dual licence depending on the usage.

Free is always free, no strings attached.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
4 July 2015 at 9:57am

That's possible. I'll not criticize your opinion, perhaps it is the right one. But I would be surprised that the free version is allowed for commercial uses when there is a payware version made for that. Anyway, I think that you'll agree if I recommend to check what is the exact fact by emailing the company. It is the best way to be sure. Cheers, BlackWinny.

elcallio
elcallio
4 July 2015 at 4:23pm

Being the developer, I hope I have a fair comprehension of my company's policies. :-)
(Sorry, I should have made that more clear I guess)

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
4 July 2015 at 4:34pm

Ha! ha! In this case, indeed there is no doubt! Yes telling immediately that you are the developer would have certainly avoided a useless trouble because it is written nowhere that elcallio is the developer... Cheers.

PS: I LOVE your product! For me it is the best sample player ever.

elcallio
elcallio
4 July 2015 at 8:49am

The free version has no usage restrictions. You can use it in commercial productions as you see fit.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

gbucher
gbucher
22 May 2017 at 10:14pm

This sampler deserves more love then the comments bellow from people not reading a manual and complaining for nonsense. This sampler (the free version, haven't tried Pro features yet) is in many aspects better then the bigger 500 dollar costing solutions like Kontakt: GUI size for example, proper drum-kit creation on dropping a group of files, better visualization of groups, zoom into zone editor, etc.

I have tried tons of samplers and they all have issues when you want to use them with your own samples.

If you want to buy a sampler that feels like a DAW, contains an app store and makes you feel creative because you have tons of sampled instruments on your hard drive, use these big players, pay a rent every two years and live the hype.

If you need something that does not get in your way when you want to work with your own samples, this one is the best I have found.

apiekarczyk
apiekarczyk
23 May 2017 at 5:07pm

I agree.

flusheddata
flusheddata
21 October 2017 at 7:13am

The best sampler ever.

gbucher
gbucher
2 June 2017 at 9:42pm

Being force to buy Kontakt 5 to playback some of my old stuff, I could make a detailed comparaison:

Kontakt 5: Cannot use a MIDI CC to pan a single group left/right: automation only goes up to around 50% left or right and instrument Pan has latency and does not change fast enough for individual sounds.
Tx16Wx: It just works as expected.

Kontakt 5: Using an LFO is basically like random: impossible to fix to host tempo or decide when it restarts.
Tx16Wx: You can choose between time and tempo, trigger between voice, note, group, etc. Works.

Kontakt 5: Zoom to click on a small zone ? You have to move the mouse and click +/-
Tx16Wx: Just use the scroll wheel.

Kontakt 5: Tiny GUI, impossible to change scale.
Tx16Wx: There is a large skin for high resolution screens.

Kontakt 5: ADSR Decay curve ? None and no way around this.
Tx16Wx: You can use the second level to simulate this (but curves would be a nice addition...)

Kontakt 5: Change the output channel of a group ? It's a mess and it asks you to restart all instances to validate the change (WTF ?)
Tx16Wx: You can use sends (pro feature). No need to restart anything of click in many places. Having a separate output for each group would be nice.

Kontakt 5: You made a mistake and want to undo ? Oh no, undo is disabled by default for "performance reasons". How come everyone manages undo without performance issues but they cannot solve it ?
Tx16Wx: Undo just works when you need it.

Of course to play your nki files, you need Kontakt, but the player does the job and the money is better spent with people actually listening to their users. Oh, unless you want to tweak some stuff in a library you paid lots of cash for... then you have to buy Kontakt, just to access your files in the encrypted blob... Or use DirectWave from Image Line to resample the thing.

If anyone needs a sampler to actually work with samples, Tx16Wx is the best I have found out of Kontakt, Independance, DirectWave, Phalanx (because the dongle makes it slow and crashes your DAW), Ableton Live's own sampler and others I don't remember.

Vospi
Vospi
2 June 2017 at 10:23pm

Thank you.

flusheddata
flusheddata
21 October 2017 at 7:08am

On the other hand I would not name Kontakt a sampler but a Digital Audio Processor instead.

Sample is a portion of audio used as a waveform for kind of synthesis purposes. I have seen kontakt libraries (flutes for instance) without sustain loop at all but all the blown note instead.

So TX16Wx is a TRUE sampler. Kontakt is not.

dlcatftwin
dlcatftwin
13 July 2017 at 3:28am

New "user" of TX16Wx - I say user loosely, as I have yet to find a host application that actually opens this as a plug-in.

Can someone provide me with a list of compatible host apps? I tend to use ProTools and Dig. Performer, though I also have others.

Thank you, .

dlcatftwin.

Vospi
Vospi
13 July 2017 at 10:21am

Have absolutely no problem opening it both in FL Studio and REAPER.

fmr
fmr
13 July 2017 at 11:02am

I have Digital Performer here (in Windows) and I have no problem in instantiating and use TX16W. Are you in Windows or Mac OS?

dlcatftwin
dlcatftwin
13 July 2017 at 3:41pm

Hi fmr and Vospi, .

Thanks for there responses. I/we use a Mac platform, and am going to try using DP 9 to initiate TX16 - am hoping this will be a working solution; currently we have several stations using MachFive 3, but the learning curve for that is pretty high - having to educate students to it is time-consuming.

I am not versed in FL Studio or Reaper, and we don't own either program (by FL, do you mean Felt Tip?)

Thanks again, .

DLC.

fmr
fmr
13 July 2017 at 4:11pm

My experience with Digital Performer on Mac OS X is that it's usually better to only use AU plug-ins (instead of VST, or both). Since TX16W also has an AU version, I would start with that one.

dlcatftwin
dlcatftwin
13 July 2017 at 5:30pm

Yes, I agree, that is where I am starting. I am sure others have asked this question: is there a user manual anywhere for TX16? Perhaps posted on the KVR website somewhere.

I have successfully mounted TX as a DP instrument and experimented a bit - it keeps dropping my loop settings, and want to investigate a "why" in the instructions before posting a help.

Many thanks for all the responses.

DLC.

fmr
fmr
13 July 2017 at 6:38pm

In the download section - http://www.tx16wx.com/download/ - you have both a manual a quick start guide ;-)

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

fmr
fmr
13 July 2017 at 6:37pm

In the download section - http://www.tx16wx.com/download/ - you have both a manual a quick start guide ;-)

FiveCharacters1s
FiveCharacters1s
7 August 2017 at 1:15pm

Hello, can I use tx16wx (Not pro version) in making commercial music?

elcallio
elcallio
7 August 2017 at 1:23pm

Yes. The free version is free. See similar discussion above.

layzer
layzer
7 August 2017 at 3:21pm

yes, you can even use OnePingOnly to make commercial music if you are creative enough.

eazypop
eazypop
19 August 2017 at 10:12am

is it possible to record samples from external sound sources and assign them to specific keys without using the mouse and screen (midi mapping)?? and also will this run on a raspberry pi? and what about audio files, can the sourcefile be from an external drive?

dlcatftwin
dlcatftwin
20 August 2017 at 7:21pm

Greetings, .

I am going through the "Get Started" manual for TX16Wx to further acquaint myself with its innate operations. Almost immediately it refers to a sample library that is assumed that I have- is this accurate? Is there a download that I missed? I can identify and upload a picture of the passage if that helps, but at first curious if this sounds familiar to any of you seasoned TX16 users.

Thank you for reading, .

DLC (dlcatftwin)

dlcatftwin
dlcatftwin
20 August 2017 at 7:24pm

Oh, never mind...I believe I simply read it too quickly (slow down, grasshopper!).

Cheers, .

DLC.

Greetings, .

I am going through the "Get Started" manual for TX16Wx to further acquaint myself with its innate operations. Almost immediately it refers to a sample library that is assumed that I have- is this accurate? Is there a download that I missed? I can identify and upload a picture of the passage if that helps, but at first curious if this sounds familiar to any of you seasoned TX16 users.

Thank you for reading, .

DLC (dlcatftwin)

dlcatftwin
dlcatftwin
23 October 2017 at 3:10am

Greetings, colleagues.

I have been plowing through the User Manual for the TX16Wx. Am hoping to create new instruments via proper sound samples (wave patterns) which of course require looping and loop points being set.

I've found no reference yet to loop points in the manual. Can someone point this out for me?

Oh, and is it possible to unselect (revert) actions from the Splitter?

Thank you, .

DLC.

elcallio
elcallio
23 October 2017 at 7:54am

Section 6.1.4 talk about assigning loops to splits (i.e. mappings).

Section 7.4 talks about creating and editing loops.

All operations except "bank clear" and "delete unused" are undoable in TX16Wx. All wave operations are non-destructive until you save the wave back to disk.

dlcatftwin
dlcatftwin
24 October 2017 at 12:58am

Thanks, elcallio - appreciate it.

I had an issue this afternoon where TX16 would not recognize my keyboard controller, and I found no place within the app preferences to allow me to pick a device - I plan on checking this out on another station (at home, for ex.) but is there an option for selecting your controller?

BTW, I am using TX16 as an AU plug-in within Digital Performer 9.

dlcatftwin
dlcatftwin
24 October 2017 at 1:14am

Greetings all, .

I have a simple question - how do I get TX16 to respond to my MIDI keyboard controller (which it does not do at this time). Is there a place to select this within the app?

BTW, I am using TX16 as an AU plug-in within Digital Performer 9 - also I attempted to wade through the "Getting Started" manual, and I had to stop after page 1 - apparently the Getting Started Manual is for TX16 as a stand-alone application? None of what was being demonstrated was available in the plug-in, no chance to choose a new instrument on new track, no routing options, etc. So I simply drag and drop but the wave file does not respond to keyboard control, .

AND so far none of the loop assignments work (there is no looping of the designated audio).

What's up!?

Thanks for any consideration.

Regards, .

DLC.

dlcatftwin
dlcatftwin
24 October 2017 at 1:05am

Thanks, elcallio - appreciate it.

I had an issue this afternoon where TX16 would not recognize my keyboard controller, and I found no place within the app preferences to allow me to pick a device - I plan on checking this out on another station (at home, for ex.) but is there an option for selecting your controller?

BTW, I am using TX16 as an AU plug-in within Digital Performer 9.

elcallio
elcallio
24 October 2017 at 8:03am

Please do not use the comment section as a help forum. There is an actual help forum here.

TX16Wx is a plug-in. It has no knowledge of MIDI controllers. This is the job of the host application, which routes all MIDI to whatever destination is set.

dlcatftwin
dlcatftwin
26 October 2017 at 4:03am

Thank you for the redirect, elcallio. I will post my query there.

dlcatftwin.

solomute
solomute
5 March 2018 at 5:20pm

can anyone upload version 1.0.0.7. Second version totally freezes all pcs of different hw configurations for me.

Acesys
Acesys
28 March 2018 at 3:24am

I'm motivated to buy the pro version because sample mapping is way simple, but one problem: It's not known to export an SF2 or any standard format. Still, they claim its an XML file with (I think) the extension of ".txperf".

Much appreciated if someone knows if the extension could be changed to any format Extreme Sample Converter might pick up and convert to earlier Kontakt or SFZ format or something more universal?

I'd like a simple way to map samples and export in more popular formats to share.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
28 March 2018 at 4:45pm

Hello.

If you read the page 45 of the manual you can see that TX16Wx reads (imports) these formats.

But it doesn't write (export) these formats.

If you want to create SF2 files you can use one of these two freewares :

  1. Synthfont (the version 1 is freeware, the version 2 is "cheapware").
  2. Polyphone

And if you want to create SFZ files, I strongly suggest you to use one of these:

  1. SFZ Designer
  2. Folder-to-SFZ Converter

And to read them and make combinations from several imported files to create and save TX16Wx banks (txbank files), performances, programs (and you can choose an internal icon representing an instrument for each program), modified wav files, matrices of waves, fxb projects (a kind of bank compatible with the DAW, with the automation settings... and with or without the used wav files in a subdirectory).

TX16Wx is a sampler (to make new wav files or to modify existing wav files) and a very powerful instrument, but it is not a converter of formats from a package (SFZ, SF2, GIG, etc.) to another format of package.

Cheers.

Acesys
Acesys
29 March 2018 at 12:27am

BlackWinny that's a great list you have, will help many people out I'm sure. But if you check on the following link, there's a user-created app that will convert what TX16Wx exports - to SFZ. The app is called tx2sfz2016II.

https://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=213&t=460513

Converting from SFZ is super easy fo course, and I used Extreme Sample Converter to convert mine to Kontakt (.nki) and SF2 formats. Any converter should work.

I can't vouch for using that app beyond my first try - there are so many choices It looks like it can get complicated and maybe I had beginner's luck.

Still this is exactly what I was looking for in a sampler and I'll be buying the Pro version ASAP.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
29 March 2018 at 1:46pm

Very cool exchange of information, Acesys.

I didn't know this tool from mccy. I'm going to ask him for a copy.

Cheers.

Acesys
Acesys
29 March 2018 at 8:48pm

The link is right there in the page. THAT was what made me realize TX as my new sampler. My needs are actually on the simple side, just to map waves easily and export in some format I could share.

But after reading the Quick Start guide, wow TX is over the top. I haven't touched the manual even. This is going to be fantastic. But I won't say more until I've bought mine, and wish me luck because I've got challenges sometimes.

Please log in to join the discussion

TX16Wx Software Sampler

Average user rating of 5.00 from 1 review

CWITEC
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
133 people have added TX16Wx Software Sampler to 23 My KVR groups 163 times
+19 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 66  51  66

30-Day: 80; 7-Day: 49; Yesterday: 72

Advertisements