1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Andreas Pohl
  4. »
  5. AudioGridder
  6. »
  7. Reviews

AudioGridder

 My KVR
DSP Server Plugin by Andreas Pohl

AudioGridder has an average user rating of 5.00 from 2 reviews

Rate & Review AudioGridder

User Reviews by KVR Members for AudioGridder

Reviewed By TITANAsx [read all by] on 10th February 2021
Version reviewed: 1.1.0 on Mac
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Great application, very stable the last version. Definately i will support it on future releases.

Reviewed By prashantmishra [read all by] on 29th April 2020
Version reviewed: Alpha on Mac.
Last edited by prashantmishra on 29th April 2020.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This is such a brilliant solution! Looking forward to a Windows version so that Mac and Windows systems can be used in parallel. Thank you so much for creating such an amazing tool.

Latest 2 reviews from a total of 2

Comments & Discussion for Andreas Pohl AudioGridder

Discussion
Discussion: Active
musicgreator
musicgreator
9 July 2020 at 2:39pm

It's very promising and already works well to some extend. I think this will be the tool of my choice.

apohl79
apohl79
17 January 2021 at 6:31pm

Thanks. We have new release coming up soon.

sekrit_studios
sekrit_studios
20 September 2020 at 5:46am

WHERE are the VSTs installed (Server or DAW system)???

At Which Step???

apohl79
apohl79
17 January 2021 at 6:30pm

VST is installed on the server. You can access it with the DAW plugin.

pestomusic
pestomusic
30 January 2021 at 12:01pm

So I just had a glance at your homepage as well as the github profile but I am not sure: does this mean I can run the server on mixed platforms (e.g. one Mac, one Windows machine) and use those on a Mac DAW with the plugin? Like having a "Windows Outboard" in a Mac (or Linux for that matter) DAW?

apohl79
apohl79
7 February 2021 at 12:35pm

Yes you can. You can also access AU plugins running on a Mac server from a DAW running on Windows or Linux.

bhcmusicgroup
bhcmusicgroup
3 February 2021 at 10:52am

When I realized that SoundGrid system was only proprietary at the software level and that the machines were just custom made intel workstations, I became most excited about the prospect of building out my own DSP network. However, I was shocked that there wasn't any soundgrid alternatives commercially available, but a double shocker once I tracked down AudioGribber discussions deep into a pc audio forum where they speak so technical, It might as well be klingon!

I am most thankful for this being opensourced as this will enable so many within the music creator community access to a tool and solution to overcome the financial barrier to acquiring current industry grade workstations. i APPLAUD this effort!.

apohl79
apohl79
7 February 2021 at 12:37pm

Thanks! :-).

dermage
dermage
25 March 2021 at 10:54pm

just discovered this awesome tool. quite stable (only a few GUI things depending on the VST used) but nothing serious.

thanks for your time and effort to offer this for free.

will definitely donate as long as I use it.

will there maybe be an option (if the Server is not available) to load the actual VST in the plugin, to not be always relying on an available server?
Also it would be possible to host the Server on a multi core machine on the same computer (maybe in a VM) to offload processing from the DAW's threads.

apohl79
apohl79
19 April 2021 at 3:55pm

Yes, you can host the server with VM, for example, parallel. Just keep in mind that it uses your main CPU power as well. Ideally, use a slave PC is a better solution.

You have to have a server running to host the plugins to run in AG.

dermage
dermage
19 April 2021 at 4:25pm

yeah, I asked that intentionally.

I have a 16 core CPU and my DAW can't (or won't) use all cores by itself. Usually because of sidechaining only 2 cores can be used by the DAW itself.

When I now use another core which is free on the same machine (by affinity) I can run bigger sessions. Of course a bit of latency is introduced, but that's no problem for me in mixing/mastering.

I don't get it why DAWs still don't allow to process a track on more than one core. Probably the synchronization of data across cores is hard to implement, but this would be the solution for so many problems in these times where core counts are getting higher but not IPC.

musicgreator
musicgreator
19 April 2021 at 5:04pm

I also noticed when hosting plugins on AG on the same machine, I can have way more instances than in Reaper (DAW) itself. I tested this mostly with plugins in series, because that's where dropouts usually happen at some point. AG seems to be able to handle way more plugins without dropouts than Reaper, perhaps because it can be set to greater buffer sizes? Bit I distributed the plugins by 8 plugin instances per AudioGridder Plugin. I didn't put AudioGridder Server on a virtual Machine, I accessed it by typing in 127.0.0.1 as the server address in the AG plugin.

musicgreator
musicgreator
19 April 2021 at 6:04pm

I just successfully switched an AG instance between local server and another machine. Seems no problem as long as the plugin name and format is the same on the other machine.

It would be great to be able to perhaps set some sort of rule how to search for different versions of the plugin on different machines. Let's say I have VST versions on one machine, but Audiounit versions on the other, AG could load the AU version on this particular machine. Would be a great feature for cross platform compatibility etc.

dontstealfocus
dontstealfocus
6 May 2021 at 8:09pm

Thanks apohl79 for your awesome program! I've discovered it not so long and in my tests and it works really good! I have some minors issues and it will be could if you can look into them for your future releases:

- i'm using it on Local mode (version 1.1.1) on win 7 64-bit, and the position of the inserted plugins in AGridder is never remembered (always opens on the left corner of the screen).

- plugins inserted on AGridder don't stay on top of the other windows, when using them as soon as i click somewhere else on my DAW there dissapear and go to the bottom of the openned windows.

- when reoppening a session that had AGridder, Algouth the loaded plugins are remembered and work fine, AGridder is blank like when you first start it without plugins. And if i close it's window and reoppen it now it shows the loaded plugins correctly.

- the loaded plugins steal focus of the keyboard, so pressing the spacebar don't start playing the DAW.

All these tests concern mostly the VST format(DAW used was Fl Studio 20) and the results were the same with Protools 12 but after having load AGridder in a very heavy Protools session with a very CPU heavy plugin that session won't load anymore, so will report perhaps later if needed for the aax format.

Thanks again for this awesome solution given freely, tha'ts very generous.

Please log in to join the discussion