Login / Register 00 items | $0.00 New@

User Reviews by KVR Members for VProm

Rate & Review VProm Now!

Reviewed By torridgristle [read all by] on 2nd February 2019
Version reviewed: v2.0.3 on Windows.
Last edited by torridgristle on 2nd February 2019.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

VProm is the single most accurate and useful Linn LM-1 emulation I've found, possibly because it is the only one to actually emulate the hardware rather than play back some recorded samples. The big draw for this is the hihat which is actually a constantly looping sound with an amplitude envelope that opens up over it whenever the hihat is triggered; this causes each hihat hit to sound different which makes it sound more alive or organic. My singular gripe regarding this is the inability to load a custom hihat EPROM to loop like the original hihat, instead it only plays custom EPROMs as a one-shot.

Tuning samples down low causes the sounds to have a familiar gritty sound that you can't achieve in a modern day by just pitching down a sample and playing it back slower, and this is much appreciated as that gritty aliased sound is exactly what I wanted: Gritty, not muffled.

Each sound can have its own unique output from the plugin, allowing you to put your own effects on each drum sound while only using one instance of VProm.

Regarding custom EPROMs, this is where VProm gets even more fun for me. You can create authentically formatted sounds using Promenade from Electrongate (do not use wav2dmx or dmxwav as the math is reportedly incorrect) and load them into VProm to hear your own samples played back through an accurately modelled AM6070 DAC and optionally (on by default) CEM 3320 VCF filters on the bass, conga, and tom sounds that were in the original LM-1 hardware in order to remove noise from the tail-end of the drum sounds.

Additionally, the Oberheim DMX uses the same DAC as the Linn LM-1, and thus VProm can load its EPROMs with no trouble and it sounds, due to the similar hardware, pretty much just like the Oberheim DMX.

If you want an authentic vintage sampler sound, VProm is how you get it.

Reviewed By BrockHardcastle [read all by] on 22nd May 2014
Version reviewed: 7 on Windows
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

The VLINN by Aly James Lab is without a doubt the best VST drum machine out there for drum machine sounds. Period. Wave Alchemy, UVI, and others make emulations, but they don't touch the sound or features available here.

The LM-1 is a classic, and it's instantly recognizable for its punch, heft, and clarity and it's all recaptured here. The VLINN doesn't use samples, it uses the actual EPROM data and reads it in real time. Every sample I've paid for over the years are now useless because this thing does it all. You can alter the pitch of the samples; you can edit the cutoff/decay of the hi hats; you can route each channel to its own individual channel in your DAW for further processing. The best part about that is that it's automatically setup that way when opening the program.

BUT The most exciting feature of this program is the ability to load 4K, 8K, and 16K EPROM BIN files in to it. So that means that the DMX, DX, Drumtraks, and more are all instantly ready to pop in. Further to that, you can sample whatever other machine you want; convert the WAV to a BIN; then load it in to the machine. It's then run through all the modeled circuitry.

I can't say enough good things about the VLINN. It's absolutely essential for any fans of drum machines, the 80s sound, the Minnesota funk sound, and more.

Aly James knows what he's doing and doesn't cut corners or omit features. The big guys should take notes from his work and ear for authenticity.

Latest 2 reviews from a total of 2

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
murnau
murnau
25 May 2014 at 6:09am

wav2bin? then the samples you bought before not so useless as you said or? :-)

BrockHardcastle
BrockHardcastle
26 May 2014 at 7:14pm

My LM-1 samples are now useless and don't sound half as good as this. I would not load an inferior sample of the LM-1 in to the machine that already has pristine LM-1 BIN files in it. My other samples on the other hand are great to change to BIN and drop in to this thing. Gives them a new life.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
26 May 2014 at 7:42pm

Yes, it's another new evidence that the modelling synthesis is the real future instead of the sample based instruments. First in sample based instruments, the sound can't be alive by itself (it needs effects to give it life) while in physically (or electronically) modelled synthesis the sound is alive in itself, by mathematical progressions, and second... while gigabytes of samples are needed in sample based synthesis, just some megabytes (a thousand times less) is enough for a modelling synthesis instrument... which will have a far better quality.

Thohi
Thohi
3 February 2017 at 4:39pm

The name of this entry really should be changed to reflect the current name of the product.

argealis
argealis
4 March 2018 at 6:53pm

I have a question about your the possibility to load additional banks :
If I load anadditional bank and if after I want to go back to original one, will it be necessary to re-load the default bank?
Where is located (on a Mac) this default bank (maybe called "vProm-Default.fxp")?
Thank you for your help.

Please log in to join the discussion

VProm

Average user rating of 5.00 from 2 reviews

Aly James Lab
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
45 people have added VProm to 13 My KVR groups 71 times
+8 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 512  391  507

30-Day: 566; 7-Day: 1026; Yesterday: 1412

Logic Pro All-Stars Tips 'N Tricks - Logic Pro X 303Studio Series - Recording Drums - Logic Pro X 503Mixing With Neutron 3 - Neutron 3 101Synthi V Explored - Arturia V 105Auto-Tune EFX+ Video Manual - Auto-Tune 101