Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by Wine

Review Something
or Find Reviews
Wusik Station [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Wine [read all by] on 3rd September 2005
Version reviewed: 3 on Windows.
Last edited by Wine on 30th September 2006.
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is an exceptional synth.

Looking at the other reviews it is quite daunting to try and add anything else to their reviews but I will give it a go.

Firstly, the sound quality. What is most impressive about the sounds are that they are so varied, some of the pads are absolutely inspiring and as for the "real" instruments, particularly the piano's, while they are perhaps not the best available they are some of the easiest to fit in a mix.

Secondly, the upgrade to v2, particularly for the big pack users, is extraordinary value for money. A massive sound library, and the improvements on v1 make this an valuable upgrade. The preset navigation system in particular is worthy of compliment as it is one of the best around. My only real complaint is that it can be a little difficult to upgrade if you have some of the related products which need to be upgraded as well.

Finally, the best part of being a wusik user is the user group and the outstanding support provided by WilliamK. The developer never seems to leave KVR except to work on more upgrades.

Overall, I would suggest you get this synth even if you don't think you need it as it is the basis for almost any sounds you could want.

In the joy of upgrading to v3 I had problems with the download. Within 24 hours, over a weekend, William (the developer) had contacted me, sorted out the problem, and I was up and runing. The Service provided by Wusik is simply without par. By all means purchase this product in complete assurance that you will not suffer for lack of developer support.
TubiLeSax [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Wine [read all by] on 15th January 2004
Version reviewed: 1.86 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This really is an exceptional VSTi. I had been looking around for decent sax samples for ages and while there are some which are quite good, they were out of my price range. Enter Tubilesax.

Tubilesax actually sounds believable, which to my mind is quite amazing as I have never really found a believable Sax emulation before. The sound quality, and the control over the sound, is sufficient to make believable sax a possibility with midi.

Pro's - Sound Quality, ease of use, and the presets give quite a good demonstration of the instrument.

Con's - Only the GUI really which doesn't quite reflect the professionalism which went into the development of the sound - however, it is still quite useable and with the introduction of skins this will cease to be a problem.
Xphraze [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Wine [read all by] on 29th August 2003
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I have to admit I am very impressed with this vsti synth. I would suggest that it is the first plugin synth which genuinely offers a "fresh" sound. While I obviously admit that the synthesis method is nothing particularly new, after wavetable synthesis has been arround for ages now, the quality of sound, cross rhythms etc, and the ease with which it is possible to find/create such sounds is a wonderful asset.

I would suggest that the strength of this synth lies in the more rhythmic elements, particularly in creating dense, rhythmically interesting pads.

My only real gripe is with the GUI which, while it is certainly functional, doesn't strike me as being particularly intuitive. Just my own two cents on that.

I would recommend that anyone particular interested in the creation of soundscapes etc using rhythmic, evolving pads will absolutely love this synth. Saying that, it is still quite competent for leads etc (not sure on base lines though?)
DS-404 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Wine [read all by] on 28th August 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This really is a good basic sampler. Sure it isn't Kontact or Halion but it really does provide high quality basic sampling.

My only real gripe with the DS404 is the GUI. While it may be just a issue of getting into the "habit" of using its four button system, it is certainly not the most intuitive method for editing a patch.

Pros - Good simple VSTi sampler, nice sound, very easy to install, good collection (with some fixing) of presets.

Cons - The GUI
Sonik Synth [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Wine [read all by] on 1st May 2002
Version reviewed: 1.2? on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is an excellent product developed by an amazing company. The sound quality is simply superb and the number of instruments is constantly expanding as a result of SR's continuing development.

I cannot recommend this product enough. My only complaint is about the Sampletank format and not with the Sonic Reality itself.

Well worth the money and definitely deserving of positive comment.
Cyber FREE [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Wine [read all by] on 22nd April 2002
Version reviewed: 005 on Windows.
Last edited by MArmstrong on 22nd April 2002.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is really not bad for freeware and as a taster for the pro version, it is very interesting indeed. It is very simple to use, important for those who have never used a Sampler before. However, the ease of use would have been improved if it had a manual of some kind and the GUI was a little more typical of the VST format. The GUI is certainly minimalistic and very clear but perhaps a little perplexing if you haven't used software synths for a while.

The Sound quality was quite good, the filter and ADSR is useful and easy to understand.

There are no presets, however, since it is a sampler this probably isn't a problem for most users. However, a few demonstration samples would make up for the lack of manual.

Previous versions were apparently incompatible with other multisample vsti's such as SR202 etc. However, this seems to have been remedied as I can no use it.

Overall definitely worth the download.
Triangle II [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Wine [read all by] on 2nd April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by MArmstrong on 7th April 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is a brilliant product, everyone should download the thing as it really is excellent. It is very flexible and is definitely worth the download. It is a vast improvement over TraingleI (which was alrady good)

Pro - Quality of sounds, particularly the presets are excellent, the GUI

Cons - There really are none I can think of.

This is the best freeware VSTi I have used since ninja!
SynC Modular [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Wine [read all by] on 2nd April 2002
Version reviewed: 2.x on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is a really good modular synth and deserves continued development. Unfortunately this doesn't seem likely as the principle developer is now associated with NI.
The VSTi is extremely flexible but can be a little confusing if you are not already familiar with modular synth construction/design. Because of this the quality of the GUI is really important but is let down on this level.

The quality of the sounds is excellent and the available ensembles are of a very high quality. For what you get for your money, it is an extremely worthwhile purchase.
Tritium [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Wine [read all by] on 6th March 2002
Version reviewed: 4.2 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Well, unlike almost everyone else, I don't mind this VSTi. It sounds pretty reasonable to me! While the GUI is very plain, it is certainly functional. While I admit I haven't actually written a tune using it yet (other VSTis always seem to fit better) I can certainly imagine it fitting nicely within a techno style track.

Well worth the download.
Wasp [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Wine [read all by] on 4th March 2002
Version reviewed: 2 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
What a wonderful synth for the money. It is very easy to program and the GUI increases the ease of use. It is a particularly pleasing VSTi to use. While the sounds are excellent, particularly bass and lead sounds, the pads leave a little to be desired (but only a little and can easily be fixed with some creative effect use).

My only real complaint isn't with the synth itself but a problem with installation. The original registration file sent to me crashed. After receiving e-mails from the developer, they informed me it was a compatibility problem with Netscape and proceeded to provide an alternative registration solution for me to use. Full marks for Customer Support!!!!! (This is why I deducted a few points for stability, the VSTi itself is fine!)

Download the demo and be surprised. It is certainly worth the effort to obtain this synth!