Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Chowdhury DSP
  4. »
  5. ChowTape
  6. »
  7. Reviews

ChowTape

 My KVR
Tape Distortion Plugin by Chowdhury DSP

ChowTape has an average user rating of 5.00 from 8 reviews

Rate & Review ChowTape

User Reviews by KVR Members for ChowTape

Reviewed By cdolar [read all by] on June 6th, 2021
Version reviewed: 2.8 on Mac.
Last edited by cdolar on 6th June 2021.

This is such a great plugin! Thanks for sharing.

It gives immediate "warmth" to your track, but can also be used to create weird sounding effects.

Reviewed By kingocounty [read all by] on May 24th, 2021
Version reviewed: 2.8 on Linux

This is by far the closest to actual tape 'vibe' that I've come across in a plugin. And it's open source and there are Linux builds available. And it's free (though I subscribed to the dev's Patreon). What else could you ask for?

Reviewed By Tagirijus [read all by] on February 13th, 2021
Version reviewed: 2.7.0 on Windows

The ChowTape is easy to use and it sounds incredible. Also it is not only totally free, but also open source, which I find really likeable.

Reviewed By rbn777 [read all by] on December 19th, 2020
Version reviewed: 2.7 on Windows

Probably the most versatile and brilliant sounding tape simulator out there at the moment, and it's free.

Reviewed By JHEB [read all by] on December 13th, 2020
Version reviewed: 2.7.0 on Windows

This thing rivals even the best (and most expensive) paid tape emulators out there. Try it yourselves! Consider supporting the creator through his patreon account if you like it.

Reviewed By Vospi [read all by] on December 6th, 2020
Version reviewed: 2.7 on Windows

This is so awesome.

I'm so glad that you've uploaded it here, otherwise I would've never heard of it. Please post updates. The work is amazing, the sound is SO TRUE TO LIFE when keep the output clipping at bay. I love the way it diminishes highs and adds hiss. It's fantastic.

So happy that someone've implemented physical modelling, and in a free plugin, and with a relatively short delay, and with a dry/wet knob.

Thank you.

Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on December 1st, 2020
Version reviewed: 2.7.0 on Windows

Interesting plugin, good sounding, natural saturation combined with nice, more or less decent modulation and other sound shaping options. Some presets even remind me a little bit of a Leslie in slow mode.

Reviewed By C.Ray [read all by] on December 1st, 2020
Version reviewed: v2.7.0 on Windows

Very nice tape machine & plenty of character & options! Thank you.

Cons: Has a few hiccups adjusting controls with a few audio pops glitches but works after set.. In need of a few updates IMO.. UI scaling is a bit buggy but not too bad..

Latest 8 reviews from a total of 8

Comments & Discussion for Chowdhury DSP ChowTape

Discussion
Discussion: Active
SumnSumnSumn
SumnSumnSumn
5 December 2020 at 3:55am

This is probably the most solid free tape VST plugin i've ever used. Good work. i completed a review and demo on it. You can find it here. https://youtu.be/gwzL5wmbBik.

Turello
Turello
7 December 2020 at 6:14am

Suggest to add some zero latency mode...

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

neytcev
neytcev
7 December 2020 at 11:11pm

None of Chowdhury DSP plugins pass Logic validation in vers. 10.1, OS X 10.10.

Please log in to join the discussion