Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. aciddose
  4. »
  5. Xhip Synthesizer
  6. »
  7. Reviews

Xhip Synthesizer

 My KVR
Synth Plugin by aciddose

Xhip Synthesizer has an average user rating of 4.67 from 3 reviews

Rate & Review Xhip Synthesizer

User Reviews by KVR Members for Xhip Synthesizer

Reviewed By ccowkey [read all by] on February 17th, 2015
Version reviewed: 7 on Windows

Excellent quality generator and beautiful UI.

I would love to see more generators from this source. Their effects are wonderful as well.

Click here to read all 3 reviews

Comments & Discussion for aciddose Xhip Synthesizer

Discussion
Discussion: Active

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

murnau
murnau
17 March 2013 at 1:51pm

after reading your positive review i dont understand your 7/10 rating.

dakkra
dakkra
18 March 2013 at 7:10pm

Lack of unison and a few pops/clicks while editing is what ruined it. Unison is somewhat easy to get over because I can easily do some stereo work in my DAW but the pops and clicks really do it in. Who honestly likes to hear a random *POP!* right in the middle of their track? Those two brought it down to 7/10. If unison was added I would rate 8/10. Fix the pops and clicks and I would rate 9/10. Fix both and you got 10/10.

aciddose
aciddose
22 March 2013 at 3:13am

If you could identify how to reproduce any clicks or pops and check that they also occur in the alpha version and report them to me, I'd appreciate it a lot. I have never experienced any clicks or pops during normal use of the current release of Xhip. It does produce some pops when changing specific parameters such as waveform, filter mode and others but "random" isn't accurate when describing those.

The latest alpha version has fixed the pops generated when switching oscillator waveforms.

fluffy_little_something
fluffy_little_something
19 March 2013 at 2:22pm

Actually, I am very surprised, it sounds excellent. Great filters :) But it comes at a price, just like Diva it consumes a lot of CPU as soon as you use unison :o.

I was just playing around with the slow brass preset, there are no clicks at all. I guess it depends on certain settings like attack and release velocity, but that applies to almost every synth.

Some of the presets are set way too loud.

dakkra
dakkra
19 March 2013 at 3:58pm

Most likely. As I said this is a steal for being a free synth. I got my pops when I was editing the filter cutoff. Then again I was an a different computer. I'll try it out again and see how it goes.

fluffy_little_something
fluffy_little_something
19 March 2013 at 4:09pm

Seems that sometimes there is a click when turning on unison first, then adding supersaw. When you turn the unison knob again, like from 4 to 5 and then back to 4, then the click is gone.

aciddose
aciddose
22 March 2013 at 3:15am

Those sorts of bugs are also things that I'd really appreciate being tested on the latest alpha and reported if they have not yet been fixed.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

aciddose
aciddose
22 March 2013 at 3:10am

If you have any issues you should consider trying the alpha version available at http://xhip.net/alpha/ and reporting any issues you also find in that newer version.

Unison in Xhip is a "true" unison - it simply activates a multiple number of voices and applies detune to them. These are complete voices including 100% of the processing such as filters, waveshaper, envelopes, LFOs and so on. The CPU time required is exactly equal to that required for an equal number of voices. The voice counter will display 64 voices when using 16 polyphony and x4 unison, for example.

Oscillator unison is only supported for the ramp waveform but I hope to allow it on every waveform and provide more functionality in future releases.

fluffy_little_something
fluffy_little_something
1 March 2015 at 1:34am

The links above lead to some outdated site...

aciddose
aciddose
1 March 2015 at 2:39am

Which links are those?

If you mean the alpha page, it was last updated "14 Feb 2015 19:10".

fluffy_little_something
fluffy_little_something
1 March 2015 at 10:12am

Both the Xhip and Aciddose links led to this site last night:

http://ww2.presetexchange.com/?folio=435329566&bkt=10279&gkwrf=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.kvraudio.com%2Fproduct%2Fxhip-by-aciddose.

Oddly, now only the Aciddose link does...

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
1 March 2015 at 2:39pm

Yes. It means that the domain name xhip.net remains the only available. The domain presetexchange.com is now left, so returned back for sale by the Domain Marketplace for any new interested future owner, xhip.net remaining the only available for the Aciddose users and visitors.

Therefore Aciddose should now update the developer link in the current KVR product page, simply. He will probably do after having read our two comments.

aciddose
aciddose
1 March 2015 at 8:19pm

Actually it seems someone picked up the domain and this is a nasty parked page with redirects to advertisers.

One would hope they would "fix" the mangled corpse of the domain name system by limiting the number of registrations one person/corporation can make using some sort of sliding pricing scale but they seem to have decided to launch a zombie army of fresh TLDs instead.

aciddose
aciddose
1 March 2015 at 8:13pm

That is odd actually, I suppose I must have never bothered to update the developer link. I'm certain the product page link was working though as I regularly get redirects from it to http://xhip.net/synth/.

Thanks for the heads-up! Unfortunately KVR doesn't allow no URL on the "developer" section so I suppose this can just remain the link to the main Xhip site.

fluffy_little_something
fluffy_little_something
3 March 2015 at 4:49pm

Is there a feedback thread? According to this page there is only one thread on Xhip, which is from 2013...

aciddose
aciddose
3 March 2015 at 9:12pm

I'm not sure what you mean by "feedback thread".

fluffy_little_something
fluffy_little_something
3 March 2015 at 9:17pm

Well, my opinion and potential bugs, which I suppose I should not post here ;)

aciddose
aciddose
3 March 2015 at 10:07pm

You can always contact me via PM or email if you like. The alpha page on the site describes that and I've tried to list as many issues as I'm aware of there.

As for any issues in the previous (7) version, these won't ever be "fixed" as they are until the next release unless they're major, such as a crash or similar. I haven't heard any reports of such issues. If that sort of issue did exist it would be possible for me to fix it, but these sort of "fixes" would just be back-patches to the old version while the same issues are most likely no longer present in the alpha.

Vospi
Vospi
30 August 2015 at 11:17pm

Hey, what's about this "7.0" stuff? Talking about version history of course.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

aciddose
aciddose
5 March 2020 at 5:20pm

(Simplified reply: original was 30 Aug 2015).

The version number system I use: gamma-beta-alpha-revision. When the Xhip KVR product page was initially created it used "0.x". Gamma versions are separate series (I.e; star-trek vs. the next generation vs. ...) and so for Xhip will always be "gamma 0" and so that leading digit was dropped. Revision = minor fixes, no changes. Alpha = new features and other tweaks, only released for testing. Beta = significant changes, these are the main "stable" versions that last years with only bug-fixes and no major changes. Gamma = Some other new synthesizer, after Xhip.

soundpeaks
soundpeaks
5 March 2020 at 4:45pm

˜˜˜˜★★★★★.

This synth is super cool and incredibly underrated.

Reticular
Reticular
25 October 2020 at 8:39am

This is why i spend months digging thru old and forgotten topics, this is a serious gem. It is so musical. whoa.

Please log in to join the discussion