Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 NewWhat is KVR? Submit News Advertise

User Reviews by KVR Members for VOPM

Rate & Review VOPM Now!

Reviewed By Dan_E10 [read all by] on 21st July 2015
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
10.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This is a free gem that seems to be pretty unknown outside of chip tune circles. Apparently it is not finished yet but it may be abandoned at this time. Still, the sound is excellent and it is definitely worth a try even if you have other FM VST's already.

The controls on this synth are not intuitive to figure out due to the slightly different naming conventions and abreviations and the lack of an English manual. There seems to have been an English translation at some point but the links are dead now. After watching one of the youtube tutorials on this synth everything makes sense though and it is a fairly simple synth to operate as FM synths go. The sound is excellent and really nails the 4 operator Yamaha sound. I did a comparison with a simple bass patch from an old Yamaha PSR keyboard. I tried to recreate it in VOPM, Dexed, and FM8. Surprisingly, I could only match it with VOPM no matter how long I playing with envelopes and levels. VOPM also seems to recreate by default some of the digital noise artifacts of the OPM chip. I'm not sure if these are due to aliasing or truncation due to the low resolution envelope and sine wave table lookup math. Regardless of the cause, VOPM has a grungy slightly low fi sound depending on the patch.

Dan.

Latest 1 review from a total of 1

Discussion: Active

Discussion

26 August 2013 at 5:08ammridlen

Here's a ton of patches (*.opm files) from Sega Genesis games: http://truechiptilldeath.com/blog/2010/05/04/opm-patches-out-of-most-genesis-games/

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

1 March 2015 at 8:26pmmrkenallen

This library will not work on the Mac version because, while these are technically text files, they are Windows text files, and the Mac version of this VST only seems to understand Unix text files. The difference is DOS and Windows text files end with both the line feed and carriage return ASCII characters, where Unix text files end with just the line feed.

There are some methods of converting between the two file formats, but with more than 2600 files in this archive, anyone undertaking a conversion is in for a long slog.

1 March 2015 at 10:11pmBlackWinny

You can use this native OS X batch command quasi-unknown by the users but which works very, very well:

http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?story=20060309220909384

5 July 2015 at 6:49pmclbna

I cant get Black Winny's command to work, can you please explain how do you convert opm files to be mac readable ?

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

23 December 2015 at 12:20amiridkid

Do you still have link to the mac text files, Trivorak? The link is dead. Thanks.

29 December 2015 at 1:51amtrivorak

Sorry I must have deleted the files when I cleaned out my Dropbox. The new link is this https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BxZ5LYx-MoziVzR6US1LYVRUeDA

Just and FYI i found that the AU plugin wouldn't load the files but the VST would.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

26 February 2016 at 4:30amDrWashington

Here's the English manual: http://www.mediafire.com/download/kc7ub6b5zp052ds/VOPM.pdf

And, a direct link to my original thread with all the other links, lest the one below ever go away: http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=100&t=277864

Please log in to join the discussion

VOPM

Average user rating of 10.00 from 1 review

Sam
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
46 people have added VOPM to 12 My KVR groups 56 times
+6 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 97  75  97  6

30-Day: 105; 7-Day: 98; Yesterday: 79

Advertisements