Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. User Reviews

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by elviecho

Review Something or Find Reviews

Reviewed By elviecho [read all by] on May 27th, 2022
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows

I simply love this thing. You may think: "Ok, a vocoder. What's new or surprising about that?"
Yes, it is a vocoder with the ability to lock a scale but it is so much more: harmonizer, autotune-like pitch-shifter, 8-voice synth, multi-effect tool...you can even use it for vocal-to-midi like Dubler.
Ovox is one of those plugins you should test on nearly every kind of sound.
For e.g. it is amazing on drums. Just load it on your drumchannel and go through the many really cool presets. Try the demo, you will not regret it.

Sometimes you can get it on sale for $30, an absolute bargain!

Reviewed By elviecho [read all by] on March 21st, 2022
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows.
Last edited by elviecho on 21st March 2022.

Beautiful sounding guitar. I've used the free version several times but in the meantime I bought the full version. Easy to use, nice presets, great sound. Again a fine instrument by Quiet Music.

Reviewed By elviecho [read all by] on January 25th, 2022
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows

This is so retro. :-) Reminds me on my first experiments with digital sound in the late 80's.
Sounds real, looks real. No problems in Mulab. I like it.

Reviewed By elviecho [read all by] on December 3rd, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.24 on Windows

This thing is crazy! I had fun for hours while studying it's possibilities. What a toy!
For me there are two ways to use it: First is to click "make new kit" and the pattern dice and to drag out this completely randomized pattern into my DAW. Then I use this as a starting point for inspiration.
Second way is to use all the great possibilities to make a drum kit and a drum track from scratch.
There are so much ways to create/shape every single sound. All packed into a wondeful GUI, easy to understand and pure fun to use. The sounds are clear but in my opinion often very aggressive in the mids,
so, the first thing I do before I use Drumcomputer, is to put a presetted EQ after it.
You have to accept that this thing is not made to get some real acoustic sounding drums out of it but it is my first choice for electronic drums and for quick sketching a drumtrack.
The only thing I wonder about is why it's not possible to automate the drum pattern dice in the sequencer...??
That would be great for live performances. But anyway, 5 overall stars from me.

Reviewed By elviecho [read all by] on December 3rd, 2021
Version reviewed: 2.3 on Windows

Big Bang offers a wide range of drumsounds and most of them are really good sounding. The possibilities to shape the output are nothing special so I prefer to do this with other plugins or my DAW.
In view of the price Big Bang Drums is worth a recommendation.
Only thing I complain about is the time it takes for starting this plugin.

Reviewed By elviecho [read all by] on November 23rd, 2021
Version reviewed: 8 on Windows

I dont know how accurate all these Emulations are but who cares? They all sound beautiful and the possibilities are really great because Arturia added nice extras to each plugin which the original hardware lacks of. For example: Have you ever tried to make a sound from scratch with a DX7? It is no fun, believe me! But the Arturia DX7 is completely different. It looks like the original but the concept behind is totally user friendly.
I dont have MrJubblys problems. Okay, the loading times for some of the plugins are a bit long but I made projects with up to 16 instances of Arturia synths without any problem and I never faced this unwanted Arturia-software-center-screen.
Sometimes problems are caused by the used hardware, but it is so much easier to make the developer responsible for every trifle.
However, the V Collection is fantastic. Now, on black friday, you will get 27 instruments for € 299...that means you pay less than € 11 per carefully crafted instrument. Think about that!

Reviewed By elviecho [read all by] on November 15th, 2021
Version reviewed: 3 on Windows

I love Playbeat 2, nothing wrong with this great plugin.
After the update I was a little disappointed, mainly about the GUI.
In my opinion the old one was more logically structured and, that is the main point of my critisism, it was much better to read. I hate this grey on grey shit. I think I furthermore use Playbeat 2.
To all developers: Please don't sacrifice the workflow for the look.

Reviewed By elviecho [read all by] on November 15th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows

This is a great gate, useful and fun too. Do what your plan was or just hit the random button, the results are nice. One star minus because of the GUI, some labels are very hard to read. Grey text on a grey surface...why??? Same thing in the actual version of Playbeat, the old GUI was much more usable.

Reviewed By elviecho [read all by] on November 15th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows

Wow, Chow!
This is the first dedicated kick plugin after Solcitos Toum! that I will keep after I've tested it.
The GUI is a great example for "less is more". One look and you know what to do.
But more important: the kicks are really great sounding.
Nice Job.

Reviewed By elviecho [read all by] on November 15th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows

Reminds me on any Infected Sounds synth, undistinguished with boring presets.
Don't waste money! Look out for the really great free stuff instead: U-He, Fullbucket, Matt Tytel...