Login / Register 00 items | $0.00 CHECKOUT New

User Reviews by KVR Members for GalactiX

Rate & Review GalactiX Now!

Reviewed By bajongo [read all by] on 28th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.4a on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Funny little synth! This thingy has some serious sounds that are instant eighties to me! I used it in one song yet and it works great in the mix in a wonderful way. It's not up in the face but it's very clearly audible. Very nice. No preset selector yet so it's not so cool to make sounds. But as fast as this synth improved over the last few weeks I'm sure that Alex will make it even better.

Thanx a lot, Alex!

Click here to read all 15 reviews

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
briandc
briandc
14 July 2012 at 10:44am

Hi everyone,

I've been trying lots of free VSTi's on my Linux KXStudio PC. Lots of neat things. In particular, GalactiX seems to work particularly well. My MIDI controller's controls interface smoothly with the GUI, and I also like how quickly sounds can be made. (Too bad there aren't any presets. I only got 4 .wav files in the download, but I don't know how to load them..)

brian

johnmorales
johnmorales
13 December 2012 at 8:56pm

Briandc in case you didn't discover this on your own already, there are presets.

To reveal them on windows you "right click" on the scrolling text on the right hand side of the vst.

I imagine it's probably the same action on Linux, but I don't know, because i don't have Linux.

The main point is there are presets, but it might take some clicking around on the VST Gui on Linux to find out how to open them op.

briandc
briandc
14 December 2012 at 9:04am

Hi John,

thanks for the tip! I'll look again, it's been a while since I've opened it because I've been working on another synth, but I'm curious to hear these presets you mentioned. And, since I wrote the last post (July) I've discovered that LMMS opens Windows-based VSTs very nicely, and I think that'll show me the list of sounds I couldn't get before.

Thanks again! :)

brian

briandc
briandc
31 May 2014 at 11:16am

Presets working fine. Very unique synth, both in synthesis structure and in the sounds that can be obtained. Nice! :)

brian.

GreenOaks
GreenOaks
23 January 2015 at 2:54am

Only creates a loud screeching sound in 32-bit ableton live 9.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Blacklight
Blacklight
12 September 2018 at 1:46am

It does not work at all in Sonar 8. It just crashes. It seems to work fine in Audiomulch and the Bandlab Sonar. It sounds decent. I just really wish I could get this thing to run in 32-bit Sonar 8 as it's really my DAW of choice (I hate the Bandlab version's interface). In Sonar 8, it detects the synth, but when I try to load it into a project, a window pops up saying that "Window Creation Failed" that's stuck in a loop, won't go away, so you have to go into task manager and close the whole DAW that way to get rid of it.

SoundModeler
SoundModeler
23 May 2020 at 11:59am

After 18 years from GalactiX release I finally decided to update the GalactiX. The new version is almost ready. It is stable under the latest versions of the VST hosts. It includes x64 and has an enormous number of improvements (including MIDI handling, sound engine and etc) and it has new GUI and few new features. I have uploaded some of its sounds to freesound.org.

Please come by to soundmodeler.com soon.

Alex @ soundmodeler.com.

Please log in to join the discussion

GalactiX

Average user rating of 3.60 from 15 reviews

Smart Electronix
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
40 people have added GalactiX to 5 My KVR groups 40 times
+2 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 1652  1611

30-Day: 1779; 7-Day: 1399; Yesterday: 3209

What's New @ KVR Audio
Beginner producers, what are your 2 biggest challenges?by jzero @ 4:56 in Getting Started (AKA What is the best...?)D16 Toraverb for Catalinaby keyman_sam @ 4:56 in EffectsFS/FT Ik Multimedia Account, Acoustic Samples C7 piano. BIG discount in MODO DRUMby latorrejc3 @ 4:52 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)Why do people use multiple DAWs?by ShawnG @ 4:47 in Hosts & Applications (Sequencers, DAWs, Audio Editors, etc.)What are the best plugins that don't sound like vintage synths / older analog synths?by jzero @ 4:43 in Getting Started (AKA What is the best...?)New: Cinematic Piano pluginby SampleScience @ 4:37 in InstrumentsI need to upgrade my monitors and headphones. advice?by jzero @ 4:28 in Getting Started (AKA What is the best...?)Bargain Center: discussion, gossip, etc.by telecode @ 4:16 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)need a stereo widenerby ericzang @ 4:15 in EffectsFS: Sugar Bytes Drum Computer, UVI Drum Designerby Spherop @ 4:05 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)FS: Voltage Modular Core + Electro Drumsby Stan Navi @ 3:58 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)New Black Rooster: KH-COMP1 Levelling Amplifierby Rik @ 3:56 in EffectsWTB: SKnote DDD & P83by househoppin09 @ 3:46 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)For Sale: Over 50% OFF Melda MMasteringFXBundle $349.99 Melda MFreeformEqualizer $24.99by Lotus9 @ 3:34 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)FS: Ableton Live 9 Suite EDUby sweetboymusik @ 3:29 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)View All Latest Posts