Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. User Reviews

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by dagtastik

Review Something or Find Reviews

Lowdown Bass Synthesizer

Reviewed By dagtastik [all]
May 14th, 2024
Version reviewed: Current on Mac

Huge Rush fan looking for THAT bass synth sound for a LONG time. Found it here. It's sounds convincing all the way down to the natural modulation you get from a Taurus. Easily created my Rush presets, but then discovered it's a pretty good lead synth, too.

Read Review
T-RackS 5

Reviewed By dagtastik [all]
May 14th, 2024
Version reviewed: Current on Mac

Bought this a while back and have taken advance of the Group Buys along the way. I have a TON of IK's plugins now; some I've never touched. However, I would buy them all over again for one single plugin that's included: The One. It's a simple compressor & EQ with only a few knobs. I'm no genius and still don't fully understand compression, but somehow, some way, I nailed the settings for The One, saved it as a preset, and have used it on EVERY song I've made over the last 5 years. The same preset, regardless of whether it's rock, synthwave, jazz, reggae, pop, electronic or whatever. I start a new project, throw The One on the master bus, call up my preset, and go to work. That's my process and it works. Get it.

Read Review
iLoud Micro Monitor

Reviewed By dagtastik [all]
May 14th, 2024
Version reviewed: Current on Any OS

Loved these so much, I bought a second set along with the carrying bag. So now I have my main studio, these hooked up to a kitchen iMac (now called Studio B, lol) and the second set on my desk at work (Studio C). Super easy to transport and set up in a hotel if you want to stay out of trouble while traveling. You're not going to get a lot of low end out of these, but that's not the purpose. They are VERY flat. I've mixed a lot of songs on these, listened back on my main studio monitors, and barely had to make corrections. And that's the point: They are really nice to mix with.

Read Review
RealStrat

Reviewed By dagtastik [all]
May 14th, 2024
Version reviewed: Current on Mac

Since 2019, I've been using Impact Soundworks libraries almost exclusively. I own S2, S3, Stratus, Jupiter, Rogue, Serpent, Abyss, Hydra and Riffage. I stumbled on MusicLab while surfing YouTube, downloaded the demo, worked with it for a few days, and bought RealLPC and RealStrat without hesitation. It's just so much easier to use the key switches with MusicLab's stuff. Much more control and the articulations are more convincing. And the support is incredible. I had a question about legato during the demo, emailed MusicLab, and got a response within 24 hours along with a quick video to further explain the solution. I've since chatted with John before buying. Further, they have a TON of tutorials posted that include the source files, settings and MIDI. This is something I've not seen from anyone else. They have a new customer.

Read Review
RealLPC

Reviewed By dagtastik [all]
May 14th, 2024
Version reviewed: Current on Mac

Since 2019, I've been using Impact Soundworks libraries almost exclusively. I own S2, S3, Stratus, Jupiter, Rogue, Serpent, Abyss, Hydra and Riffage. I stumbled on MusicLab while surfing YouTube, downloaded the demo, worked with it for a few days, and bought RealLPC and RealStrat without hesitation. It's just so much easier to use the key switches with MusicLab's stuff. Much more control and the articulations are more convincing. And the support is incredible. I had a question about legato during the demo, emailed MusicLab, and got a response within 24 hours along with a quick video to further explain the solution. I've since chatted with John before buying. Further, they have a TON of tutorials posted that include the source files, settings and MIDI. This is something I've not seen from anyone else. They have a new customer.

Read Review
EZdrummer 3

Reviewed By dagtastik [all]
May 14th, 2024
Version reviewed: Current on Mac

I've used EZD 2 on every song I've made for the last 4 years and love it. Wanted to Synthwave expansion so I ended up getting the EZDrummer 3 upgrade. It sounds so good I don't think I'll ever need Superior Drummer. Worth every penny.

Read Review
EZbass

Reviewed By dagtastik [all]
May 14th, 2024
Version reviewed: Current on Mac

Since purchasing this, it has been on every song that calls for bass guitar. With Darkglass Ultra inserted, it sounds fantastic. Not much else I can say other than I'll probably end up getting some expansions down the road.

Read Review
Jup-8 V 4

Reviewed By dagtastik [all]
May 14th, 2024
Version reviewed: Current on Mac

I have more VST collections, sounds, samples and libraries than I'll ever use in a lifetime. I have a problem. Having said that, whenever I open a new project, and after laying down drums, bass & guitar, and I'm ready for synth, I typically gravitate to one of the UVI or Arturia libraries. When it's Arturia, this is typically the synth I try first. More often than not, there's a preset that sounds very close to what I'm looking for. And if it needs tweaking, it's very easy to do so. Sounds fantastic and is easy to use.

Read Review
UVX80

Reviewed By dagtastik [all]
May 14th, 2024
Version reviewed: Current on Mac

This started my obsession with VSTs. As a teenager, I learned how to play synth on a friend's mom's Akai AX80. Subdivisions by Rush was the first patch I created and song I learned. Fast forward many years, I thought about the synth that got away and on a hunch, searched online for "Akai AX80 software synth" and there it was. Bought it, loaded it into GarageBand, loved it. Then remembered I used to toy around with Reason (version 2.5), looked that up and saw they were on Version 8, bought it, and way too much money later, here we are. This synth is AWESOME, as is anything by UVI. I have most of their synth collections now, but this is the one that started it for me.

Read Review
UAD Essentials Edition
Bundle
by Universal Audio
83%
Off
Best Budget Audio Interfaces for Music Production Studios Under $250
What's New @ KVR Audio
Should new DAWs be developed in 2024?by BertKoor @ 21:51 in Hosts & Applications (Sequencers, DAWs, Audio Editors, etc.)FS Komplete 13 select for 30 Eur (PayPal)by chordsndrums @ 21:51 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)A replacement for Cakewalk's Transient Shaper?by osiris @ 21:50 in EffectsFS Slate and Ash & Toontrack EZX/EBX & MReverbMB & HoRNet Custom Bundleby rosejules @ 21:45 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)Vlad Kreimer of SOMA supports russian ***by lotus2035 @ 21:42 in Everything Else (Music related)Minimal Audio Ripple Phaserby kidslow @ 21:40 in EffectsWhat are you listening to now? Look on my works, ye Mighty, and despair!by rp314 @ 21:34 in Everything Else (Music related)Any good plugins for guitar tones/amp simulators?by donkey tugger @ 21:29 in GuitarsOne Synth Challenge #184: ToneZ 2 by Retornz (TheNeverScene Wins!)by eraze the borders @ 21:29 in InstrumentsTimewARP 2600 dead going forward...?by electro @ 21:28 in InstrumentsBargain Center: discussion, gossip, etc.by masterhiggins @ 21:13 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)Continue this sentence with song lyricsby Aloysius @ 20:57 in Off Topic ClassicsPicking a DAW is hardÂ…by talby @ 20:56 in Getting Started (AKA What is the best...?)2024: A Year in Gear (What You've Bought or Want to Buy in 2024)by dark water @ 20:50 in Hardware (Instruments and Effects)Linux Users, What's You Distro Experience?by uOpt @ 20:49 in Computer Setup and System ConfigurationView All Latest Posts