Product Reviews
by KVR Members

All reviews by luCiPHer

Review Something
or Find Reviews
Lounge Lizard EP-4 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By luCiPHer [read all by] on 20th January 2004
Version reviewed: 2.0 on Windows
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
The Lounge Lizard is no e-piano emulation, it can easily sound like any e-piano you have ever dreamed of, but it can be much more.
you want organ-like sounds? no problem.
bells? no problem.
synthie sounds? no problem.
percussive sounds? no problem (you can make a bassdrum if you want!)
you can create clicky sounds, effect sounds, noisy stuff, pads...

there are some examples for exotic sounds within the presets.

don't get me wrong, lounge lizard is not a "real synthie", all sounds will sound like a "keyboard", but it's physical modelling is extremely flexible.
and of course its strength are e-pianos of all kinds, vintage, mutated, modern ...everything is possible.

it has some vintage effects onboard as well, simple but effective.
i'd still like some kind of distortion unit, but you can add that of course.


lounge lizard is also fun to play, it simply feels like "something real", it's organic, metallic, woody...

soundquality is great.

gui is nice.

polyphony seems limited, just 32 voices.

it eats quite some cpu, be prepared.

lounge lizard never crashed for me.

i love this instrument and i use it in almost every project.
Hydra [read all reviews]
Reviewed By luCiPHer [read all by] on 28th July 2003
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows.
Last edited by luCiPHer on 30th July 2003.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
The Hydra is a great update for the Junglist.
The Junglist was allready great and *different*, the Hydra is simply better.
Extremely easy to program, great and unique sound, "easy on the eyes interface" (well, it looks boring but works) and some features you won't find in any other VSTI out there.
Personally i don't like the presets, they are boring and don't show the Power of Hydra, but it's really easy to create impressive sounds within Miniutes after loading it, and that's a good thing.
Plex - Restructuring Synthesizer [read all reviews]
Reviewed By luCiPHer [read all by] on 30th January 2003
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
i think plex is underrated.
It got some bad reviews, and it seems nobody talks about it anymore.
and that's wrong. Ppex can produce some very cool and unique sounds, the samples it's based on may not sound very good on their own, but combining them and playing with the lfos (extremely flexible lfo's btw) and adsr and stuff is the real strength of plex.
the sound definately sound digital, not analog at all, but alive, breathing, and NOT cheap.
this synth (you should treat it as a synth, not as a sampleplayer)is one of the few really unique synths out there that are godd and USABLE as well.

and of course the interface simply rocks, one of the best interfaces i've seen so far. and it's easy to use, and the manual is ok as well.
you can't go wrong with plex if you want to add some unique sounds to your collection.
Atmosphere [read all reviews]
Reviewed By luCiPHer [read all by] on 12th January 2003
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by luCiPHer on 12th January 2003.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is the first Synth i am using that is really samplebased (i have Plex, but that's different).
And it was a Suprise.
It sounds just great. The sounds are mostly atmospheric, there ARE some Leads and basses and Stuff, but you can get better Synths or Samples for those, but when it comes to Pads and things like taht i think Atmosphere ist the best Thing i have ever owned.
There are TONS of Presets and you can easily create new ones in Minutes.

Things that are not so great:
the GUI: it simply TOO BIG!
Installation: it took me about 9 hours to install because my system crashed several times.
Crystal [read all reviews]
Reviewed By luCiPHer [read all by] on 28th December 2002
Version reviewed: 2.4 on Windows.
Last edited by luCiPHer on 28th July 2003.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is possibly the best free Synth available (Synth1 and Iblit are close).
A LOT of Options, a really unique sound, gret Presets and a really usable Interface (ok, it's a bit ugly).
Do i need to say more?

With the latest Update Crystal became a high-quality ROMpler as well.

Just get it, it's free !!!
Z3TA+ [read all reviews]
Reviewed By luCiPHer [read all by] on 5th December 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by luCiPHer on 5th December 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
The Pentagon was great.
So I expected a lot, but the z3ta+ is better than i expected.
The sound ist fantastic, the Options endless (6 osc's, 6 lfo's, arpeggiator, built in effects, two filters etc.)
And it looks damn cool, not comparable to the Pentagon.
I think this one is my best Softsynth, go and get it :)