Insert or send?

Official support for: artsacoustic.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Since AAR has neat and shiny dry/wet controls, I cannot see the need for using AAR as a send effect, unless you have a CPU intensive project (which for me, Cubases Freeze takes care of).

Even though I've been writing and recording music for many many years as a pure hobbyist, there are tons of things I don't know on this subject, so I could be dead wrong in my assumption.

How does anyone else use AAR? If I am correct in my assumption, I'll add to the wishlist thread a global setting for dry/wet so I don't need to dial the controls every time I use AAR as a new insert.
Brought to you by The Letter Z

Z wrote:Since AAR has neat and shiny dry/wet controls, I cannot see the need for using AAR as a send effect, unless you have a CPU intensive project (which for me, Cubases Freeze takes care of).
thats it:
why freeze if you don`t have to? ;)
Z wrote:Even though I've been writing and recording music for many many years as a pure hobbyist, there are tons of things I don't know on this subject, so I could be dead wrong in my assumption.
well, reverb is mostly (though not allways) used as a send effect. the reason for that has many issues.
just to name 2 of them:
if you make music, the following situation mostly occures:
you end up with a more or less (mostly more) filled up frequency range in the song. every signal you add mostly sits somewhere between 20hz and 22khz. if you add reverb to many signals, simply the same happens.
so mostly 2-3 different room characteristics are mostly enough for a song.
the second reason is very common to the first reason, but i explain that _very_ simplified:
the human ear cannot really identify more than 2-3 roomcharacteristics at a time, simply because it is not happening in nature.
you are allways in only one type of room, so you hear the different signals from where _you_ are.
this influences the_way_ you hear the original signals greatly.