Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Emagic
  4. »
  5. EVP73
  6. »
  7. Reviews

EVP73

 My KVR
Electric Piano Plugin by Emagic
No Longer Available

EVP73 has an average user rating of 3.14 from 7 reviews

Rate & Review EVP73

User Reviews by KVR Members for EVP73

Reviewed By bandasound [read all by] on February 4th, 2004
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by bandasound on 4th February 2004.
I agree ...it does sound good to me...i have used other samples and still go to EVP...would like to see an update from Emagic (unless i dont know about it)...try running thru OhmBOyz Hematohm preset #8 with a nice reverb....man can you say silky smooth...gold plated 70s...and yes i use the crap out of it in Sonar...dont get me wrong...the options are limited and it has a tick at the begining of each note (what is up with that)?

emagic..stop being mean to your Window customers and update this...
Reviewed By Emerald Tablet [read all by] on April 15th, 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 ? on Windows
Ok not a very good rating ...but that could change if they make a second version
Is sounds a bit digital and clean
It surely looks very kewl

The early Rhodes had no output
It was recorded over microphone and was often distorted through a microphone ... therefor the hard sounds sounded grainy and the soft sounds misty ... when you listen to the old recordings the sound sings (you now in a way a detuned string would do) ... that is because they used tape for recordings... the distortion combined with the singing gave it a mistical sound.

They did the distortion part very well on the B4 but it seems they forgot about it in the evp73.
They probably did the distortion for the b4 because they new it had a lesley speaker that wasn`t connected to an output so the mic overdrive was always there on old records.

I once downloaded a sampled 30 MB rhodes for my kurzweil
that one sounds a 100 times better. Via vast i manipulated it to get the same sound as the rhodes on old stevie wonder records and some of the jazz stuf of herbie hancock and the legendary la woman record from the doors.

anyway ... not bad ... but you better buy a good sampled rhodes for giga sampler or battery or whatever sampler you use if that will cost you 99$ as well

Regards and good luck to all
Reviewed By Wine [read all by] on February 6th, 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows.
Last edited by MArmstrong on 6th February 2002.
Sorry but this VSTi doesn't cut the mustard. What is it, a promo tool to convince Cubase users to purchase Logic? After all if they are really interested in broadening the appeal of their product, then they msut sell THE SAME PRODUCT as what is available to their Logic customers.

Do not touch this VSTi, purchase EP-Station or download the mda epiano.
Reviewed By [read all by] on October 27th, 2001
Version reviewed: 1.0 on unspecified OS
I actually have the 88 but I mainly use the same model that the 73 has because it sounds the best for my use. In looking through some Mix articles I was able to find some compressor and eq settings common for rhodes patches which brought this pluggin to serious life. Also, finding the best velocity curve on my keyboard helped a lot. It sounds amazing.
Reviewed By derek [read all by] on October 27th, 2001
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
two things about the EVP to consider:

1, the plugin:

the one sound it does is OK. IMHO not as impressive as the B4, cause it tends to sound a little too clean and, well, "digital". OTOH its nicely "alive", so sometimes its better than a sampled rhodes, at other times its not. i would say that a sampled rhodes often "sounds better", but "behaves" less good. pretty much the old sampling vs. physical modelling argument i guess.


2. emagics strategy to release crippled versions of their logic instruments:

booh! you think ANYONE would switch sequencers because of a rhodes plugin? do you think anyone will ever use your crippled playback-EXS when theres halion and vsampler?

the EVP is nice, but the fact that it comes with one model where the logic version comes with many more and more effects makes me very angry. there is NO technical reason to cripple the plugin other than greed for more logic customers, so id give the support a zero if i could. shame on you emagic.
Reviewed By soupdevil [read all by] on October 26th, 2001
Version reviewed: ? on Windows
This is the best Rhodes emulator I've ever used. I have a real Rhodes in the room, but I frequently use the EVP73 instead.

I use it in SONAR with a VST/DX adapter.

It sounds even better with a tube emulator or amp sim after it in the FX chain. I also run it through the B4 to add overdrive, leslie, etc.
Reviewed By David Abraham [read all by] on August 19th, 2001
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by David Abraham Fenton on 19th August 2001.
This sofsynth dethroned the B4 as my alltime favorite softsynth so far. Infinitely playable, and *very* easy on the CPU. The Tremolo is on the money and really helps the e-piano show some character in the Mix. My one complaint? Emagic currently has no plans to update it with the other e-pianos in it's proprietary big brother (the EVP88) which only works in Logic Audio.

I use the EVP73 in SONAR through FXPansion's VST Adapter.

Latest 7 reviews from a total of 7

Comments & Discussion for Emagic EVP73

Discussion
Discussion: Active
Under1990
Under1990
8 July 2015 at 11:28pm

Hi. How can I download this?

greedy.mf
greedy.mf
7 November 2016 at 8:12am

Now it's called Vintage Electric Piano and available only as a stock plugin of Logic X.

Please log in to join the discussion